We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in the Heart of New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamothe House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lamothe House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamothe House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   621 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy Two, Get One FREE
Ranked #31 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay in the Heart of New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have to more than agree with some of the recent reviewers about the excellent quality of the stay. The property is undergoing some renovation so I had the opportunity to stay in one of the suites in the Guest House property behind the hotel. (I would gladly stay in one of the singles when the renovations are finished as these look like they will make fine accommodations). The suite was exquisite in terms of amenities: extremely comfortable bed, great shower (there was even a jacuzzi!), in-room temperature control, and access to wifi. Honestly, when you go to New Orleans you hope that the room will only be for crashing - there is just way too much to see and do. This property in particular is situated perfectly close to Frenchmen Street which is where a great deal of good music is to be had. Honestly, I feel in love with NOLA with my visit here and I have the good people at the Lamothe to thank in part for their hospitality and for their accommodations. I heartily recommend.

Room Tip: I only know what my experience in the suites in the Guest House were like. I would gladly stay on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Lamothe House Hotel with us and other's on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Marigny Guest House which is part of the Lamothe House Hotel property.

As you mentioned our fine amenities, we are so pleased that you appreciated all the upgrades we have made to the property! We have put in top of the line Serta mattresses, granite shower and counter tops, brand new AC units as well as quality linens and furnishings.

You also noted our great location as we are just steps away from the up and coming Frenchmen Street! Frenchmen Street is home to some of New Orleans most famous jazz clubs such as Snug Harbor and Blue Nile.

Lastly, our main house is on the tail end of renovations and will be just as phenomenal as our Marigny Guest House. Our pool has recently been refinished and our courtyard is filled with plush gorgeous flowers and plants. Our private parking lot has been paved, has 24 hour surveillance and has an electronic gate as well now.

Again, we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at The Lamothe House Hotel and look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest House properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    61
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
31
83
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a great time staying in one of the guest houses. The rooms are charming and have been upgraded with awesome, new furnishings. Things to remember: the buildings are over 100 years old, so don't expect 'new hotel'. What you should expect is old-style French Quarter surroundings with hardwood floors, beautiful new beds, original walls, doors and windows, and some of the best surroundings in the area. What I particularly liked was the proximity to Bourbon St., but located far enough away so you the night life didn't keep you up. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Try the guest houses until the main house is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, al
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place has been recently renovated and is amazing. From the spectacular guest rooms to the ideal location, this is where you want to stay. The staff feels like family (only they treat you better) They are warm, inviting and are quick to recommend some of the areas little known hot spots. Forget being in the big hotels or even the brand named ones. They all lack the charm and authenticity of this guest house and the cost is even less. Frenchman street is where the locals hang out for truly great live music on every corner and the food is awesome.

So when you get tired of Bourbon street and the shots, drunks and stench, check out this awesome off the path but not too far off the path experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a newly renovated king room in the guest house. The room was charming - high celings, hardwood floors and plenty of space. The location was wonderful - only a short walk away from the French Quarter. Each room had outside access, and there were benches along the path where you could sit down and enjoy some fresh air. Across the street was the Lamonthe house, and there is a lovely courtyard with a heated pool and places to sit and talk. The main hotel is going through renovations as well, and we were able to peek in at some of the newly renovated rooms. Can't wait to stay there again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Our trip started off shaky with our reservation at The Frenchmen being booked incorrectly. The amazing Miss Deone (who works at The Lamothe and Frenchmen)went into action. She checked for rooms at the LaMothe then arranged a room for us there. After a quick tour of the house we chose to stay at the newly renovated back house. The room was very spacious with new tile and fixtures throughout. The buildings are a work in progress which is one of the two reasons I am not giving the LaMothe a 5, the other is that the walls are pretty thin and I was serenaded by our snoring neighbor nightly. The location is perfect, close enough to the quarter on beautiful Esplanade. There is great food at the Praline connection and great music along Frenchmen. Once again I have to emphasize the amazing service, especially by Deone! When the renovations are complete it will be great and I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Lamothe House with us as well as other's on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we were able to accommodate your last minute reservation and ensure that your time in New Orleans was nothing short of exceptional! We pride ourselves on our phenomenal customer service and are happy to hear that your experience with DeAun was so great.

As we have just completed renovations on our Marigny Annex, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed all of our upgraded amenities. We anticipate having the entire property completed by the beginning of 2013.

You also mentioned our great location, which is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. Whether you wish to be in the middle of the French Quarter where all the action is, or off of the gorgeous tree lined Esplanade Avenue, one of our properties is sure to provide you with your ideal stay in New Orleans!

We hope you think of us next time you visit New Orleans, as we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently spent four nights at the Lamothe House. The house itself is very interesting. The location couldn't be better, especially if you want to walk the area. It is around the corner from the Frenchmen Street District, about two blocks from the trolley that runs along the waterfront, and walking distance to Bourbon Street.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The downside was the room was very tiny. We had a double bed, which is very small to sleep in if you're used to a larger bed. It was similar to a small cabin on a cruise ship, in that only one of us could be standing in an area at a time. The continental breakfast was only a few pastries and coffee. Those of us who don't drink coffee, and would like juice, cereal, fruit or yogurt, there is none.

Room Tip: They are in the process of renovating the rooms. I would be sure to request one that had been renov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Lamothe House with us and other's on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the great location of our property, as it is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

As you also mentioned our friendly and helpful staff, we are thrilled to hear that they were able to live up to the standards of customer service you expected during your stay with us!

We are sorry to hear that the full size bed accommodation was smaller than you were comfortable with. As we offer an array of bedding options (Full, Queen and King) we try to cater to the bed type our customer is interested in and reserves. The Lamothe House is a historic property with many different room sizes, as no two rooms are exactly the same. We are in the process of renovating, but are still maintaining the integrity and historic charm that the property has offered for over a hundred years.

We hope you would consider the French Quarter Guest Houses for a future stay, should you return to New Orleans. We would love the opportunity to place you in a room with larger accommodations that would be more to your liking. We are extremely confident that your experience would be nothing short of your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We booked this hotel following a recommendation in a well-known travel guide. We also checked it out on the Internet and it looked a great find - good location and a period property. Unfortunately it did not live up to expectations. It is tired and seems past the best shown in its Internet pictures. The outside areas seemed to need a good tidy up and the pool was out of action. It appeared to have been unused for a while as the water was a vivid green colour resembling a swamp - there were even jokey signs about alligators. There was also an issue with our booking - we had booked a suite as we were three adults travelling together but had been downgraded to a double room. We ended up moving to the sister hotel The Frenchman because an alternative was not available for the duration of our booking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamothe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamothe House Hotel

Address: 621 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamothe House Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the ancient oaks of Esplanade Avenue, the ornate architectural detail of the past meets modern comfort and convenience in our restoration of the historic Lamothe House hotel. Featuring an elaborate courtyard accented by mature landscaping, a garden pond, and a refreshing pool, peace and relaxation are just steps away from the thrill the Crescent City has to offer.In addition to 30 guest rooms refinished in traditional style, five Grand Antique Suites have been preserved from the original 1839 construction of the home of Jean Lamothe, a wealthy sugar cane planter of French descent. Furnished with antique furniture & artwork, the detail and charm that exemplifies old New Orleans is accessible to today’s traveler.Not to be overlooked is the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood the Lamothe House calls home. Here visitors will find Frenchmen Street, often referred to as “the local’s Bourbon Street”, which features some of the best local music and cuisine found in the French Quarter.Whether it’s your first or your next visit to the Big Easy, find the authentic New Orleans experience you are searching for at the Lamothe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lamothe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamothe House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamothe House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.