We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget about asking for extra Puck coffee pak” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #6 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
New Iberia, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Forget about asking for extra Puck coffee pak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My husband's company Christmas party was being held in the Ribroom on 12.23.11. I reserved a petite suite which was just charming, overlooking the rooflines to the Cathedral, lovely linens & period appropriate furnishings. Wolfgang Puck coffee was a pleasant surprise so I had a cup while I waited for my husband. When I went to the lobby, I asked the front desk for a replacement pak. I was told to see the Bellman, which I did & who called for one to be delivered to my room. Citavo was delivered instead of Puck so I called the desk for Puck. I was told it would be taken care of. After dinner, I stopped by the desk to make sure I had Puck for morning coffee but they said they didn't have any right then but usually kept it. Bottom line, the Puck coffee was replaced by an inferior product so there was the old familiar Bait & Switch plus The Run Around that all seasoned travelers are subjected to. That low seething passive-aggressive behaviour for which New Orleans restaurants & hotels have become renown.
Great location, beautifully decorated for Christmas, lovely pianist & vocalist in atrium. I would have been exceedingly satisfied had just one person at the front desk handed me one packet of coffee. Is that asking too much?

Room Tip: Just stand at the front desk & get your coffee in hand if you want an extra packet of coffee. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    671
    163
    51
    31
See reviews for
300
1,104
84
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Plus: Well located in the French Quarter. Pretty public areas. Friendly and generally helpful, if a bit obsequious, staff.

Plus: Good H2O pressure in shower.

Minus: Substantial deferred maintenance in rooms; in ours: cracked basin, in the cracks of which mold had grown; broken grout around tub; nearly inoperable closet door; shower valve handle fell off into my hand. These were all items which housekeeping staff would have seen on a daily basis for the last decade or two but about which nothing has been done.

Minus: Rooms quite small, characteristic of old hotels.

Minus: Nickel and dime ($9.95 /day) for internet service and then weak wireless connection and skinny server pipe.

Trip was for pleasure with some, unfortunately necessary, business.

Room Tip: We only had one room. Best tip might be to pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My wife and I went on a quick trip to NOLa to celebrate her birtthday and the Christmas holiday season. We were able to take advantage of a Christmas special with 2 nights stay for 20% off the prikce. But the accomodations and the service were the full 100 %! We both agreed that this was one of the most positive experiences at a hotel that we have ever had. Everyone treated us like royalty and did everything possible to make our stay memorable. With the lolcation only 4 blocks from Jackson Square, it couldn't have been more convenient. All the restaurants, history, and night life is within a short stroll.

Room Tip: Joining the free OMNI membership club provides some perks -- like free internet, morning beverages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Great service, great atmosphere, great rooms. Our family had two rooms on the top floor facing St. Louis--typical city noise but we were amazed at how the Bourbon Street racket died down just one block away. Solid workout facility and a nice pool. I'd pass on the breakfast buffet--we tried it one day and it was okay, but you can get better food at much less cost from any number of small cafes on Royal.

Room Tip: As noted we had street view rooms. Courtyard view rooms are probably much quieter but there's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Omni Royal is one block from Bourbon Street, three blocks from Jackson Square and in an absolutely perfect location in the heart of the French Quarter. At the corner of St. Louis Street and Royal, it faces the beautiful court building. Royal Street is filled with antique shops and art galleries. It is an historic hotel, complete with marble floors and crystal chandeliers but has all of the modern amenitities. The staff is outstanding and accommodates in every way. I felt as if I were staying in a luxury hotel at half the price. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights the second week of December. We got a very good rate. The hotel and service was great, but the bed was terrible. After the first night we requested an egg crate or mattress topper but were told that nothing like that was available. We were kind of surprised that they didn't keep something on hand, especially with such hard beds. But the hotel exceeded our excectations in all other respects! You CAN NOT beat the location. Close to everything, but very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We have been staying at the Omni royal orleans for many years, multiple times during the year. The entire hotel staff is wonderful. From the door men to housekeeping, all remember you, and greet you with a smile on their faces.

Room Tip: higher floors are great, since the pool and fitness center are on the 7th floor, from 5 to 7 are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.