We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LACKLUSTER, BUT CLEAN AND ADEQUATE, WITH A GOOD BED.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New Orleans Marriott to your Saves list
New Orleans Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #91 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“LACKLUSTER, BUT CLEAN AND ADEQUATE, WITH A GOOD BED.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was surprised by this hotel. Our room was on the 27th floor with a good view of the city but not on the river side. We could see all the way to Lake Ponchartrain and the city lights were nice but we heard every siren on Canal Street and in the Quarter, and there were a few! Our room was just plain-we had a King room. At the price we paid we were surprised there was not even a refrigerator in the room. You do have to pay for internet service, The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows, the housekeeping was very good. The elevator system is really something and takes a little getting used to. You enter your room number when you walk up to the elevators and the screen tells you what elevator you will be taking to your floor. I think this probably avoids overcrowded elevators. This is a very busy hotel and we were there during a Saints football weekend but never had a crowded elevator or had to wait very long for one. Could be confusing after a long night on Bourbon Street after several cocktails! One thing I really did like was that there is always fresh ice water right outside the elevator booths, slightly flavored with all the fruit in the dispenser. The staff was friendly. We ordered room service dessert one night and received apple pie instead of chocolate cake but they told us to keep the pie and they very quickly brought up the cake. Both were good. The lobby was extremely busy almost all the time we were there-obviously a convention/business meeting hotel. You won't get out of the bar for less than $20 for two drinks. The only person at this hotel that was less than pleasant was one of the bartenders who looked at me like I had two heads when I asked if there was a warm, coffe drink she could recommend since it was a cool night. She said there were lots of things to mix with coffee. Honestly, that was her only response. No suggestions, just that. She was a little overly officious and probably tired and it showed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view if that matters to you. The taller tower is your best bet, with roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori J, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear travellady h, thanks for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you were treated to a great city view from your room on the 27th floor. Though you really can't go wrong when it comes to spectacular vistas, next time we'll be sure to put you on the river-view side, just for a different perspective.

Of course, any hotel with dozens of floors and hundreds of rooms is only as enjoyable as its elevator system will allow. We're proud to employ an innovative digital system that gets guests where they need to in the shortest amount of time. Since we do often host conventions, meetings, and other large events, this system has proved invaluable to guests with time constraints.

Finally, I'd like to extend our sincerest apologies for any service-related shortcomings. At Marriott, we've built our reputation on being consistent, friendly, and helpful. Should you visit again, I can guarantee these principles will be on full display.

Thanks again--we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Robert Bray

General Manager
New Orleans Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    847
    463
    136
    66
See reviews for
256
485
92
660
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Attended a large conference at the Marriott in October 2013. The rooms are small, plain and the bathrooms are tiny with one sink. Everything was very clean and the staff was helpful and professional. The hotel is huge and very busy with a combination of business travelers and partiers. The location is ideal for both. Nothing special here but serviceable if you need a clean room in a good location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The New Orleans Marriott is a large convention hotel located on the lower end of Canal Street, very close to both the French Quarter, the Mississippi River, and the Harrahs casino. The hotel has two towers – the Quarter Tower, and the taller River Tower. The River Tower is closer to the Mississippi, and my room in that tower had beautiful views of both the river and the French Quarter. Even though the hotel is huge, I never had a problem getting an elevator, getting service at the front desk, retrieving my car from the parking valet, or any of the other problems you sometimes have at huge convention hotels. The hotel’s location is ideal for walking to the French Quarter and all of the restaurants, bars, clubs, etc. in that area, while being far enough away that you don’t get too much noise from the nightlife. The hotel is a few blocks away from the business downtown area on Poydras, but having stayed at a supposedly high-end hotel in that area, I much prefer the Marriott. I definitely will look to stay here the next time I need to come to New Orleans.

Room Tip: For a river view, you should ask for the River Tower. The views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori J, Resident Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Wedgewood, thanks for the kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed your time here at the New Orleans Marriott, and we couldn't be happier that you'll be returning sometime down the road. Everything you mentioned is spot-on, including your assessment of our location. Guests always remark on how convenient everything is, whether they're traveling on foot, by streetcar, or by car. And if you do happen to have a car with you, we have ample parking space and valet services available for a reasonable rate.

We're looking forward to seeing you again soon, and can't wait to make your next stay even better. Please let me know if there's anything we can do to help plan your perfect stay.

Sincerely,

Kori Johnson
Resident Manager
New Orleans Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a beautiful modern hotel. But if you're looking for a great pool experience this is not the hotel for you. With towers on both sides and one across the street you have to dodge shadows to stay in the sun.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you want to spend time in the Quarter or if you want to have a central location to just about everything in the city, staying at the Marriott on Canal Street is your best bet. The staff is friendly, the rooms are perfect (although I do wish there was a refridgerator in all rooms to keep the doggie bags from those great dinners!) and the bar is just right. This was perfect for our needs with the conference right there in the hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a small fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The location was the convenient. The hotel was just average. The room was clean but extremely small. The bathroom was small as well. Of the three rooms we reserved, only one was ready at check-in time. We had a drink at the hotel bar but did not use any other amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Standard Marriott, rooms are smaller based on the age of the property bathrooms are also very small and poorly updated drop title ceilings. Beds are comfortable standard Marriott overall this in a huge hotel with a lot of small overlooked details in the up keeping. Pool area is very cool but does not have a bar area or covered seating. Elevators have odd setup you put in your floor and you are assigned an elevator this was great till the hotel was busy then took up to 5 minutes to get up or down.

Front desk staff were very efficient check in/out was smooth even with a large number if people, they call your cell when the room is ready that was nice.

Lots of amenities on site Starbucks...ect,

Location is on the edge of the French Quarter every major hotel change has a location in this general area this hotel is just average pick your preferred chain or who has the best rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori J, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Caltom67, thanks for your review. We're so glad you chose to spend your recent visit to New Orleans here with us at the Marriott. It sounds like everything went well, and your title, "Great views, good location," is a nice way to describe two of our finest features. Guests love the spectacular vantage point that our upper levels offer, and our innovative elevator system makes it easy to get up or down with ease.

Similarly, our location makes it easy to get almost anywhere in the city. If you're in the mood to discover a new favorite restaurant or bar, our knowledgable staff is always willing to offer a recommendation. And if you feel like staying closer to home, it doesn't get much more convenient that our on-site Starbucks and restaurants.

I hope you'll choose to stay with us again next time you're in town. Feel free to contact me directly if there's anything we can do to help plan a visit.

Sincerely,

Robert Bray

General Manager
New Orleans Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.