We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olivier House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Olivier House to your Saves list
Olivier House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Midway, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite overlooking the courtyard, which was absolutely beautiful. The building is very old, but its exactly what I look for when staying in the French Quarter. Bourbon Street is 1/2 block away! Price for the room was reasonable, and the staff was extra friendly and helpful. I have stayed at several other hotels in the quarter, but this place is by far my favorite. Great overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    69
    23
    17
    27
See reviews for
35
105
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I love the location of this hotel and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. I don't even mind the "faded glory" appeal. But when you've got mice and roaches in the room, faulty wiring, and inconsistent water pressure and temperature, I have to ask myself if I can't get the charm somewhere else without the hassle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing Bourbon Street if noise is a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Olivier House. The staff were very friendly. We loved the layout of the rooms. The location is perfect and only steps away from Bourbon Street. If you prefer a typical 5 star hotel then this hotel is not tor you. This hotel is sn old authentic New Orleans hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location was perfect. JUST far enough off of Bourbon St. to be quiet but close enough to stumble home to...in case that might happen. Very interesting space with stairways that lead all over the place. We had a group of 14 in seven rooms and it was perfect for a group. There are two common areas where we could gather before we started out. It is a very old building and is a little worse for the wear. But it wouldn't stop me from staying there again. Each room was different so there was a great deal of fun in going to each others room to see what it looked like.

The staff was amazingly helpful and gracious. Asked if we could check out late because it was raining and we didn't feel like walking around in the rain and they let us stay in our room until 3:00 when our taxi came for the airport.

Room Tip: The common area where the courtyard was did get a little noisey for one couple who had a room right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is part of what makes new orleans charm.no rooms alike,lots of character.If you want to experience the city,this type of hotel fits the bill.close to everything,friendly staff and just typical of why one should go to the city.Will stay here again. Beautiful courtyard and unique rooms.Some rooms might not be too quiet so ask.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was so excited entering this old-fashioned but very, very pompous Hotel directly in New Orleans only a few steps to the nightlife Bourbon Street, but very quite.
I had a very big room on two floors, downstairs the living room with kitchenette, bathroom, big flat screen TV and balcony, upstairs bedroom with TV, too.
The staff is so polite and is going to any length to make your visit as comfortable as possible.
I will choose this Hotel now every time I go to New Orleans!!!
Thanks for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Room Number 203 ;o) Rooms to courtyard/garden/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ok, so there's some character. The winding halls of the two buildings and courtyards that make up the Olivier House are fun. If it were possible to give a half star between 2 and 3, I would, simply because it's not bad enough to be poor, but I don't think it's average either. The problem with the place is the condition of the rooms. I had a chance to see several, because we switched rooms and had a couple of friends with us in others. One couple changed their room upon arrival. Another kept their room even though their shower didn't work (they ended up using the bath). It is understandable that the exposure to the outdoors (open doorways) means the public spaces are always dirty. The problem is the rooms. It's hard to be comfortable when you're afraid to touch the rug, and even more afraid to touch the coverlet on the bed. The white inside of coverlet was quite literally darkened with age and dirt, and we kept the A/C down, so that the room would be warm enough to make due with a sheet. The sheets are towels are probably clean, but they are so worn out, that it's hard for them to look clean. I'd recommend they switch everything to white and use bleach. The bathroom had exposed heating coils on a ceiling fan that didn't work anyway, and the room had no phone, even though there were numbers for calling the front desk. The brick wall was nice, but the wallpaper on the other walls was peeling.

Water pressure in the 1980s bathroom (with updated vanity that looked good but that exposed holes in the pinkish tile from the previous sink) was nil. You don't even get a bathmat (or conditioner or lotion, so bring that with you). Noise insulation is pretty minimal, and we could hear our neighbors easily (pack earplugs if you are sensitive).

The straw on the camel's back was passing by the laundry room and hearing the housekeeping guy hawking and spitting.

I guess if you know what to expect, you can still enjoy the place, simply because NOLA is quirky anyway and many of the hotels are old. For balance, here are some good things: Friendly desk staff. There's a flat screen tv in the rooms (we never turned it on, so don't know about reception). Coffee is better than average from a hotel and is already made in the morning in the lobby. Location a block from Bourbon St., but it doesn't absorb the noise of Bourbon St.

Be prepared for the NOLA 13% hotel tax and a dollar fee per night. It really bumps up the bill.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room when you arrive, ask the front desk person to show you what else is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House

Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Olivier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivier House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.