We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melrose Mansion to your Saves list
Melrose Mansion
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Melrose Mansion offered the perfect home base for our exploration of New Orleans. Frenchman's Street, the French Quarter, and public transportation were steps from the mansion, but our room was a quiet refuge at the end of each busy day.

Staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was just enough to get us started in the morning, so we could indulge in po'boys and gumbo later in the day.

Four stars instead of five because our room had some plumbing problems (but I've sent a note to the manager, and I'm sure they'll fix the problem before your visit).

Room Tip: Napoleon 5 was beautifully appointed and on a quiet courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    25
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
58
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Melrose Mansion is a very well restored property which has been tastefully furnished and decorated. The staff are very efficient and pleasant. It is in a quiet location bordering the amusing but chaotic French Quarter. It will definitely be my choice of hotel on my return in future.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, AL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay at Melrose Mansion on our last trip to New Orleans. The staff is top notch and the accommodations are incredible. We have stayed in many hotels in New Orleans, but none have compared to our experience at Melrose Mansion.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Melrose mansion is conviently located and very Beautiful with easy access to the French quarter and city park.
Melrose is the perfect Honeymoon getaway with its stunning beauty.
You are also steps away from some of the best burgers New Orleans has to offer at Snug Harbor

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was quaint, and in a perfect location. In a residential neighborhood and was so comfortable. The staff were extremely accommodating . A little home away from home. A complete different experience then a normal hotel and was truly made to feel as the only person there even though they were completely booked. A beautiful pool, that added to the experience. The room was well laid out and beautiful. It was so comfortable, just like staying at Grandmas ( that is if Grandma lived in a beautiful mansion) . One of the best experiences I've had in years. We only stayed a few nights and were sad to leave. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is most important for our travels, and the Melrose Mansion, located on the corner of Esplanade and Burgundy, pulls you outside of the mess of the French Quarter and into its residential neighborhoods. Walk anyplace: to the Treme through Armstrong Park, to Frenchmen for music at night, to Cafe du Monde for coffee and a beignet. The rooms are eccentric. We rented four and the Burgundy on the first floor was the roomiest although without much privacy because of the gap under the door! Complimentary coffee and croissants for breakfast, bad wine and cheese in the afternoon. Nothing fussy about the Melrose, but certainly worth its price. Friendly staff with a direct line to United Cab to make travel outside the Quarter easier.

Room Tip: Te closet in the Burgundy was the largest available, so if you are staying for a while, choose that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Exactly what you'd hope for when you are staying in New Orleans with the love of your life. Spacious rooms in historic home, elegant pool that we enjoyed at the beginning and end of the day, two day stay. Located in a great area close to many outstanding neighborhood restaurants and the Quarter. Not a five star because level of service did not match the magic of the property. Everyone was very nice, just not as professional as one would expect.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, you may want a higher room to reduce street noise or improve view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Address: 937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.