We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New Orleans Marriott to your Saves list
New Orleans Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #89 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
dewny37
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott for five nights. It's right on the edge of the French Quarter (next to CBD) and about three blocks down from Bourbon Street. The beds were phenomenal. It was like laying on a cloud. The rooms were very clean, but kind of small - two beds, desk, and tv. There was no fridge which was dissapointing. The ceiling in the bathroom was really low. We got a really good rate - $60/night - but parking was $30/night. It never took more than 10 minutes to get our car. Internet was $15/day, but we opted out of that. We tried the pool, but it was a little too cold in March. It's pretty much what you would expect from a Marriott. The ammenities were pricey, but we got a very good deal on the rate. And it was close enough to everything we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    920
    509
    156
    73
See reviews for
279
538
98
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

My colleagues and I stayed at this hotel attending a meeting in January. It was a nice property and convenient to Bourbon St. I had a problem with the drain in my room and they were there to fix it promplty. Overall it was a nice stay at the hotel!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Here for a 3-day conference. King room extremely small. I recommend a Double room which is 3 - 4 feet longer. Tube TV was from the 1990's. Bathroom, though well appointed, was diminutive. Hard for even one person to move around in. Shower head at neck level. There was no hot water one morning. The elevator system was a major catastrophy. Its programming system did not work efficiently with large crowds. Empty cars would open up and then dissapear with no programed stops. One group of conventioneers were stuck in Car G for 1.5 hours. Several times I would frequently walk down the 8 flights of stairs. Staff were very helpful at check-in, check-out. Bar service was great, though drink/food pricing was high. Hotel location is great for access to the Quarter and shopping. Conference facility was adequate.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Went to New Orleans for Mardi Gras. This was a GREAT location. We were able to watch the evening parades by just going outside the hotel. It's 2 blocks down to Bourbon so you can easily walk there or stay on Canal where it's not so busy. Also an easy walk to all the other great sites in the French Quarter. Our room was very clean . The bed and pillows were comfortable, and the bathroom was very spacious. We had no problems at all! The entire staff was very helpful and friendly. The concierge answered all our questions and helped a great deal in enjoying our first Mardi Gras experience. The price was very reasonable and I will definately be returning to this Marriott hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

I was immediately impressed with the lobby which was very chic. Staff was great very helpful for what I asked of them but I expected more out of the room after seeing the lobby. It certainly wasn't bad, just average. The picture on the website of the hotel at night looks much better than the actual structure but I didnt pay to look at the place. Great proximity to Bourbon Street and the IMAX/ Aquarium, casino etc. My gf and I walked everywhere we went and if it weren't for Hurricane Gustav bearing down on us we would have had a little more to do (a lot of places closed down and rightfully so, but we did get some good pics wth the National Guard) If you're from New England be sure to eat at Mr. Chubby's Cheesesteaks.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the New Orleans at the Marriott on Canal Street. My husband and I were there for a convention. We had a king room in the Quarter Tower on the 20th floor which gave us a view of Canal Street, so that we were able to view the parades that began this week of Mardi Gras in the evening. The rooms were clean and comfortable, not the largest we've ever been in, but very adequate. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was helpful and friendly, from the front desk to the maids. Loved the location, no need for a vehicle, just walk out the rear door and you are in the French Quarter. A couple of small good places for breakfast on Chartres Street within a minute walk, Mena's and Fleur d Lis ($15.00 for 2). We had no problems with the elevators and the place was packed for Mardi Gras. I'm sure there are much more luxurious hotels here, but for the price of $229 it was nice and very nicely located without being in the center of the French Quarter where all the madness is at this time of year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

No hot water! Despite numerous complaints, they would not do anything except send a technician up. In the end had to time our showers for mid-day and make it fast! Apparently they don't have hot water problems in that tower and noone else complained, so they didn't seem to care and certainly didn't take us seriously. Rm 1443 (other tower, not the River Tower).

Also, couldn't get down evelator. New system is so messed up we waited 20 mins just to get off our floor and it wasn't even that busy!

Finally, we had booked through Expedia, and upgraded our room for $40 a night to get a city view (nice given there were lots of parades at the beginning of Mardi Gras). But the hotel stuck us in a tiny room facing head on, the other tower. They said they had no more rooms facing the city, and they couldn't refund the premium we paid for the room as we'd gone through a discounter! They eventually gave us a room with a view, but that's when we got the room with no hot water!

Recommendation: Support New Orleans, but don't pay the extra ordinary price this unprofessional hotel!

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.