We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Oliver Houae is one of the best places to stay in the heart if French quarter.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivier House

Save Saved
You added Olivier House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olivier House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
1 review
“The Oliver Houae is one of the best places to stay in the heart if French quarter.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011 via mobile

Arrived to find we were upgraded to a balcony room which was very eccentric and exactally what I wanted it to be in the heart of new Orleans. Room was clean, staff was nice and it is just a shirt walk to bourbon street. Courtyard were beautiful. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    63
    22
    17
    25
See reviews for
34
92
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011 via mobile

Overall, I liked this hotel. The old townhouse was very interesting and it's only a half block away from Bourbon street. The staff was nice (including the few oddballs), the courtyard is pleasant and the lobby is restful.
Here's the negatives:
It's a bit seedy. My wife's first comment was "this place is a dump!"
Street traffic from the never-ending nightime parade of drunks, motorcycles, and big trucks will wake you up.
Parking is minuscule. You have to wedge your car inside an old building across the street. It wasn't real clear if this was a valet or self park deal.
Beds were awful. Expect a lousy mattress and maybe you'll be pleased with a mediocre one.
The pool is not much larger than a big hot tub. Hopefully, they keep it cleaner in the warm months.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed here for one night even though we had a prepaid hotel elsewhere because we wanted to stay in the French Quarter for one night. As we were shown to where our room was we were in awe of the beautfiul decorations, architecture, and courtyards. Our room was so perfect-iron bed, thick curtains, antique furniture, marble in the bathroom. Our huge balcony was the best and was so much more intricate than those around us. We found the staff to be unbelievably friendly and helpful. Expect some noise as it is 1/2 block from Bourbon Street. But the location is one of the things that make it so great. We were able to enjoy all Bourbon Street had to offer without worrying about driving anywhere. It was one of the most unique, beautiful hotels we have stayed in. If ever in NO again, which we hope to be, will definitely stay here again. The fact that they only take reservations by phone is actually kind of nice. It is great to speak with people rather than only doing everything through computer. From the woman who took our reservation to all the people we dealt with at the hotel, they could not have been nicer! If in doubt, don't be-stay here-you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I recently stayed at Olivier House and had an amazing stay. Everything about this hotel was adorable and exactly as I imagined a hotel in New Orleans would be. Great location and incredibly friendly staff!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Louis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Enjoyed our stay! Bobby, the owners son treated us like we were Family and a Guest in their home. Oliver House has a true New Orleans flair and the location cannot be beat, all though somewhat loud in the early morning since its only a ½ block off of Bourbon. Were looking forward to another stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I hate to be negative, but this place was not what I was expecting. We only stayed one night and then switched to a different hotel. The location is GREAT, but that is the ONLY thing about this place that is good. The place needs MAJOR updating. The wallpaper is literally falling off the walls and the rooms smell like smoke. The worst part of the room was def the bed. The sheets didn't match and the bed looked like it was falling apart. I slept in my clothes and wouldn't even think about putting my head on the pillow. If you do stay here, I would suggest bringing your own sheets and a blanket. The room seemed dirty and just was not a pleasant atmosphere. The sad part is that this place could be really great if they would update and clean the place up a little. I will also add that this place would be ok for a group of guys who don't care about how clean their room is, it just wasn't good for us. There are so many great places to stay in New Orleans...this isn't one of them!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

First off, I did not stay at this hotel. My boyfriend and I had to book a hotel last minute so ended up elsewhere. However, the rest of our group stayed at this hotel and so we were there A LOT. And I just wanted to say that the staff that worked the nights between 12/30 - 1/1/11 were THE BEST! Friendly, helpful, cool and just a pleasure to talk to when we would go in and out. I will for sure stay at this hotel the next time I am in NOLA. They are WONDERFUL!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olivier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House

Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Olivier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivier House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.