We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could give you a money back guarantee, I would” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melrose Mansion to your Saves list
Melrose Mansion
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Ft Walton Beach
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If I could give you a money back guarantee, I would”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights 4th of July week. We have been to NOLA many times and the MM was a wonderful stay. No waiting, crowded lobbies, or room number 1000xxx. Everyone is family there. Good location, quiet, but close to the quarter and riverfront. The pool was a welcome refresher.The staff was very friendly and helpful. Be sure to spend some time with Melissa. A very knowledgeable, gracious, and "patient" lady. We will definitely return. Be sure to request the balcony "honeymoon suite" if it is available.
PS: the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: The "honeymoon" suite has a large balcony, bathroom, and big windows. 2nd story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Larry A,
We are thrilled that you and your wife had such a pleasant stay with us at the Melrose Mansion! We pride ourselves on our commitment to service and ensuring each guest is wowed throughout their entire stay. The Donecio suite you stayed in is a personal favorite with a large private balcony overlooking Esplanade Avenue. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to your return!
Many Thanks,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    24
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
58
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is very unique. They essentially took a huge old house, renovated it, and made it a hotel. It still has the squeaky floors and wooden walls.

We payed extra to requested a king, but we got a queen. Our room was next to the street and Tuesday morning we woke up early to the garbage truck just out our windows.

The location was great. Next to a lot of things. I would rather be on the other side of the French quarter so I was closer to the other side of town as well.

The shower we had in our room was one of those enclosed glass boxes. Looked amazing, but it leaked onto the floor because it wasn't properly built. It created a huge pool on the bathroom floor we were slipping around on.

Since the floors are wooden, they echo a lot. If you want some privacy, not the best place to watch TV late cause you may be afraid to wake the people up down the hall.

We didn't have soap or shampoo in our place and had to ask the front desk for it.

The bell hop was great help. Staff was very kind. They suggested a restaurant, but the truth is it was a nasty place. We appreciate their willingness to help though.

PARKING: we read that there was parking, so we arrived without a worry. however, there is a street that is designated as the hotel's parking. the trick is that since its a street the public/other tourists can park there too. There are only a few (maybe 5) spots and once they are gone, you need to find your own. It isn't the best part of town to leave your car out in, but nothing happened to our car that was full of everything we owned since we were moving across the country.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear AMillerberg,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Melrose Mansion. As stated online, we do have secure parking available on a first come first serve basis arranged at check in through our front desk. Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay, and please know we will actively work to ensure your expectations are exceeded upon your return.
Sincerely,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Melrose Mansion for his birthday weekend. The room was quiet, well appointed and absolutely lovely. The hotel has a 24 hour staff that is friendly, courteous and extremely helpful, whatever the request. The pool was such a welcome treat, and the location was perfect for evenings on Frenchmen street, biking in the Marginy, or an evening stroll into the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for the Napoleon Suite #5 - It's a quiet cottage like room in the back with a porch and plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Noelle R!
What a great way to spend your husband’s Birthday! It is our extreme pleasure to ensure all of our guests receive the utmost level of service. Our beautifully-restored Victorian Mansion is perfectly situated on the border between the busy French Quarter and laid back atmosphere of the Marigny. We look forward to your return during YOUR Birthday weekend!
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The property was awesome. I loved the Victorian Style with the fresh modern decor.
The pool was intimate and the wine and cheese daily was icing on the cake-
I was a little bumed that I had to park my car on the street for the weekend but Melissa assisted me with finding a safe spot-
Melissa and Mr George provided great service to myself and my husband and we will be staying at the property again in the future. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Lillianknox!
Thank you for your review of our newly renovated Victorian Mansion. The extra touches like the night Manager Reception, and a nice dip in the crystal-blue pool are all experiences that our guests cannot get enough of. I am sorry that we were sold out of parking during your recent stay, but so thrilled that George and Melissa were able to find you the best spot available! We will see you soon.
Kenny Marrs – General Manger – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I spent last weekend at Melrose Mansion. We’ve stayed there several times before and like the location on Esplanade, close to Frenchman Street and across the street from Buffa’s….a locals dive bar and restaurant. The mansion has been tastefully redone in a spare, classic style – original dark wood floors, high ceilings and lots of natural light. In the summer, we especially love the large pool and patio. We arrived late Friday night and were quite surprised to find out we were the “guests of the day” and upgraded to executive suite 2A. The huge suite (the size of a nice apartment) is located in a separate building, but refurbished in the same style with a full kitchen, large den and dining room, comfortable bedroom and beautiful marble bath. There are four floor-to-ceiling windows facing Esplanade with plantation shutters. We could easily have stayed there for a week (especially since it had full size washer and dryer). The staff is always friendly and it’s a great location for exploring the Marigny & Quarter. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
BayouGirl008!
We were so thrilled to have you as our “Guest of the Day”! What great comments over your stay in one of our Esplanade Executive Suites. The room you occupied, 2A, is a personal favorite. Nothing beats the balcony view and what about that modern chandelier? We look forward to your next visit, and who knows - - - there is always another chance for “Guest of the Day: Part 2”.
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here for three nights and hope to become a regular. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is warm and helpful and the location is great. Special thanks to Melissa for all her help. I originally checked in to 2A, which is breathtaking, but I am a very light sleeper. The bedroom faces the street, but even with the shades drawn the room is too light for me, and right over the street. Melissa moved me to another beautiful room and all was well. However, if you are a sound sleeper, 2A is enormous and absolutely stunning. You could throw a dinner party in that room. I would love to have an apartment that looked like that.

The pool is serene, surrounded by trees. In the afternoon you can have a glass of wine in the mansion, or take a dip in the pool. In the morning coffee is always ready in the breakfast room. Everyone makes you feel right at home. I want to go back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Candyck!
Thank you for your review of the Melrose Mansion. It was our sincere pleasure to be able to meet your individual needs over the stay. You are right about 2A! The modern light fixture over the dining table is my absolute favorite. I am sorry to hear that the light was an issue, but excited to know Melissa was able to meet your needs. She really is a great member of our Melrose Mansion Family. We look forward to your speedy return.
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is all of the wonderful things about New Orleans wrapped in a beautiful package. We brought our bikes and rode in the Frenchmen St, French Quarter and the Warehouse District. Then we got a Monsoon cocktail across the street and laid at the amazing pool. Our room was 1A and it is where Kid Rock stays when he is in town. It's amazing.....!!

Room Tip: Choose Room 1A
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Getgogonr!
We are so glad to see you enjoyed your time in the Crescent City. You are too close to not make this a regular visit, and we look forward to your quick return. The Luxury Residential Suites at Melrose Mansion are quickly becoming a favorite among all of our valued guests. The Esplanade Executive you had the pleasure of staying in is my personal favorite. Over 1600 square feet of whatever you have in mind, a relaxing weekend or great party pad; it works for you either way. Thank you again for taking the time to review your visit, and hurry back!
Kenny Marrs – General Manger – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Address: 937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.