We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal Street & Bourbon Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New Orleans Marriott to your Saves list
New Orleans Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #93 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Silverton, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Canal Street & Bourbon Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Foune the hotel to be very clean, front desk efficient and friendly. Room was a respectable size, but no refrig available. We upgraded to a corner room @ a cost of $25/day extra. Hous keeping was late afternoon most days (7 day stay) had to asl for coffee and cups to be replenished at least twice. Elevators (7) were slow most of the time and interesting how the individual elevator was chosen. Hotel resturant food was good, service was slow. Starbucks off the lobby was ok. This hotel is located on the edge of the french quarter and ax 3 blocks from the start of bourbon street. A lot of stuff to see in this area including WW II memorial, very interesting and well done.

Room Tip: Corner rooms provide a good view. The east tower provides a view to the east including the Miss. ri...
See more room tips
Green Features: Staff that i interacted with were friendly. Maid service did not understand or speak much english
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear 2012StepM,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the New Orleans Marriott. We're pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location by New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street as well as the historic French Quarter and cultural destinations like the World War II Museum. We're also glad to hear that you had the pleasure of a corner room view. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    901
    493
    152
    73
See reviews for
271
519
97
715
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wautoma, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, within walking distance of great restaurants, French Quarter sites and more. The lobby and conference rooms were comfortable and spacious, and the bar area very nice as well. We enjoyed delicious food at our conference prepared by the hotel. The only issue I had was with the small, dated looking room. We had a room with two double beds, and there was virtually no extra space. For the cost of the room, I had expected nicer rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
fredbon,

Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our centralized location, our great room, and of course the food! However, I am sorry you did not find the same satisfaction in the room you received. In two months from now we begin a complete room renovation which consists of a brand new Marriott design. While the rooms will not be made larger, the design certainly provides a greater utilization of space. I hope we are able to regain your trust and exceed your expectations for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Overall hospitality was great. Location close to attractions. Rooms were simple, no free wifi; no fridge or microwave; shower had a water stain on the ceiling. May choose another hotel next trip there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 4EverKasted,

We deeply appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share it with us. We're delighted that you received wonderful service, as we pride ourselves in our helpful, friendly hosts. We are sorry to hear that you did not find your room flawless. Should you return to New Orleans, we would very much like to make that up to you by hosting you after our room renovation later this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a few days while touring America. On checking in we were greeted by Louis who was extremely helpful. He gave us a printout with all the places to go and see and to eat and drink it was a god send. The room ( number 740) was clean and bed comfy only thing was it was next to laundry room so quite noisy. You have to have valet parking at this hotel which is okay unless you forget something then a bit of a hassle. Location was brilliant you can walk to most things. If into music then Frenchman Street is a must it's about 20 min walk from hotel. We can't wait to go back again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Michaela,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled that you received stellar service from Luis and liked our convenient located at the footsteps in the French Quarter. We love it when our guests discover Frenchmen's vibrant live music scene and we're happy you enjoyed it! It would be out pleasure to host you again on your next visit to the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
491 reviews 491 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a review of the conference center. Decent but old facilities. Limited vegetarian and vegan options though. Service was fine. The location is good, right in downtown. We did not stay here s cannot rate the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
MihirMeghani, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about the New Orleans Marriott. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location as we are accessible to all downtown New Orleans attractions. However, I apologize that our meeting space did not meet your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed 6 enjoyable days in July. This hotel does it right. Great location on Canal St and exceptional service. King room was roomy; great bed with pillows you can sleep on! Service was great! No complaints. Treat yourself on your next visit to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Stayed on 16th floor! Quiet!!!! Corner rooms are larger!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Ron,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent 6 day stay. We are delighted to hear that you had an extremely comfortable stay with great service! We couldn't agree more about how comfortable our Marriott beeds are. It would be our pleasure to host you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I booked the property via Priceline for a girls weekend. (I've been spending a lot of time in the city for both business and pleasure and was pleasantly surprised to book this hotel due to it being on Canal Street.) The location is great, within easy walking distance to everything. The hotel itself is well maintained. Our arrival and everyone we dealt with was wonderful, from the bell man to check-in. We were assigned a corner room, so we had great views. The only issue was no soap in the bathroom, so we called down to ask for some and used some body wash in the meantime. The soap was never delivered the first night, we waited an hour for it before we headed out.

After a fun first night in New Orleans we headed out around 9:30 the following morning. Housekeeping was in the hallway as we left, making up other rooms on the floor. A flatbed cart with towels was blocking the hall and the maid was less than pleased to have to move it. We would've hurdled it but the towels were stacked pretty high. We said good morning to her, asked her to leave soap in the room and moved on. Imagine our surprise to return at 7 PM and find the room was never made up. (If anyone hasn't visited NOLA, after a full day walking in the June heat, an evening shower is a must do.) I called downstairs to ask for clean towels and for the soap that never was delivered the day before; we had still been using body wash to cleanse our hands. I received a long lecture on leaving the 'do not disturb' sign on the door. We DID NOT leave the do not disturb sign out when we left. I made sure of it as we walked out and when I looked back as I was waiting for the towel flatbed to be moved. I was also told soap was in little triangular boxes and maybe I didn't know what they were. REALLY?! I think I know what soap, even in boxes, looks like.

45 minutes later the nicest young man delivered two boxes of soap. I asked if he had the towels but there was no record of that request. He immediately ran to get us a few clean sets. In the meantime my friend went to get ice and the machine was broken. The young man made a 3rd trip to get us some ice from another floor. He went above and beyond, I regret not getting his name.

The hotel is typical of any of the larger chains in the city. Parking is $40 a night plus tax. They do allow in and out privileges but it's just easier to walk about the city, so the car stayed in the garage for our whole visit. WI-FI isn't free, who charges for that anymore? Again, not a big deal since we were there for fun and the 4G on our phones worked just fine.

Mishaps occur, especially in a property as large as this one. What I found upsetting was the rude response when I called to ask for towels and soap. I shouldn't have to call twice for soap and I didn't need a lecture on the do not disturb sign. I simply was asking for basic hygiene products not some over the top request. Thankfully the person who made the delivery and assisted us with the towel/ice issue redeemed the whole customer service experience (and he was tipped well for his efforts.)

The Marriott receives a very good rating for location and for 90% of the staff we dealt with. Whoever is dealing with guest calls concerning housekeeping items needs retraining. Two calls to them weren't handle properly either time. I travel quite a bit and have never dealt with this issue before. When items have been missing I haven't had to explain why I was requesting them.

All in all I would give this location one more chance, if I received a decent deal on the room. The Sheraton across the street is also a great property and we didn't experience the small but annoying issues we experienced with Marriott.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear CeesaRae,

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location. However, we are so sorry to hear that you did not receive the excellent customer service typical of our hotel. We expect all of our hosts to host brilliantly and please accept our deepest apologies. Should we have the opportunity to host you again, we would very much like to make this right and deliver a flawless stay to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.