We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivier House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Olivier House to your Saves list
Olivier House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ft.Branch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel...can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel has everything you could want if staying in the french quarter. My husband and I picked this hotel for its location(half block off bourbon st.)and for its on site parking,which is very hard to find in the quarter. Since we were on a motorcycle they allowed us to park at no cost. Other places we checked only had valet parking or we would share a spot with another bike but still pay full price parking.We were greeted by a very friendly staff,and an amazingly beautiful hotel. The balcony room was just what I had hoped for and more! The rooms were very clean,as was the pool area and courtyard. We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    77
    26
    17
    27
See reviews for
38
123
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My girlfriend and I checked into the Oliver House on Thursday, June 16th of this year. We were immediately greeted by the staff, all of them friendly and attentive. They helped us with our bags and cheerfully recommend off-the-beaten-path restaurants and bars (Mona Lisa’s on Royal near Governor Nicholls St. is a wonderful establishment, btw, especially if you’re looking for something a little more low-key). Their only request was that we give them a twenty minute heads-up if we needed to use the car during our stay.

Our room (301) was spacious, with red-brick walls and floor-to-ceiling windows hung with large, purple curtains. Amenities included a flat screen TV, a powerful air-conditioning unit, a wardrobe for hanging clothes, a comfortable easy-chair, full-sized bed, and a bureau for storing shirts and underwear and whatnot. The marble-floored bathroom was furnished with a tub/shower, and a sink (another bureau, cleverly converted), and a large mirror. Improvised track lighting (colorless Christmas lights obscured by crown molding), provided the room a warm glow when the overheads were out.

The wrought-iron, private balcony was furnished with three chairs, a small table, and a few ash trays.

Everything was clean (save an Old Navy tag I found in the bathroom). The bed wasn’t remarkably comfortable, but I’ve spent many a night in many a hotel bed and, looking back, cannot recall a single one that was. I’ve had chronic lower-back problems since high school football and had almost no trouble falling asleep.

Yes, there was a rat trap under the bed. But I’ve been coming to New Orleans for over twenty years and have stayed at almost every major establishment between Esplanade and Canal, from the Bourbon Orleans, to the Place d’Armes, from the Monteleone to the Marie Antoinette (or the La Maris or whatever they’re calling it these days). Not once, in all those years, did I ever see a rat or mouse running around any of those hotels. The same goes for the Oliver House.

It should be noted that, aside from the rooms themselves, the Oliver House is mostly open-air. In other words, whatever temperature it is outside, that’s the temperature it will be in the elevator, hallways, and staircases. This includes the front desk area so dress accordingly. Let me add, however, that this architectural peculiarity never affected the temperature of our rooms so long as we kept the air conditioner on “climate control”.

Bottom line, our stay was a wonderful, memorable one. We spent the days walking around the French Quarter (a quick search on Google Maps will show you the hotel’s convenient, centralized location), the nights sharing drinks on the private balcony. By the time Sunday rolled around we were already making plans to return.

Clean, quaint, quirky, and reasonably priced. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Some people should just stay at national chains, but the rest of us should stay at Olivier House. I feel obligated to state that I'm not a risk-taker, and usually I prefer the beaten path. After reading the reviews here, I was afraid I'd be staying at some kind of third world youth hostel, and that's not the case at all.

This place is old skool, family run, and a blast. It's an old New Orleans mansion that feels right out of an Ann Rice novel with a glorious courtyard, a grand parlor and staircase, labyrinthine hallways, and a time warp of an elevator.

Our room was huge, more like a mini-suite, and $90/night, with coffee maker, microwave, fridge, powerful AC, flat-screen TV, and a whirlpool tub. Parking was $10/night. And unlike chains, we weren't nickeled-and-dimed throughout our stay. Although we were 1/2 block from Bourbon Street, we had no noise problems.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My family and I stayed here and it was a great price for a fabulous "room" which was more of a suite. Huge beautiful garden tub, great balcony view and the staff was friendly and helpful. I can't say enough good things about them and our experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the Olivier House in New Orleans, despite the flood warnings (which never phase the native population there by the way) and were blown away by the true magic of the place...Hidden courtyards, antique furniture, lots of stories about the building itself, charming and very knowledgeable owners and staff at all times of the day and night, and our own private balcony to view the sights and sounds of this vibrant quarter. Each room has its own characteristics, and we were given a choice of room which was great. The ones at the back of the building are usually quieter, but it all depends on what you want from your stay. Olivier House retains all the Louisiana charm of old, they offer free coffee in the mornings, allowing you to nip out of the hotel and grab a hearty breakfast in a nearby cafe (we recommend Camellia Grill-about a 5min walk-great omelettes and pancakes!) We were only supposed to stay 3 nights, but ended up staying 4! Be careful, this place is addictive! Many thanks to Bobby Danner and staff for making our trip an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern States, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

If you wanna park your car and enjoy EVERYTHING New Orleans has to offer with Bourbon St. less than a block away, Olivier House is a New Orleans gem! This was our 2nd stay at Olivier House and without a doubt we will do this again and again. Our first visit was for 4 nights in December 2010 and our most recent trip, May 2011, sadly, was only 1 night, but the staff of Olivier House made it feel like we were coming home to visit family again! Each room has its own personal charm. Yes, a bit dated, but its sooo New Orleans, and the history of the building ooozes from every nook & cranny! As stated above, if you want The Ritz, by all means, go...stay at The Ritz, but if you wanna have a good time, in a neat little place that is truly travelin' in NOLA style, you should check Olivier House out!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 7 days. We had originally booked room 212, and we did like it and was very private, but you had to go up and down stairs, like a maze, to get to it and we walked about four hours a day so we didn't really like that. We asked about the Creole Cottage and since it was empty we transfered there. It's a little more expensive but it's really cute and private, w/full kitchen. Staff was very friendly and accomidating. Just one thing to keep in mind is that this it's like renting a house in the quarter. You may not always get housekeeping, which was good for us because i would rather just ask for things as we need them. The place is very old, but if you like history that's part of the charm. As far as rats, mice and roaches, there is no way to get away from them anywhere in the quarter, so as far as reviews that have to do with that, this is all i have to say, if you are afraid to see one, the quarter is probably not for you. They have pest control, but critters will always find a way. Either way, this place was really cool for us and we will hopefully get to stay there again.

Room Tip: Creole Cottage for privacy and own courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House

Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Olivier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivier House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.