We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restored historic house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olivier House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Olivier House to your Saves list
Olivier House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice restored historic house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Staff was Five Stars. Accommodations a bit less. Furniture was eclectic, bathrooms were updated, not period and I was ok with that. If you like history, charm and funk, you'll be just fine here. Convenient stumbling distance from Bourbon Street but totally quiet and insulated from the crowds. The courtyard pool was cloudy and out of commission while we were there, which was a shame cause it was one the main reasons we chose Olivier House. Sofa in our room was slightly musty but everything was perfectly clean.

Room Tip: Room 112 for sure. Bi-Level up a circular cast iron stair case to the king bed. Fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    73
    23
    17
    27
See reviews for
35
112
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

No dispute the location is great in the heart of the French Quarter. However, I doubt I'll be coming back. We have been to New Orleans many times, and often noticed this hotel. I thought that since it is fairly large, it would be more like a hotel, but it has that bed and breakfast feel. The staff being a part of your experience (monitoring your comings and goings), no online reservation (you must call), the rooms are each unique, but worn around the edges. Because of the layout it is easy to get lost in the labyrinth of stuffy hallways. At checkout I was given only a credit card receipt with no itemization (I hope my company will allow it on an expense report). If you like a B&B, you may well love it, but if you are looking for a true hotel, I recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My first time to New Orleans and I must say, I liked the hotel better than the city! Not to say I didn't have fun in NOLA but this hotel really made us feel at home. Traveled with another couple and we each got a one bedroom suite. The suites were completely different from each other but beautifully unique. You can tell the property has a lot of history but they keep it up well and it is very charming. The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. I have and will recommend this hotel to everyone. Thanks again to the staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this wonderful Hotel with some of the most gracious hosts. We had a junior suite on the second floor which housed our group of 5 comfortably. Our room had a mini fridge and microwave and after a visit to Rouse's Grocery (Royal St) we were able to fix ourselves late night snacks after our debauchery on NOLA streets till the early morning hours. The hosts were always willing to give us info on restaurants, sites and travel. If there is anything you need all you have to do is ask and it is promptly delivered. It is a very old hotel with a lot of character, charm and mystery. We went to the pool midday to cool off and again when we returned from our late nights out. Everyone in our group agreed we would definitely stay here again. We made some of the best memories on this trip with so many laughs and are very happy that Oliver House is part of them. Thank you to the staff and owners for the great work of lovingly keeping this Hotel alive!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I am a Hilton type traveler and I still think this lovely hotel is a great deal. I'd give it a 4+ if I could. John, Chris and the rest of the staff went out their way to make our stay as comfortable and safe as possible. The facilities are charming and unique. Our room was on the 4th floor with a view of downtown and the French Quarter. Very comfortable accommodations for myself and 3 teenagers. The mark down is for the ridiculous water pressure - or lack there of - in the shower and the funky odor that came out of one of the air conditioners (the one time the staff dropped the ball - their prompt solution to the problem was a can of Glade air freshener!) But I defy you to find more caring hosts in all of New Orleans. The guys were so kind and made sure we were looked after. And for the price - definitely a winner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor away from Bourbon Street, the rowdiest street in the world. We kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientiene
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

....And STILL I rate it 5 stars.

Why?

1) they got me right out. 'Not even stuck for 2 minutes. We had a laugh about it.

2) It's an old property. They're doing god's work by keeping it going and maintaining it so beautifully.

It's a mere letter grade down, plushness-wise, from The Soniat house, but 2 letter grades down in price. It's got a similarly grand interior and lushly done up to death courtyard -plus a pool, which The Soniat House lacks. Who goes to the Quarter to swim in a pool? Still, it's nice to look down from your balcony and see.

Rooms veer slightly towards the funky (as in idiosyncratic, not unsanitary), but are large and well-apointed. You could hop on one foot to Bourbon Street, but you're just far enough away to miss all the noise. A convenient corner shop is across the street.

Staff is NO-friendly at the upper bell curve level. They're partic. helpful with very frank NO restaurant suggestions. Minor caveat: your room may not get serviced daily, but no biggie if you just need a fresh towel from the desk. This the kind of place where you feel like you want to be in their corner instead of nit-picking.

All in, a great value. If we hadn't gotten the Soniat House on super-sale, we'd be back there on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a very old home that's now a hotel. Our group were given the top floor and we enjoyed how each room was very different (layout and decor). Tea and coffee in the lobby were much appreciated in the morning. The location is great to walk around and explore New Orleans. We also spent a lot of the weekend hanging out on Bourbon Street.
The elevator is tiny but it worked to take our luggage up (instead of carrying it up 4 floors). Please note, if you are looking for the Hilton, this may not be the place for you. We however loved it, the location and the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House

Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Olivier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivier House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.