We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel on the edge of the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamothe House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lamothe House Hotel to your Saves list
Lamothe House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   621 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Off Your Stay
Ranked #33 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel on the edge of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Lamothe House is a wonderful hotel just outside of some of the busiest areas of the French Quarter, and helped make a fantastic trip to New Orleans even better. Rooms were clean and air conditioned, beds were comfortable, and building itself is within walking distance to both the French Quarter as well as Frenchman Street. It also features a pool, which we took full advantage of in the New Orleans heat. Staff was friendly and accommodating, and handled our minor requests with aplomb. Our only complaint - that we only had two nights to stay in New Orleans. We plan to return, both to this wonderful city and this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is split between the old carriage house and a guest house across the road. The guest hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    77
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
40
108
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This is the best place to stay. It's quite, right beside Frenchman street and 2 streets down from Burbon street. Also very close to a street car and the French market. The staff was vey nice and they have a great pool.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

A beautiful collection of rooms and gardens that provide a nice quiet escape from the French Quarter with secure, card-access parking for your vehicle. Located within walking distance of everything. The very well kept rooms are air-conditioned and located around a pool and hot tub (closed for cleaning/maintenance when I was there). Plenty of atmosphere in this old house with the modern features you want. I'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel used to be a Carriage house.... back in the day. It still has the old wood floors, stairs, etc. from the original building. There is a lot of history for this building as well. We stayed out in the 'guest buildings' which were behind the hotel, across another street. The building was updated and nice. The original wood floors were still in place on a 'pier and beam' structure with high ceilings. (The wood floors did squeak when walked on) To me, this was part of the 'old flavor' of this hotel and I quite enjoyed my stay here. The bathrooms were completely up to date and nice. The beds were quite comfortable as I not only slept on it a night, but an afternoon power nap to get myself prepared for what the night had to offer. Well worth the stay. I found the day time desk clerk as well as the hotel staff quite nice and accommodating, on a daily basis, when questions or requests were made. Will definitely make a point to stay here again, if possible, my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was my wife & I first time staying here which she called & they told all about what they had there. Once we got there we had access being walking distance to anywhere we wanted to go, Jackson square, French quarter, you name it it was right there! and the rooms were large & very clean, quite surroundings. So will we stay there again, oh Ya!! please visit it there you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Pick the one off from the pool by itself, nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We loved staying at the Lamothe House. The hotel had character & history, with modern amenities. Our room had a jacuzzi and a HUGE bathroom. We didn't have a chance to use the pool, but it looked awesome! The hotel is in a great location because there are a lot of bars and restaurants close by, but the side street is really quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was me and my friends first time to New Orleans. So when finding a hotel to book it was gamble. I booked the Lamothe based solely on reviews, location, and we also wanted to stay somewhere that screamed history.

Well, the Lamothe is that place! Right on the edge of the French Quarter and the Marigny neighborhoods. A block from Royal st, 1 1/2 blocks from Bourbon st, and where the locals hang on Frenchmen St. The location couldn't be beat!!

Our room was near the courtyard by the pool. We had a newly renovated room with a king sized comfy bed, decent sized bathroom with a huge shower. The room was small, but who cares we were in the big easy, and let's be honest we were only in our room long enough to sleep and shower! The room also had a ac that would freeze us out! Can't complain about that! The price of the room per night was also very affordable. It was also nice and quiet when it was bed time!

The staff.... I can't say enough good things about the staff here. We arrived at the hotel way before check in at 11am. The person in the check in office was so nice and helpful. I do believe his name is Chris. Since they were unable to accommodate us with an early check in Chris allowed us to leave our luggage in the office so we could go ahead and start exploring the city. When our room was ready Chris called me (about an hour before actual check in time) to let us know our room was ready. He also had our luggage taken to our room for us, and the ac was already on and the room was nice and cold! The maintenence staff and maid staff were also top notch and super friendly. They treated me like they had known for me forever and was family member visiting. All of the staff gave us tips on where to go to eat, site see etc, and most importantly told us where to stay away from! Like I said I can't say enough good things about this place. When I come back to visit NOLA again, this is where I will be booking my room! I will also recommend this place to everyone I know!! ;-) Thank you Lamothe House staff for treating me so well!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamothe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamothe House Hotel

Address: 621 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamothe House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the ancient oaks of Esplanade Avenue, the ornate architectural detail of the past meets modern comfort and convenience in our restoration of the historic Lamothe House hotel. Featuring an elaborate courtyard accented by mature landscaping, a garden pond, and a refreshing pool, peace and relaxation are just steps away from the thrill the Crescent City has to offer.In addition to 30 guest rooms refinished in traditional style, five Grand Antique Suites have been preserved from the original 1839 construction of the home of Jean Lamothe, a wealthy sugar cane planter of French descent. Furnished with antique furniture & artwork, the detail and charm that exemplifies old New Orleans is accessible to today’s traveler.Not to be overlooked is the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood the Lamothe House calls home. Here visitors will find Frenchmen Street, often referred to as “the local’s Bourbon Street”, which features some of the best local music and cuisine found in the French Quarter.Whether it’s your first or your next visit to the Big Easy, find the authentic New Orleans experience you are searching for at the Lamothe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lamothe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamothe House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamothe House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.