We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in the middle of Mardi Gras” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melrose Mansion to your Saves list
Melrose Mansion
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
1 review
“A haven in the middle of Mardi Gras”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located on the edge of the French Quarter with en walking distance to all the Mardi Gras event's, but far enough you can sleep. We were in Napoleon 5 a Quant room in the very back with its own patio. Wonderful decor and friendly staff made our visit unforgettable.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    28
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Melrose Mansion for 4 nights in February 2015. When we arrived we were shown to our room in the Napoleon House. The room, although lovely and clean, did have a few plumbing issues which they tried to repair. When they were unable to do so we were immediately moved to another available room on the second floor of the mansion.

To any future visitors, I truly recommend staying in the house! You really get the experience of staying in an old mansion, which was the reason I chose this place. Our room had very high ceilings and large beautiful windows facing the pool and a semi-private balcony. The only negative in this room was that the safe wasn't working. The mansion is beautiful and you do get a sense of stepping back in time.

If we just stayed in the house, I would have given this review 5/5. It gets a 4/5 only because of our plumbing issues, which in fairness were resolved to our satisfaction.

The staff here were wonderful and went above and beyond to make you feel like a welcomed and appreciated guest. I especially wish to thank Brian, Brianna, and Olivia!

I would absolutely recommend this B&B to couples coming to visit NOLA. I would stay here again!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a four night stay after arriving at 11pm on a 36 hour flight from Australia.
Reception is 24 hours. Check in was easy. Staff were friendly and efficient.
Our room 'Napoleon 3', ground floor on the side street was nice enough but very light and very noisy. The light is from the street and passage through the highlight windows over the doors that can't be curtained. The noise was firstly from the street with "BUFFAS" 24 hour bar nightclub immediately over the road then from the construction workers that started at 7 am next door as well as down the street.
We requested a quieter room and the staff were happy to move us across the hall to an internal room that was indeed quiet and we bought some tape to black out the windows.
The rooms are extremely spacious and comfortable in the old fashion sense.
The four poster queen size bed was firm and comfortable.
The bathroom was clean and tidy nd had a step in shower with full glass screen. The shower tap was difficult to use. Water from the shower soaked the floor outside the shower.
The COMPLIMENTARY AFTERNOON WINE BAR from 4.30 to 5.30pm was a great idea to relax and meet a few other guests.
BREAKFAST was a typical CONTINENTAL style. Cereals, milk, some fruit, pastries, coffee, tea. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed and don't be late!
The LOCATION worked out very well. We could walk to most places in the french quarter without too much trouble. It seems like only about 15 minutes from one end of Burgundy Street to the other.
The STAFF could not have been more helpful.
Give it a try. Great for the price.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep get an inside room away from Burgundy St. Napoleon 1 & 2 are okay. Napoleon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What an amazing property, great detail lots of original features, the grounds are impeccable, the pool side so relaxing and the staff was very welcoming. Josh is super helpful, knowledgeable and always attentive. The rooms were spacious, clean and the room temperature easy to control. (N2 could use brighter light bulbs). The location of the hotel was perfect for us, quiet but with a surprising little bar across the street. It was easy to walk into the Quarter and we found the area safe at night. Thank you again for the great weekend. You wont find this kind of property elsewhere. We will stay here when we return.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiance and I stayed here for a few days last fall and the hotel was great. We were on the third floor, there is an elevator but taking the stairs was faster. The staff was helpful but I was not blown away by their customer service. They have coffee and pastries in the morning and wine and cheese at night, both self serve. The room that we had was fabulous. We reserved a balcony suite with our own private entrance and balcony. The pictures and description did not to the room justice. I wasn't expecting a restaurant or room service from a boutique hotel but there was a little corner store right up the block where we loaded up on snacks and drinks. Our room came with a mini-fridge (sink, microwave, oven, and everything you need to make an actual meal!) and kitchen area which opened to a small sitting area. I wish we would have stayed longer or packed less to actually use the washer and dryer! There were two huge TV's in our room. One was in the bedroom and the other was in the sitting area off of the kitchen. Perfect for those lazy mornings recovering from last night's adventures on Bourbon Street. There was an espresso machine that we used once. Room service did not provide another espresso pod so we just assumed that they were not free. The bed and linens were great shower just got warm not hot. The hotel is far enough from Bourbon Street that noise is not an issue but close enough that it is only a 5 minute walk to all of the action. We would love to stay here again as a couple and it would be perfect for work trips.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

My husband and I stayed at Melrose Mansion last Thursday through Monday for a big celebration. We celebrated our wedding with a wedding party and then celebrated my 50th birthday. We were so happy with the Melrose Mansion on so many levels. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the property is stunning. Attention to detail, spotless, period features, quirky and interesting art as well as a beautiful pool area. The location is great as it is just a few blocks to get into the quarter which was perfect. One doesn't want to stay in the quarter if you have issues with noise all hours of the day!

They offer a simple continental breakfast until 10 AM and coffee makers in the rooms so you can wake up on your own time!

One area of improvement is for the housekeeping folks to check the coffee makers. The previous people had put milk in the water tank and when attempting to brew, burned milk clogged the machine and left the room with a foul smell that was next to impossible to air out but got there in the end.

They offer a complimentary wine and cheese reception from 4:30 in the afternoon and it is nice to have a little wind down and take in the beautiful surroundings.

Some rooms have refrigerators but not all, so if you need one, make sure to request.

We will definitely be back in the future as will many of my friends who stayed for the extended weekend.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Melrose Mansion will be my go to first choice from now on whenever I go to New Orleans. The room was very clean and comfortable, the shower was the absolute best I've ever enjoyed. The staff was helpful and attentive, without being intrusive.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Address: 937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.