We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old property in a central French Quarter location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Canberra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful old property in a central French Quarter location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This lovely hotel is in a fantastic location right in the middle of the French Quarter between Royal and Chartres Street. One block from Bourbon Street, two blocks to the Mississipi River and a short walk to everything, you really couldn't find a better location to explore the French Quarter on foot.

Our room was a good size, with very comfortable beds. It's worth joining the free Omni Select Guest program, as this gives you access to free wifi and a free beverage each morning. The wifi was very reliable and quite fast, allowing us to use FaceTime and Skype to call home to Australia. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the cleaning staff were very thorough.

There's a nice swimming pool, bar and gym on the roof, but due to some unseasonably cold weather, we didn't try it out. The restaurant and bar downstairs are very nice, we had fabulous ribs one night. A tiny little convenience store operates during the day just opposite reception for things you might have forgotten.

The main entrance has stairs, which can be tricky for people with mobility issues. Once you have a room key, you can enter and leave through the underground car park entrance onto Chartres Street; my mother is recovering from a broken foot, and we found this much easier than negotiating the stairs each time.

At the time of our visit, the streets of New Orleans were being repaired, so walking around the French Quarter was a little tricky, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. However, there were also renovations going on in the hotel, and a temporary lift and scaffolding had been placed around the building. Unfortunately, the temporary lift was right beside our window, and it went up and down quite noisily until 10.30pm each evening. That's not too bad, because we were still awake, but I was a bit unhappy when it started up again at 7.00am on Sunday morning. It would have been nice if they'd held off until 8.00am or even 9.00am. This is obviously a temporary problem, but if you're going there in the near future, ask for a room away from the lift.

Despite this minor problem, I would be very happy to stay at the Omni Royal again next time I stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    602
    150
    46
    27
See reviews for
263
993
76
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus,Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

You will not do better than the Omni when it comes to location. It is an easy walk to Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, and almost any restaurant in the quarter.
The rooms are a bit small-ours did not have room for a lounging chair. The decor is beautiful, and the rooms are well cared for. Service was friendly and attentive in all cases. The restaurant was very good in terms of food quality and price. Service was extremely friendly and unobtrusive.
The property is currently under rennovation, and here is where management has fallen short.
Scaffolding covers the building, and management has taken no steps to direct guests to the entrances, which are not all that easy to spot. There was no one at the entrance to call a cab, though cabs were readily accessible. During the day, the sound of workmen can be intrusive.
Taking all this in to account, the hotel is my favorite in the quarter.

Room Tip: Do not get a room next to a suite. The connecting doors are poorly insulated for sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visiting from California on a business trip in October, I was very impressed with the hospitality and attention given to all the travelers by the polished staff and kind workers. We took the advice of previous contributors, and signed up as a loyal member-great tip! The morning coffee was delivered at the time promised, with enough for 3 cups between my husband and I in a small, insulated carafe. Adding to that, the coffee-maker in the room produced delicious (not too strong) coffee as well. Another bonus was the free WI FI that came with being a loyal member. Another tip from the Trip Advisors' was to get a room on a higher floor as the noise from construction on the street was so loud in the morning. Many we traveled with complained about the racket that started up early each day. We had a room on level 6. It was wonderful! The rooms are a bit small, but ours had been refurbished and was very nice, clean; there was also room for our clothes to be put away in an attractive dresser, topped with a flat screen TV. I noted that earlier reviewers had an issue with having no room for their clothes. What was the most impressive, however, was their attention to the smallest details. You didn't see signs everywhere about wasting water and manpower if you don't use the same towels over and over, or not getting clean sheets for days in a row. (coming from CA, we still used the same towels a couple of times-but you get my point...) We ordered a small lunch to keep us from being too full as we were going out to a nice dinner, and WOW! The waiter brought in a linen covered cart, set it up into a large round with a vase and fresh rose. The food was hot and delicious. Felt so very indulged. Even when we checked out, the poor bellman hauled our luggage with us blocks down the uneven streets where we could catch the cab to the airport. (he was tipped generously for the effort, but going the "extra mile" for your customer is a novelty anymore). Also, a small note about the location of this facility; perfect! It was close to everything! The streets are torn up as New Orleans is preparing to host the Superbowl and Mardi Gras, so be careful in your high heels. We were told by a tour guide that Mardi Gras will go on for a week, then stop for Superbowl week, starting up again just after the football game. Looks like a great time will be had by all!

Room Tip: Definitely get on an upper floor if you want peace and quiet. Sixth floor is nice-heard that the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the minute we pulled up to this hotel until we headed away for the airport, we were totally cared for. I have to say, I have never received such wonderful, personal service at any hotel anywhere! The hotel facilities are stately, classic and beautifully maintained. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to New Orleans!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a short vacation in New Orleans in October of 2012. The Omni Royal is smack in the center of the French Quarter. The rooms are small since we were on the top floor in the part
of the hotel structure's Mansard roof.
Very comfortable bed, nicely appointed.
Since there was a lot of construction in the streets below (almost all of the French Quarter's roads are being re-paved, and by now (Nov 3rd,) the work is probably completed.
Being on the higher floors muffled the sounds of the road crews doing the repairs.
The hotel is adding, in the traditional New Orlean's style, filigree to the facade so that may entail some
noise and dust when entering the main entrance.
The hotel staff was very helpful, even to adjusting my iPad so that it worked properly.
Walking to anywhere in the Quarter is very easy from the holel's location.
We plan on returning to visit more of NOLA. I was ill for most of our visit with a sore throat and cold which put a damper on touring but we did get to see a lot.
I highly recommend the bus tour of the different parishes. Usually bus tours aren't my choice, but
this one was excellent. The driver was a local and knew so much about the city and also had a great sense of humor. I wish I knew his name, but I think it was VIP tours.
Cafe Amelie for a nice venue and food, and Camilla (for breakfast and entertainment..don't miss this place, it's classic!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Impeccable hotel in the Quarter. You can easily walk anywhere in the Quarter. Rooms are small but very clean , wonderful service. I do not recommend the restaurant in the hotel, very overpriced. Free WiFi if you sign up as a loyal customer.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Qu'Appelle, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed for a work conference. The service was good all around. The food for the conference was exceptional. Rooms were clean and modern, a little small, but this is to be expected in an old hotel. 1 block off Bourban Street, so noise was not a problem. Only complaint was a slight sewer smell when you walked into the lounge from outside. When in New Orleans, there are a lot of scents we are not used to!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.