We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mansion for the regular joe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melrose Mansion to your Saves list
Melrose Mansion
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
washington dc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A mansion for the regular joe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was quaint, and in a perfect location. In a residential neighborhood and was so comfortable. The staff were extremely accommodating . A little home away from home. A complete different experience then a normal hotel and was truly made to feel as the only person there even though they were completely booked. A beautiful pool, that added to the experience. The room was well laid out and beautiful. It was so comfortable, just like staying at Grandmas ( that is if Grandma lived in a beautiful mansion) . One of the best experiences I've had in years. We only stayed a few nights and were sad to leave. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is most important for our travels, and the Melrose Mansion, located on the corner of Esplanade and Burgundy, pulls you outside of the mess of the French Quarter and into its residential neighborhoods. Walk anyplace: to the Treme through Armstrong Park, to Frenchmen for music at night, to Cafe du Monde for coffee and a beignet. The rooms are eccentric. We rented four and the Burgundy on the first floor was the roomiest although without much privacy because of the gap under the door! Complimentary coffee and croissants for breakfast, bad wine and cheese in the afternoon. Nothing fussy about the Melrose, but certainly worth its price. Friendly staff with a direct line to United Cab to make travel outside the Quarter easier.

Room Tip: Te closet in the Burgundy was the largest available, so if you are staying for a while, choose that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Exactly what you'd hope for when you are staying in New Orleans with the love of your life. Spacious rooms in historic home, elegant pool that we enjoyed at the beginning and end of the day, two day stay. Located in a great area close to many outstanding neighborhood restaurants and the Quarter. Not a five star because level of service did not match the magic of the property. Everyone was very nice, just not as professional as one would expect.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, you may want a higher room to reduce street noise or improve view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My husband and 18 month old son recently spent three nights in a beautiful suite at the Melrose Mansion hotel. My husband has special dietary requirements and my toddler needs all the things toddler needs so I booked a suite with a full kitchen. The suite was amazingly beautiful, a mix of classical style and modern that had a great vibe. We had a fully equipped, modern kitchen and a washing machine and dryer in the suite. Comfortable, luxurious and steps from the French Quarter, we all had a great time exploring the city when we wanted, working when we needed to work, and cozy-ing up for family time at the hotel. There was a beautiful pool and the staff was very attentive. My only suggestion for the hotel is that if a guest books a suite with a kitchen and laundry, basic condiments like salt and pepper, disherwasher detergent pods, laundry soap and fabric softener be provided in the suite. To their credit, these items were provided after we called the front desk to ask for them so it was all good.

We had such a wonderful time in New Orleans and the Melrose Mansion Hotel and staff certainly played a big part in making our stay welcoming, warm and wonderful.

My family would certainly stay at the Melrose Mansion again and recommend it to friends traveling to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Esplanade. It's lovely and fun to people watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

The property itself was beautiful and very clean. However , for a bed and breakfast and the price I would have expected a much better breakfast ! There was absolutely nothing special about it and even the coffee was lousy . Very weak! The afternoon wine and cheese was equally disappointing! Having stayed at other B&B's I expected much more!!
The pool however was beautiful and the location was great. Just don't count on any "extras" other than a nice room!!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

This was our first time staying here, and we loved everthing about it. Staff is fabulous, friendly, attentive, and eager to help. Rooms are amazing, location perfect. Continental Breakfast to get you going and wine, cheese and crackers every evening. Will definitely come back and stay here!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room facing the pool is a nice veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I can't tell you how happy we were with the room and also how especially nice the entire staff was. This was the fifth time we've visited New Orleans and we've always stayed at different places. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the entire staff treated us like we were the only people in the hotel. Everyone was so nice and a pleasure to talk to and always went out of their way to accommodate us. If you are looking to be out of the French Quarter but only about a 10 minute walk to the center then I would highly recommend this hotel. I know we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Address: 937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.