We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice in NOLA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added New Orleans Marriott to your Saves list
New Orleans Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night!
Ranked #90 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great Choice in NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The New Orleans Marriott is a large convention hotel located on the lower end of Canal Street, very close to both the French Quarter, the Mississippi River, and the Harrahs casino. The hotel has two towers – the Quarter Tower, and the taller River Tower. The River Tower is closer to the Mississippi, and my room in that tower had beautiful views of both the river and the French Quarter. Even though the hotel is huge, I never had a problem getting an elevator, getting service at the front desk, retrieving my car from the parking valet, or any of the other problems you sometimes have at huge convention hotels. The hotel’s location is ideal for walking to the French Quarter and all of the restaurants, bars, clubs, etc. in that area, while being far enough away that you don’t get too much noise from the nightlife. The hotel is a few blocks away from the business downtown area on Poydras, but having stayed at a supposedly high-end hotel in that area, I much prefer the Marriott. I definitely will look to stay here the next time I need to come to New Orleans.

Room Tip: For a river view, you should ask for the River Tower. The views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori J, Resident Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Wedgewood, thanks for the kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed your time here at the New Orleans Marriott, and we couldn't be happier that you'll be returning sometime down the road. Everything you mentioned is spot-on, including your assessment of our location. Guests always remark on how convenient everything is, whether they're traveling on foot, by streetcar, or by car. And if you do happen to have a car with you, we have ample parking space and valet services available for a reasonable rate.

We're looking forward to seeing you again soon, and can't wait to make your next stay even better. Please let me know if there's anything we can do to help plan your perfect stay.

Sincerely,

Kori Johnson
Resident Manager
New Orleans Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    798
    440
    129
    63
See reviews for
248
457
84
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a beautiful modern hotel. But if you're looking for a great pool experience this is not the hotel for you. With towers on both sides and one across the street you have to dodge shadows to stay in the sun.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you want to spend time in the Quarter or if you want to have a central location to just about everything in the city, staying at the Marriott on Canal Street is your best bet. The staff is friendly, the rooms are perfect (although I do wish there was a refridgerator in all rooms to keep the doggie bags from those great dinners!) and the bar is just right. This was perfect for our needs with the conference right there in the hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a small fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The location was the convenient. The hotel was just average. The room was clean but extremely small. The bathroom was small as well. Of the three rooms we reserved, only one was ready at check-in time. We had a drink at the hotel bar but did not use any other amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Standard Marriott, rooms are smaller based on the age of the property bathrooms are also very small and poorly updated drop title ceilings. Beds are comfortable standard Marriott overall this in a huge hotel with a lot of small overlooked details in the up keeping. Pool area is very cool but does not have a bar area or covered seating. Elevators have odd setup you put in your floor and you are assigned an elevator this was great till the hotel was busy then took up to 5 minutes to get up or down.

Front desk staff were very efficient check in/out was smooth even with a large number if people, they call your cell when the room is ready that was nice.

Lots of amenities on site Starbucks...ect,

Location is on the edge of the French Quarter every major hotel change has a location in this general area this hotel is just average pick your preferred chain or who has the best rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori J, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Caltom67, thanks for your review. We're so glad you chose to spend your recent visit to New Orleans here with us at the Marriott. It sounds like everything went well, and your title, "Great views, good location," is a nice way to describe two of our finest features. Guests love the spectacular vantage point that our upper levels offer, and our innovative elevator system makes it easy to get up or down with ease.

Similarly, our location makes it easy to get almost anywhere in the city. If you're in the mood to discover a new favorite restaurant or bar, our knowledgable staff is always willing to offer a recommendation. And if you feel like staying closer to home, it doesn't get much more convenient that our on-site Starbucks and restaurants.

I hope you'll choose to stay with us again next time you're in town. Feel free to contact me directly if there's anything we can do to help plan a visit.

Sincerely,

Robert Bray

General Manager
New Orleans Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This property is located right on the edge of the French Quarter so an easy walk to all
local attractions like Bourbon Street and the waterfront. Trolly car lines close by. I booked here for a trade show and they did not have the room type I asked for. Instead they put me up on the 38th floor with a stunning view of the river and downtown, plus concierge level privileges at no extra charge. All staff were friendly and helpful, room was great and the whole experience was above average for similar hotels. Although I did not use them, nice lounge, restaurant and Starbucks inside the hotel. A word of caution about this place and others in New Orleans, they charge a premium for their parking, and to add insult to injury I paid a parking tax on top of the parking rate! Beware of layers of taxes in this city, they get you coming and going! This no doubt contributed to the amazing clean up and restoration of the city after Katrina and I can live with the means to that end, the whole city looked great. If you are a fan of Marriott like I am, this hotel is a good value and really nice place. For an upgrade there is a J.W. Marriott across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the river if you want a terrific view and sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori J, Resident Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear ProMetalSales, it sounds like you had a great stay, and we really appreciate that you took the time to tell us about it. Like you, many of our guests are pleasantly surprised by the convenience of our location. Many of the city's finest destinations are within walking distance, and we always recommend a leisurely ride on the streetcar. If you want to just get out and go in the morning, you're guaranteed to stumble across at least a few amazing sights and sounds.

We're so glad that you enjoyed your room with a view. The sight lines from up on the 38th floor are unparalleled, and access to the Concierge Level offers many little luxuries to help you feel at home.

Thanks again. If there's anything we can do to help plan a future stay, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Kori Johnson

Resident Manager
New Orleans Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The King Room we had was extremely small. The ceiling height in the bathroom was approximately 6'8" as my hands bumped the ceiling when I was blow drying my hair. The room with tax was over $200 plus an additional $35 per night to park my car. When I checked in, the first thing I was asked was if I wanted to upgrade to a room overlooking the river that was a little larger for $50 per night. That should have been my first clue. The lounge was very nice, the location was good, but I felt it was over priced for what I got.

Room Tip: Be prepared to spend an additional $50 per night to get a decent sized room during the week. What ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori J, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Exgopher, thanks for your honest feedback. We're sorry to hear that your visit didn't quite live up to your expectations. We know that value is a consideration for all travelers, and that's why we're committed to providing the very best in accommodations, amenities, and service. Here at the New Orleans Marriott, we have a wide variety of rooms with different layouts and features. Should you choose to stay with us again-and I hope you do- we will be sure to work with you to find a room that better suits your needs.

It sounds like there were a few highlights during your stay, including our central location and lounge. We'd love nothing more than to be able to add to that list during a future stay. If there's anything I can do now to start the process of restoring your trust in our hotel, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Robert Bray

General Manager
New Orleans Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.