We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The honeymoon suite wows again! I love this hotel so much!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivier House

Save Saved
You added Olivier House to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olivier House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Marrero, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The honeymoon suite wows again! I love this hotel so much!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I could go on for hours and hours about this hotel. There is nothing I do not love. The honeymoon suite with its private balcony and adjoining setting room is a must see for anyone who loves French Quarter charm. I recommend this hotel to everyone who will listen.

The Olivier House is a family run business since the 70s and the staff is super friendly and very accommodating! LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    65
    23
    17
    25
See reviews for
35
98
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was our second stay at the Olivier House and they will always be our hotel for New Orleans. They were so accomodating to us this weekend due to weather issues. Bobby and John were so nice. We appreciate everything they did for us. I was there for my birthday and they made it very special. Thank you guys!

The location is great, right off of Bourban Street. The rooms are awesome with antique furnishings. They have also started to upgrade the rooms with new vanities and showers. Bed was comfortable. The also have 24 hour coffee and tea with different flavorings for your coffee.

Room Tip: If you don't like the noise of Bourbon Street try to get a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed here twice - and plan to return! This wonderful hotel, which used to be a residence, is unbeatable for an authentic New Orleans French Quarter experience. From the personalized greeting, the common room parlor, the HIGH ceilings, every room is different (since it was a residence), the balconies overlooking the French Quarter or inner balconies overlooking the 2 indoor courtyards - it's amazing. Go there and check out the different rooms - beautiful! Staff is most helpful - they have an amazing amount of information which they will share - but won't intrude on your time - they make you feel welcome in so many ways.

Room Tip: Ask to see available rooms - choose one that works for you - there is quite a range!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

this hotel is located 1 block off bourbon,but it was pretty quiet at night.every room is different,so you can easily find what you need for your own personal experience.staff is great,they are going to great extremes to make this place fit the period room 210 was fantastic

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Comfortable hotel, price is reasonable, service is great, walking distance to Bourbon Street and I have been staying at this hotel twice a year for the past 12 years. The hotel feels like home. Recommend this place.

Room Tip: Every room is designed deferentially. I normally stay center and top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were referred to the Olivier House by a terrific shop owner during our anniversary stay when we had to stay another night due to inclement weather back home. They were very well priced for what a gem the place is, every room being totally unique and authentic old style. You feel like your home in New Orleans, especially with the way the staff connect with you. My boyfriend and I actually took an adventure through the entire hotel and found it to be stunningly unique and interesting. The courtyard was being rehabbed when we stayed but even still was very beautiful, as well as the pool area. We'll never stay anywhere else! We've been raving about the place since we got home!

Room Tip: Every room is totally unique and adorable, so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deville, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I read the reviews before traveling, and still booked, knowing that some guests can never be pleased. The room was immaculate, with fresh linens, towels and washcloths. The staff was perfection, going out of their way to be helpful. Perfect location, romantic ambiance, candles lit through out, friendly fellow guests. Fresh coffee 24/7, seemingly self-refilling fudge plate, wonderful elevator that can easily fit 2 guests as long as there isn't any 'ball room dancing.' Large grapefruit outside our window, view of rooftops out our skylight, romantic kisses up the ballroom stairway. Don't listen to the naysayers. This is a GEM of a find in New Orleans, one block off Bourbon! I will never stay anywhere else, and I am picky! Thank you Olivier! You made a honeymoon dream come true!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House

Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Olivier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivier House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;