We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlie get-away to attend the Essence Festival from London. UK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Mansion

Save Saved
You added Melrose Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melrose Mansion
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
1 review
“Girlie get-away to attend the Essence Festival from London. UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our first trip to NOLA from London - UK.
The customer service experience is very good. Members of make you feel very welcome and go that extra mile to ensure that you are comfortable. Several examples are ensuring that we had peppermint tea for breakfast, guest services (sorry cannot remember the staff's name) kindly noted down all the key areas to visit within the locality, Melanie (hoping that her name is correct) - was extremley helpful and sorted out our final invoice situation with a smile, rooms as spacious - however, would have preferred a kingsize in our bedrooms.
Great location a definate recommendation! Thank you to everyone who made our first stay to NOLA a memborable one!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located amongst the locals the, hotel does not feel like a hotel. It is your home away from home. I stayed in a suite that had a full kitchen, living room, washer, dyer, one (1) full bath with a half bath, and a separate entrance accessible from the street. New Orleans was my absolute favourite place to be before I went and now that I have experienced it, the city surpassed by expectations. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It is within walking distance to major attractions, food and shopping. What more could I ask for!
I have encouraged my coworker to visit New Orleans and convinced her to stay at the Melrose Mansion!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 6 nights in a Marigny apartment which was located a couple of doors down from the mansion but easily accessible from the "back way". The room was really spacious but the bed could've been a king size which let this studio apartment down. The other item they could have is a 2 seater couch which would make it more comfortable. If you like to be in total darkness when you wake up in the morning, you wont get it here as the closed shutters tend to let in light. The apartment was beautifully fitted out and still had loads of character. We were on the second floor and there is a lift but it is the slowest lift - ever.

Totally loved the fact that we had a washer/dryer which I made use of! Housekeeping did a great job and kept everything clean and topped up. Having the pool was awesome but more shaded areas are needed.

Apart from check in and check out we didn't really have anything to do with the staff and we didn't have a chance to partake of the breakfast or afternoon nibbles. You are quite removed from the general going's on at the Mansion when you stay in the apartments and we only saw one other couple which was poolside but we quite enjoyed the solitude.

The location we found to be great. Far enough away from the action when you want to be and close enough to Bourbon & Frenchmen Street. We ate at the close by Buffas Cafe - very enjoyable and spent a fair bit of time at the Balcony Music Club enjoying great blues music.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and if we come back to New Orleans would certainly consider Melrose again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is gorgeous. It's sophisticated, yet charming and romantic. Every time my partner and I stay here, we feel as though we are in New York, but without the over stimulating vibe of New York. I absolutely love this place. It's reminiscent of my actual home. The pool is so quaint. The team is warm and truly helpful. Do yourself a favor stay here you will fall in love.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is day #2 out of 5 and I am hooked!!! Wyatt, Jordan, & all of the staff are super accommodating without the pretentious aura that some boutique hotels seem to posses. The grounds are exquisite and the rooms charming. We LOVE the 24 hr access to the pool...a fabulous way to unwind and cool off after a hot, busy New Orleans day. We have stayed many times in NOLA, but so far Melrose is the first 5-star I've ever given!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sandra Bullock owns a house in New Orleans. For the last three weeks, I lived at Melrose Mansion, where I, too, experienced the magic of a living in a historical home and being made to feel like a celebrity. This is the second time I stayed at Melrose, the first was for my daughter’s wedding, and, as usual, I loved it. Not only is it beautiful but the staff is wonderful and took such good care of me. They truly became my friends. So thank you, Brian, Melanie, George, Jordan, Yuri, Biana, Joani, Devan, Mindy, Jayson, Reyna, Arcadia, Veronica, Paco, and most important, Kenny, the Manager. Thank you all for making my stay in New Orleans sublime and an experience to remember. Love you all.

Room Tip: I loved my Melrose room for it's spaciousness and the large bathroom with the jetted tub. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for seven days. Not sure how much time we needed for our first NOLA experience. Melrose is one of two places that was just in price range for the week. Plus they have an outdoor pool surrounding privacy with trees and landscaping. Pool was very important to me this time around. You feel as if you're at you very own vacation home. The staff is very knowledgeable and helpful with all. Small breakfast in the morning, not large spread. But hey I did not want so much food that would weigh me down for the afternoon. Yogurt and fruit with coffee and an apple for the walk in town was good enough for me. Third floor offers enough workout equipment to more than satisfy your needs. Home away from home. The room we stayed in was in the connected house behind the main. They also own a home two doors down with their own parking. Every morning when we headed to breakfast we did check out any rooms that housekeeping was working on. Not one room looked alike. But each room style with modern and traditional furnishings. Which room to stay in next time? I do wish we had a refridgerator in our room though. Now where to store our left-overs from restaurants. Next time we are coming with another couple to split the expense of the suite on the second floor in the main house. Apparently its set up like an apt with full kitchen. We spent alot of money on local food and next time would like to have a kitchen to use. There is a local grocer called Rouses in the Quarter. It has everything you need. Melrose is just across the street from the French Quarter if you don't mind the 10 minute walk to the center of Bourbon Street. But the walk is nice to see the architecture of the many styles the homes of NOLA offer. Along the way you can see business's you may need from NOLA. Grocery, post office, late night eateries, etc. Melrose is only a few blocks from Frenchman Street which is a must see for those wanting to experience non-Bourbon Street affair on their first night. Smaller that Bourbon Street, but alot to see in this neighborhood. Little stores, cafes, dive bars, clubs, etc. Your not far from the French Market either. One morning it rained heavily so we took the cab 3 minutes $5 down the street to the market. We used the United Cab service for long rides across town, recommended by the staff at Melrose. Melrose is perfect for anyone wanting a romantic accommidation for honeymoons, anniversaries or for the simple flair of style in a historical home. See you guys next time!

Room Tip: Bring a "do not disturb" sign for your door. Several mornings I could pin-point when hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Address: 937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.