We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Best New Orleans Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivier House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Olivier House to your Saves list
Olivier House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Culpeper VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“For the Best New Orleans Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

In too many hotels it doesn't matter what city you are in - everything is exactly the same. My family and I have stayed here a half dozen times and each time the experience is different - but always charming. Each room, each floor, each section of the hotel has it's own personality - but you always know you are in New Orleans. As others have pointed out if you are looking for a fitness center, chocolate on your pillow, this is not the place for you. Oh - and they do have a pool!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    73
    23
    17
    27
See reviews for
35
112
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

When coming to New Orleans we always stay at Olivier House. It's in the heart of the French Quarter within blocks of everything; food, entertainment, shopping, gaming. The Olivier House is the combinations of rooms, hallways, passages that is from the original home built in 1838 for Marie Anne Olivier. The rooms are unique in decor with antique furniture but have modern conveniences and are very comfortable and always clean. We always stay in room which has a balcony which makes for wonderful relaxing evening sitting and watching the world go by. The staff is always friendly and if you need anything you just need to ask and they help. Olivier House offers a enclosed parking garage around the corner to park your car during your stay. You won't be able to take the car in and out, but it will be safe and you can walk to everything. This isn't a "Modern" hotel so there isn't fitness centers, restaurants, WFi (although WFi is available in the sitting lounge)

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you don't take a room that faces Toulouse St, get one that is interior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Branch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our 3rd time staying here and it was wonderful as always. The location can't be beat, just off bourbon. The staff here is always friendly and helpful. The building and the rooms have the amazing French quarter charm we love. We always love being able to step out on our balcony and enjoy the views or take time to relax down by the pool. One thing that always makes us happy is the on site parking garage, knowing our car is safe helps make a stress free vacation. Thanks for another great New Orleans trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poteet
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We made a weekend trip to New Orleans for my sons birthday. My son had stayed at the Olivier House last fall and recommended it. It was no disappointment at all. It has all the charm of an era that made everything elegant. Our room had a large window with a balcony. It was a little warm in the loft where are bed was but at night was perfect temp. It is only half a block for Bourbon Street but even with a window we could not hear the noise in our room. The kitchen was simple to frills like the parlor but we weren't there to eat in our room anyway. If you want to go back in time stay here. Every thing is still handwritten reservations, once you turn your keys in you won't need it everything is walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We always stay here and love it a wonderful place. This time we stayed in the honeymoon suite room 216. Has a private balcony, with a table and chairs, planters with beautiful flowers over looking Toulouse St, and Dauphine St. Or room was lovely a king size bed, living room with a large bath room with nice big tub, but no shower but is worth it even if there is no shower. One is going to be installed at a later date. It is 1/4 a block off Bourbon St. it is quite so you can sleep in if you want to. If you want to stay close to Bourbon St this is the place to stay. Close to every thing. Have 3 courtyards with a tropical feel, there is even a Grape Fruit tree in one of the courtyards. We have been staying here for 3 years, and will always stay here. The people at the front desk are very helpful. John recommend the Haunted History Tour it was great. Nichole helped us book our next stay so we booked the Cottage that has a private courtyard with the grape fruit tree. They are pet friendly my dog "Tibby" enjoyed it. Also have a pool very nice and cool after a day of walking a great way to cool off. When you stay here it is like stepping back in time. Every room is different if you ask they'll show you some of the other rooms. The reason we booked the cottage for or next to visits. Is it has a kitchen so we can cook in stead of going out to eat a lot. It is a one bedroom, one bathroom, with a living room and dinning room. Yes Tibby is going with us. Never will stay ant where else as long as this place is open. "I hope they never close or change owners Bobby is the manager is there every time we visit. The best please to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a suite w 2 bedrooms little living-room and a little patio w/ table an umbrella . Such a cozy spot. My friends I went w have stayed there twice already, this was my first and their 3rd...they love it that much. Staff is absolutely amazingly helpful. Love the place...very home feeling. Would definitely recommend the Olivier House to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

May 17-19, 2013: The front entrance w/ the lady in the pink dress told my 'GPS' we had arrived at our destination. Me and two girl friends had planned this Girls Weekend Trip to Bourbon Street (and ghost hunt) for 5 months! We were not disappointed. We checked into Rm 106 just off the courtyard. AWESOME! If you are looking for the same ole' same ole' hotel go elsewhere! This place has the uniqueness of Old World Charm. Room updated w/ Sofa Sleeper, mini frig, m/wave, coffee pot, dinette table setting 4, 3 beds ( no problem with sheets), 2 bathrooms (no problems with towels and more were provided with out asking! TX housekeeping) and Bathrooms were recently updated-Nice Job Olivier House. The stair case (sort a slim) leading up the loft where 2 beds were was a nice addition to the room. It gives nice privacy with flat screen TV's in the loft/bedroom, sitting area and in the master bedroom. Had a couple of pictures hanging (a bad comment was made by someone before, but we didn't spend must time in our room with BOURBON STREET 1/2 BLOCK WAY AND OUR FEET WERE READY TO HIT THE ROAD). The courtyard just outside our room was lovely and quiet for it being just a few yards from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street-we sat in the late evening hours, drank wine and girl talked with lots of laughter!! Sorry if we woke anyone. The off site parking was reasonable in price, gentleman who checked us in said anytime we needed to go to the car, Just Ask-loved I didn't have to "public park" my car. Only problem with room: 12 cup coffee maker with coffee packs that make 4 cups-not good with three coffee-a-hol-ics. Problem solved :) The nice lady working the front desk gave me packs of coffee (12 cup volume) from their coffee room where the sign says "Help yourself"- She did, so we did and problem resolved! Thanks Olivier House on Toulouse Street. Gail, Celia & Charlotte (aka -Three Amiga's) had a wonderful time in The French Quarter and left with many fun memories. Saw no ghosts though :( ....bummer :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House

Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Olivier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivier House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.