We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Conference!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New Orleans Marriott to your Saves list
New Orleans Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #90 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Winters, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Conference!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I attended a three day conference at this hotel and was quite pleased. Upon arrival the front desk attendant checked me in, offered me several different room options and ended up putting me in a king room with a view of Canal Street. The bed is very comfortable, the TV is a big flat screen model with plenty of channels, including HBO. The room is also furnished with a lounge chair and ottoman and a work desk. The bathroom is spacious and the provided toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, hand wash, shower gel, mouthwash, body lotion, and bar soap) are all nice quality. Maid service is very good here as well.

The health club is large with probably 15 or more treadmills, elypticals, and stationary bikes, as well as four or five weight machines and free weights. It seems as though there are many health enthusiasts at this hotel as getting on the machines early in the morning is a challenge... Towels, headphones, water, and fruit are all provided.

The conference facilities are spacious with plenty of room to accommodate very large groups. There are also plenty of small breakout rooms. The banquet food has been good for the most part, which is generally not the case for conferences this size.

If traveling for work or planning a conference, I would certainly stand behind recommending this Marriott. It's been a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We really love hearing that you enjoyed our hotel and found it a great place for a conference. We hope you join us again on your next visit to NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    920
    509
    156
    73
See reviews for
279
538
98
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our first visit to New Orleans we stayed at the Marriott on Canal Street. The staff was friendly and courteous . The rooms were clean, quite, and the bed was
very comfortable. With all the night noise on the street it was amazing we heard very little once in our room. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the New Orleans Marriott. We're honored to have hosted you during your first time in New Orleans. It's great that you found our staff friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were in town for Jazzfest and looking for an affordable hotel with basic amenities. We weren't planning on spending much time at the property but wanted a location that was central for transportation to Jazzfest as well as walkable for dinner in the French Quarter. The Marriott fit the bill nicely. In addition to the Jazzfest shuttle, which picked up directly across from the hotel, the area public transportation system offers a dedicated bus that runs to and from Jazzfest, also picking up in front of the hotel. This was the easiest and least expensive way to get to Jazzfest - $3 each way! From the hotel we could also walk to all the spots we enjoy in the Quarter. If we had planned to spend all our time exploring the Quarter we may have stayed elsewhere but having done that on previous trips this was perfect for our needs. Great price. Great location. Marriott quality and consistency.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear TAS1,

Thank you for your feedback about your Jazz Fest visit. It's great that the New Orleans Marriott was convenient to the Fairgrounds and that you found our property to be perfectly consistent with the Marriott brand. It would be our pleasure to host you for Jazz Fest 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Perfect location for French Quarter jaunts. Friendly staff, nice rooms and very comfortable beds! You are in the French Quarter & you are close to the river, so expect the noises from both (river boats & excited people). Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Deb,

We're glad to hear that the New Orleans Marriott was the perfect place for your French Quarter adventures. Between the friendly staff and comfortable beds, it sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us. We eagerly await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed in the New Orleans Marriott for the Memorial day weekend and its a wonderful location. It is in walking distance to many different sites. The hotel staff is very pleasant. We received very good tips and information from a very helpful bellman, Earl Travis. He is the best!! Very helpful and very pleasant. The room was very nice. An extremely comfortable bed that I hated to get out of. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Bobby3108,

It's wonderful that you had such a splendid Memorial Day weekend with us at the New Orleans Marriott. It sounds like Earl and the rest of our friendly, professional hosts made your stay truly pleasant, as as your comfortable bed. We hope to see you the next time you come to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This very large hotel is well situated in New Orleans. It is very effecient and swift with how they manage the many elevators. The rooms are spotless, big, comfortable and the beds and linens were a great restful sleep. The bathroom was large and the maid service was fantastic.
The breakfast buffet was SUMPTOUS with professionl and swift service. The staff was welcoming and efficient.

The conciege service was friendly, but ineffecient in that they really mixed up our tickets for the swamp tour and I had to spit wooden nickles to get them to make it correct.

The lobby was loud because there was a Romance Writers Convention going on, but the gals were so friendly and we had a blast with them, that we were able to over look the noise.

The coffee in the room was excellent. It is conveniently located with the trolley stopping right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that faces the water. The view as excellent.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent. Water conservation measures were in place as were recycle bins
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Loves2travel271,

Thank you for your kind words about the New Orleans Marriott. It's excellent to hear that you were quite satisfied with our spotless and comfortable rooms, housekeeping, breakfast buffet and friendly service. We're also happy that you enjoyed the coffee in your room. We do apologize that your concierge service was not flawless and we would very much like to make that up to you, should we have the pleasure of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent hotel. The have finally really started to upgrade it. I love the new elevators. Valet parking is usually pretty quick. We always try and stay here when we visit New Orleans since it is only a couple of blocks away from Bourbon Street. We always try and get a high floor because the view is wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear HarpersGampy,

We deeply appreciate that your preferred place to stay in New Orleans is the New Orleans Marriott and we're thrilled that you like the additions to the hotel such as the high efficiency elevators. We absolutely agree about the view; it is quite spectacular! The hotel will be renovated in the near future and we can't wait for you to experience the hotel on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.