We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamothe House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lamothe House Hotel to your Saves list
Lamothe House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   621 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy Two, Get One FREE!
Ranked #30 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a find in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife an I visited New Orleans from 9th May to 12 May 2013, during this time, we stayed at the beautiful Lamothe House House Esplanade Avenue, however impressive from the outside the renovated interior, furnishings, and suites, exceeded all our expectations.

The location of the hotel on the Esplanade made it the the ideal situation to explore the nearby French Quarter,the city centre, and in particular Bourbon Street, it is also situated within minutes of the vibrant Frenchmans Street.

Clean well appointed rooms with extremely comfortable king size beds were welcome after long days and nights enjoying the sights but more particularly the sounds of New Orleans, the adjacent car park was an added bonus to this Hotel.

The staff in this hotel were the most friendly and obliging we encountered on our visit to the U.S.A.

Lamothe House Hotel is a must for any visitor to New Orleans

Ken/ Joan Murphy

Room Tip: We stayed in room 117 and couldent fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Lamothe House as well as your time in New Orleans. It sounds like our prime location was exactly what you were looking for and we are thrilled to hear you were able to enjoy not only the Bourbon Street excitement but the local gems on Frenchmen Street as well! It is also great to hear you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties, upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    74
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
38
102
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My fiancé and I have stayed at Lamonth House on two occasions. Once on Memorial Day weekend 2012 and again in October 2012. The first time we stayed, we were in a room in the hotel’s main courtyard. The room, which had not yet been renovated, was large and well-appointed, albeit no-frills. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet with no noise from the other rooms. It also had a nice small private balcony where we enjoyed eating the breakfast provided by the hotel"Not sure if they still have breakfast" . The second time we went, we stayed in one of the renovated rooms across the street from the main property (backs onto French street) and it was absolutely gorgeous, easily on par or better than many rooms in higher-end hotels. We were totally floored by how stunning the room was – it was everything you think of when you think of New Orleans luxury, with mile-high ceilings, rich fabrics, a huge bed and a very nice modern shower and toilet room. Because it is right next to French Street, the second room got a little (very muted) noise from there, but we certainly didn’t mind hearing some of the live music that is always flowing on French Street. The location, which is right next to French Street and about a ten minute walk to Bourbon street, is fantastic. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms were always clean. I’m sure we’ll stay there again as the hotel has all the needed comforts coupled with a large dose of the French Quarter flavor that is the whole reason for going to New Orleans – and that is something you will not find in many of the bigger chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lamothe House Hotel with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Let's start with the positives. The service staff was very friendly, efficient, and helpful. The room was clean, and well maintained. The location, while a 15-20 minute walk to the action on Bourbon Street, was conveniently close to Frenchman's Street that contained numerous restaurants and jazz clubs.

Now for the rest of it:
1. We made reservations for Mardi Gras, 2013 at the Lamothe House in Oct., 2012 and chose them over several other possibilities since they offered breakfast. Mind you, not a 'continental breakfast', but a real breakfast.
2. When we checked in we were told they were no longer offering breakfast. No notice of this change by email or phone was even attempted by the LaMothe House staff prior to our checking in. There were two of us for five days and their offer of 'compensation' to us was offered at $10.00 total! A dollar each per day for five days! When we complained through Booking.com they doubled their offer to a whopping $20.00 for the two of us, which might get you a minimal breakfast at McDonalds (from their dollar menu of course). Finding another room even near the French Quarter four days before Mardi Gras was never an option. Plus we had pre-paid 50% of our five day stay so our bargaining options were minimal, and their staff was never sympathetic to our situation.
3. We were in a lower unit and the upstairs unit obviously had hardwood floors (or a Pergo-like flooring) since we could hear lots of loud talking, walking and general movement whenever there was someone in the room upstairs. The noise from the outside was equally loud and more than once I would have sworn that there was someone just outside the door, rather than in the street outside the window. Probably the noisiest room we have ever occupied.
4. Our next three nights were at a wonderful location, the Hotel Le Marais, that honored their breakfast commitment with incredible meals of scrambled eggs, perfectly cooked bacon and sausage, fresh fruit, etc., truly worthy of New Orleans cuisine, plus a wonderfully quiet room experience. Pretty much what we had hoped for at the Lamothe House. Plus, our price at Hotel Le Marais was about the same as LaMothe, and it was much more convenient to Bourbon Street (see my next review on Hotel Le Marais - a wonderful place to stay).

I do not, as a rule, do negative reviews. However, their entire approach to the breakfast issue was dishonest, short-sighted and unprofessional. Plus, their cheap construction made it very difficult to get a restful nights sleep.

I will definitely come back to New Orleans, but I will definitely never stay at the LaMothe House again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are pleased to hear you found our guestrooms to be to your liking as well as appreciated our great proximity to Frenchmen Street! However, we are extremely disappointed to read of your issue with the removal of continental breakfast from our property. Unfortunately, we have not served breakfast since November 2012 as the Lamothe House joined the French Quarter Guest Houses team of properties,at which point some of our policies did change. We apologize for the inconvenience of the removal of our continental breakfast and understand your disappointment with the change. As you were staying during Mardi Gras, we understand that it is a louder time of year and although we do our best to manage the external noise of the city, it is sometimes unavoidable.

We are pleased to hear you found another hotel that fit your needs better and apologize for the inconvenience of having to find alternate accommodations during your time in New Orleans. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

To preface, I had unexpected back surgery 5 days prior to my visit. This is important to know because: a) there is no elevator and b) there is no bellhop service. There were some customer service snags as a result of this as well, which could have been handled better at the time, by the front desk - which is on the 2nd floor. Hopefully that has since been resolved. However, a few hours of painfully walking around with my luggage and a return to the hotel after 3:00 p.m., when a different front desk person (Renee) was there to help, made all the difference. He carried my luggage up three flights of stairs and smoothed things over just by being very considerate and kind. I had to cut my stay short and moved to another hotel; but this is through no fault of the Lamothe House. As an aside, I hope that they have updated their description to show that it is not handicap accessible and there is no bellhop service or elevator. Keep in mind, you will be carrying your luggage upstairs on your own. My room was lovely - I stayed in the 2 Bed Suite on the 3rd floor, which was very large, clean, and nicely decorated. Noise was not an issue for me as I see it is in other reviews. Perhaps this is the room to ask for if you are bothered by slamming doors, loud voices, and street noise?

I want to thank Renee and Nikki for helping to work through the less than perfect first impression. I've definitely changed my mind since my first review was submitted and it's because of the way the two of you handled everything.

Room Tip: If noise is problem for you, ask for the 3rd floor suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your recent back surgery and hope you are on the mend! As the Lamothe House is a historic property, you are correct in noting that there is no elevator. Our staff is more than happy to help assist with carrying luggage as well as any other needs you may have during your stay. We are pleased to hear that Renee and Nikki were able to turn everything around for you and that you enjoyed your suite. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope you think of the French Quarter Guest Houses upon your next visit to Nola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The LaMothe House Hotel has a lot of character. I believe that travelers can have two different impressions depending on their room. We stayed in the main house where the rooms are restored with antiques and give you very much the feel of the original French Quarter. That may include a sofa that may look beautiful but may not be comfortable. It is certainly not a plain vanilla experience. The back part of the hotel has several restored rooms that are very much like modern hotel rooms. No matter where you stay, you will enjoy the charming backyard with pool that includes a lovely garden. The location is absolutely perfect. We didn't need a car and were able to walk to most places or take an easy bus connection. The staff is helpful and courteous but the room service is uneven. The first part of the week our room didn't receive much attention but during the last few days the service was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you appreciated the Lamothe House's charm and authenticity. As the entire property is newly renovated, the suites in the main house have been restored to their original luster with antiques, original furnishings and grand chandeliers while adding in the modern amenities one would expect from a newer hotel. You are correct in noting that our Deluxe Guestrooms have been renovated to feel like a modern hotel room, while still being able to step right back into Old New Orleans in our beautiful courtyard and main house.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, we would love to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties upon your next visit to Nola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just returned from New Orleans Jazzfest and were almost inclined not to share this as it could be our secret next time.

Lovely old property just outside the French Quarter and right next to Frenchman Street, convenient for everything you want in New Orleans..Simple clean accommodation with every essential facility you need, don't expect a corporate hotel experience This is small place with friendly helpful staff. Very moderately priced for the Jazzfest compared to some.

We will certainly go back so don't all of you book it out on us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with at the Lamothe House for Jazz Fest. We appreciate you not keeping the secret, so that other's can also enjoy our great accommodations! We look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Located very close to the French Market. A ten minute walk will get you to wherever you want to be in the French Quarter. It is more of a guest house than a hotel - with a main, older building and numerous outbuildings which have been converted into rooms. Our room was towards the back of the complex, newly renovated. The bathroom was very nice with a big, new shower. King size bed was very comfortable. Two things we did not like, firstly the lack of a chair to sit on - it was the bed or nothing and secondly the only windows to the room were in the double door entry to the room and those were curtained, so when you got into the room it was a little like being in a cave. In good weather this possibly isn't an issue as the pool area is very pleasant to sit around, but as it rained a lot while we were there, it got very claustrophobic in there. A hint - I ended up using the ironing board as a bedside table for one side of the bed as there was no room for a table on that side, plus, I was able to place a pillow against the ironing board to stop the cold air from blowing from the air conditioner as I lay in bed- small things but useful to know!

Room Tip: As we only saw Room 119 I can't comment on other rooms - that room has a comfortable king bed, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay at the Lamothe House. We are pleased you appreciated our great location, as you already mentioned, we are just a short walk to all there is to see and do in the French Quarter as well as the Marigny. We apologize for the absence of a chair in your guestroom and appreciate your candid feedback. We hope you think of the Lamothe House, or any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties, again upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamothe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamothe House Hotel

Address: 621 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamothe House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the ancient oaks of Esplanade Avenue, the ornate architectural detail of the past meets modern comfort and convenience in our restoration of the historic Lamothe House hotel. Featuring an elaborate courtyard accented by mature landscaping, a garden pond, and a refreshing pool, peace and relaxation are just steps away from the thrill the Crescent City has to offer.In addition to 30 guest rooms refinished in traditional style, five Grand Antique Suites have been preserved from the original 1839 construction of the home of Jean Lamothe, a wealthy sugar cane planter of French descent. Furnished with antique furniture & artwork, the detail and charm that exemplifies old New Orleans is accessible to today’s traveler.Not to be overlooked is the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood the Lamothe House calls home. Here visitors will find Frenchmen Street, often referred to as “the local’s Bourbon Street”, which features some of the best local music and cuisine found in the French Quarter.Whether it’s your first or your next visit to the Big Easy, find the authentic New Orleans experience you are searching for at the Lamothe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lamothe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamothe House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamothe House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.