We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melrose is not to be overlooked” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melrose Mansion to your Saves list
Melrose Mansion
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Melrose is not to be overlooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What an amazing property, great detail lots of original features, the grounds are impeccable, the pool side so relaxing and the staff was very welcoming. Josh is super helpful, knowledgeable and always attentive. The rooms were spacious, clean and the room temperature easy to control. (N2 could use brighter light bulbs). The location of the hotel was perfect for us, quiet but with a surprising little bar across the street. It was easy to walk into the Quarter and we found the area safe at night. Thank you again for the great weekend. You wont find this kind of property elsewhere. We will stay here when we return.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    26
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My fiance and I stayed here for a few days last fall and the hotel was great. We were on the third floor, there is an elevator but taking the stairs was faster. The staff was helpful but I was not blown away by their customer service. They have coffee and pastries in the morning and wine and cheese at night, both self serve. The room that we had was fabulous. We reserved a balcony suite with our own private entrance and balcony. The pictures and description did not to the room justice. I wasn't expecting a restaurant or room service from a boutique hotel but there was a little corner store right up the block where we loaded up on snacks and drinks. Our room came with a mini-fridge (sink, microwave, oven, and everything you need to make an actual meal!) and kitchen area which opened to a small sitting area. I wish we would have stayed longer or packed less to actually use the washer and dryer! There were two huge TV's in our room. One was in the bedroom and the other was in the sitting area off of the kitchen. Perfect for those lazy mornings recovering from last night's adventures on Bourbon Street. There was an espresso machine that we used once. Room service did not provide another espresso pod so we just assumed that they were not free. The bed and linens were great shower just got warm not hot. The hotel is far enough from Bourbon Street that noise is not an issue but close enough that it is only a 5 minute walk to all of the action. We would love to stay here again as a couple and it would be perfect for work trips.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at Melrose Mansion last Thursday through Monday for a big celebration. We celebrated our wedding with a wedding party and then celebrated my 50th birthday. We were so happy with the Melrose Mansion on so many levels. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the property is stunning. Attention to detail, spotless, period features, quirky and interesting art as well as a beautiful pool area. The location is great as it is just a few blocks to get into the quarter which was perfect. One doesn't want to stay in the quarter if you have issues with noise all hours of the day!

They offer a simple continental breakfast until 10 AM and coffee makers in the rooms so you can wake up on your own time!

One area of improvement is for the housekeeping folks to check the coffee makers. The previous people had put milk in the water tank and when attempting to brew, burned milk clogged the machine and left the room with a foul smell that was next to impossible to air out but got there in the end.

They offer a complimentary wine and cheese reception from 4:30 in the afternoon and it is nice to have a little wind down and take in the beautiful surroundings.

Some rooms have refrigerators but not all, so if you need one, make sure to request.

We will definitely be back in the future as will many of my friends who stayed for the extended weekend.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Melrose Mansion will be my go to first choice from now on whenever I go to New Orleans. The room was very clean and comfortable, the shower was the absolute best I've ever enjoyed. The staff was helpful and attentive, without being intrusive.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You can stay at the Ritz in New Orleans - which I did before (nice!) or at the St. Marie (how the hell did I land in this place:-(() - or you make it easy on yourself, and go to best right in the beginning. It's such a stunningly beautiful house, decorated with a good hand. The location is perfect and the staff very helpful (Bryan!). It's one of the few hotels I stayed, of when I left, looked back and was sure to return one day. One day hopefully soon.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel. So glad we stayed here. Service was stellar, room and common areas were clean and orderly. Location was good and can walk to most venues in a short amount of time. Port of Call across the street is an excellent restaurant. Try to get the bungalow in the back if available.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Melrose Mansion offered the perfect home base for our exploration of New Orleans. Frenchman's Street, the French Quarter, and public transportation were steps from the mansion, but our room was a quiet refuge at the end of each busy day.

Staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was just enough to get us started in the morning, so we could indulge in po'boys and gumbo later in the day.

Four stars instead of five because our room had some plumbing problems (but I've sent a note to the manager, and I'm sure they'll fix the problem before your visit).

Room Tip: Napoleon 5 was beautifully appointed and on a quiet courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Address: 937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.