We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maison DuPuy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maison DuPuy to your Saves list
Maison DuPuy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
New York City, New York
1 review
“Worst service ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for one night my phone charger from the room was stolen and I had a $10 restaurant charge when I checked out. I never order or ate at the restaurant . I got the money back but not the charger and it took 4 people and 2 days.

Room Tip: Stay in hilton on st. Charles ave cheaper and better service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    335
    126
    39
    28
See reviews for
156
402
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were not told that this hotel would be undergoing MAJOR renovations during our stay. Scaffolding was EVERYWHERE. Hammering, drilling, etc. began promptly at 8am each day. The courtyard and pool were off limits...unless you wanted to go to a neighboring hotel to use their pool. Really? The room's terrace was full dust and debris from the day's work. Though this is like every hotel and doesn't allow smoking in the rooms, they didn't provide a place for smokers anywhere on the grounds...and there were plenty of smokers when we stayed here. They had to go across the street and line up in front of private homes to have a cigarette. New Orleans is very hot and humid, so I imagine that experience was quite awful. The menu is very limited, but the food was okay. The best I can say is that the housekeeping staff is VERY accommodating and quite good at their jobs. NOTE: If you still decide to book a room, it would be best NOT to book through Expedia or other similar sites as there's no recourse. We couldn't have a rebate or refund of some of the expense of our room since it was paid for via Expedia. Paying full price for a hotel with no amenities is unfair to the customers. During our week stay we checked out other hotels in the area. They ALL had much more to offer in the way of amenities and service.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel and will be more beautiful after the construction is complete. We heard that it won't be complete until the end of summer. Luckily we weren't in the hotel room that much during the week when the construction workers got going. A plus is the free coffee in the lobby in the mornings.

Walking distance to many of the popular streets/ restaurants/ bars, etc., that we had always heard of. We ate at the hotel restaurant and were not disappointed. Very friendly staff.

There was a mistake on our reservation (they had us checking in one day later than we actually were). The hotel made good on our reservation the next day (moved us to a room with a balcony). Although there was a large dumpster below our balcony, we still enjoyed breakfast & wine in the evenings during non-construction times.

The courtyard, too, was under construction. It is very beautiful. We were fortunate enough to view a wedding taking place. It was lovely.

The only complaint I would have is that there is a spot in the rooms for a small refrigerator, but we didn't get one in either room we were in. We like to keep chilled bottled water in our room.

I would return again after all construction is complete.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the street. Lots of good people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you like a laid back place that is not too stuffy but not informal to the point of people forgetting they are not at home, then this place is for you. No, it is not luxourious and no it is not hip but it is A-OK.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I, together with one other couple, were able to stay at the lovely Carriage House on property at the Maison Dupuy this past week, and nothing could have made our stay more enjoyable. Starting with the GM Steve, and right through the entire staff, including bellmen, front desk, housekeeping, F&B, and especially the Assistant Manager Alex, we were greeted throughout our stay with upbeat and positive people. Every request was filled enthusiastically, with professionalism and aplomb. The location is perfect, close (but not too close), to all the French Quarter has to offer, yet quiet enough to get the respite one needs at the end of an enjoyable day. 5+ stars!

Room Tip: Two couples won't find a better room than the Carriage House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Its a nice place, big construction project being done. The cable TV did not work on about 50% of the channels, and it took 3 days to get it working, by then I was checking out. Food was good, convenient location. Tried to book a tour but instructions from hotel staff left me on the wrong bus, going to the wrong place, big confusion... Just seemed like at the price point things would have been much smoother. That said, the hotel was VERY quiet, and no big complaints, just kinda not what I expect for a $350/night hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Outstanding Hotel experience! I have stayed at this facility several times and have ALWAYS had a great experience. From the arrival staff to the check out was smooth and terrific. The restaurant's staff and food as well as the room service was exceptional and nice. Location, location, location, experience it and see for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maison DuPuy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison DuPuy

Address: 1001 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison DuPuy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Maison DuPuy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Dupuy New Orleans
Maison Dupuy Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison DuPuy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.