We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expected more from hotel but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melrose Mansion to your Saves list
Melrose Mansion
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Kirltand, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“expected more from hotel but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

for the amount of money we spent ($300/night after taxes + $26/night for parking) we expected more. The rooms were small, so sparsely furnished- just the bed and a small table with 2 plastic chairs, bathroom in a tight space. The shower was amazing though. I think they are def going for a modern look with everything in white and bare walls but I expected this to have more local flare and culture. The staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was continental- muffins, croissants, juice tea, yoghurt etc. very good location. Just 10 min walk to french quarter and all the jazz/blues clubs like snug harbour and spotted cat. One of the staff members gave us an excellent recommendation for a brunch place that was close by- Horns. Delicious food. So if you are looking for something with more new orleans/french feel this is not your place but it was def clean and in a good location. I just don't think this is a place were you feel like you spoilt yourself on an expensive hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in the main bldg. Rooms were small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Briarwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I booked my trip to New Orleans I wanted to explore the beauty in the city and architecture. Staying at the Melrose Mansion is like stepping back in time when you walk through the front door. A completely restored 200 year old mansion with modern amenities. Every angle took my breath away.

The staff was also amazing in their recommendations of places to see and restaurants to try. I will be back and I will definitely recommend this place to my friends and family.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed. Amazing service! Everyone is so nice and helpful at the hotel. Makes you feel at home! Will definitely be staying here on my next trip. And will recommend everyone to stay at the Melrose Mansion on their visit to New Orleans!

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

We stayed here for our first trip to New Orleans. It was the perfect location, just on the edge of the French Quarter but easily walking distance into the quarter and to all the sights. It's a short walk to Frenchmen Street to hear the live jazz and to great restaurants. The mansion was beautiful and staff were very friendly and helpful. Two minor drawbacks; our room was on the first floor and it was loud in the mornings with people walking by (ask for a room on the second floor), and the breakfast definitely left something to be desired (don't bother waking up for it). I would definitely stay here again and really enjoyed the history of the building.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors for a better nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

My daughter got married in NOLA and this was our main hotel. Having stayed in many different hotels in NOLA over the years, I know what the options are there. Melrose Mansion is a crazy mix of Deep South charm and good service. We were allowed to have several cocktail parties in the main lobby and bring our own booze in. This hotel was the former home of a wealthy family living on Esplanade Ave. at the back off the French quarter, which is the best place to be. My daughters room had a large living room , kitchen and private bedroom with huge windows looking out over Esplanade. We gathered there too and it was lovely. Room 3A. The service and cooperation provided by Maria and Brian at check-in and Josh for setup, etc was just great. Each room is different layout and some have full kitchens and washer/ dryers. Some don't. But if you are looking for the perfect room/ hotel, this is not for you. Picky travelers unable to stand blems (the walls often have paint/ plaster coming off due to water damage)', should not book here. This hotel is just like NOLA, interesting, fun but slightly broken. But if you can overlook the small stuff, this is the place for you. Oh yes, Port of Call bar and restaurant is just across the street and for a full breakfast go to Horns, down Dauphine about 4blocks. Wow.

Room Tip: The room just above the main lobby is probably the most interesting and best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaniLacoste, Dir of Front Office at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Jugheadlee,
Congratulations to you and your family! We were more than pleased to offer Melrose Mansion as a welcome retreat for all to celebrate your daughter’s wedding. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us to become even better for your next visit. Congratulations again! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

My first visit to NOLA, and I don't think I could have chosen a better location for our accommodations. The Melrose Mansion is absolutely beautiful, and well kept. A very charming bed and breakfast with everything you need. They did a good job fusing modern without compromising the original details of the home too much.
We had a great concierge who really did help to welcome us and spent lots of time explaining the geography of the city to us.
Breakfast wasn't anything special. Some croissants, muffins, cereal boxes, and yogurt and fruit. But still it's nice to have the convenience of having that available. I loved that they did a wine and cheese hour every day from 4-5pm; we definitely enjoyed a few glasses and mingled with the other house guests.

I also really loved the proximity to the French Quarter - but not right in the French Quarter so you get to enjoy some quiet and the 'residential' feel of living in NOLA. But it's basically right across the street from the FQ. Lots of great places around for food and music. There's a 24 hour convenience store 2 blocks away. Balcony Music Club is down the street and was so much fun. Buffa's is across the street and has some great local musicians as well.

We had originally booked for 7 nights stay. Our friends had came and joined us after 2 or 3 nights into our trip as I was celebrating a birthday. I'm very happy that my friends were offered a free upgrade to one of the suites in the mansion, but couldn't help to wonder why we weren't treated the same option. Our room was also in the back of the house, in the 'guest' wing of the mansion. It was dark in that wing, and not as pleasant as being inside the house. During our first couple nights, there was a loud smashing against the wall of our bedroom at the foot of our bed. We told the staff about it but no one really got back to us about what that could have been. Try to book a room inside the mansion if possible. :)

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaniLacoste, Dir of Front Office at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Xoxojho,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us! I apologize for all of the disturbances that arose during your stay. Moreover, I’m even more sorry that we failed to provide the service that you expected and deserve. We hope that you’ll give us another opportunity to give a true dose of Southern hospitality in a suite that’s more desirable for you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Located on the edge of the French Quarter with en walking distance to all the Mardi Gras event's, but far enough you can sleep. We were in Napoleon 5 a Quant room in the very back with its own patio. Wonderful decor and friendly staff made our visit unforgettable.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaniLacoste, Dir of Front Office at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, March 9, 2015
Laura D.,
Thank you for choosing to stay in our little bungalow. We’re glad that you were able to enjoy Mardi Gras and have a peaceful retreat to rest up & get back to the party. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Address: 937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.