We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison DuPuy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Maison DuPuy to your Saves list
Maison DuPuy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
West Hills, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed here for five nights. The location was great for the French Quarter only five minutes walk away from the center. Hotel was quiet and staff always helpful. Highly recommended. Only mishap is that the person cleaning the room wasn't to generous with the soaps and shampoos but once requested more than enough was provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for staying with us Nigel F. I am glad Housekeeping was able to supply extra bath amenities to your room. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed our hotel and New Orleans!

Steve Ferran General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    253
    95
    25
    14
See reviews for
117
296
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

this hotel is a block or two inside the french quarter. close enough to walk everywhere with security and ease plus quite inside the lobby and room. but the staff is what makes it perfect, notably, Gersan. he could not be more accommodating considering our numerous questions and special requests. if you want to stay in the french quarter, have a true new orleans style hotel plus peace and quiet once you've walked your feet off, this is the place.

Room Tip: our experience was a king facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review TDB2011. While our location is fantastic, I believe our Team is what makes a true difference. I will let Gersan know about your kind remarks.

Steve Ferran General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location! Beautiful building and grounds...an easy walk to most destinations within the city. Enjoyed the bar, experienced my first SAZERAK ! Breakfast buffet was awesome . Swam in the pool most afternoons...yes, I want to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Debfromc – We would love to see you return to the Maison Dupuy! Thank you for spending some of your time writing your review.

Steve Ferran General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Positives: Staff attitude, good food, great location,speedy check in, room was ready early with a free upgrade, rooms are cozy and clean.
Negitives: Parking was pricey,long wait for resturant service,pool was too hot,lobby could use new furniture.

Came across the manager of housekeeping in the hall she informed us of an upcoming renovation. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us MJJames33. I am glad you able to check-in early and even received an upgrade. I do apologize if the wait time in the Bistreaux was long. The lobby furniture will be replaced soon during our renovation starting this May.

Steve Ferran General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Maison Dupuy for 6 nights. From the staff to the clean rooms it was perfection.Loved the location. We felt safe and everything was within walking distance. Returning next year would not stay any where else.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback HoneyCombHottie. I am happy that you enjoyed your extended stay with us. We are honored that you consider us your home away from home.
I look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans!
Steve Ferran General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Weve stayed at several places in the quarter but so far none trumps the Maison Dupuy. The staff was friendly, the food was ok, but the place is very clean. We encountered several maintenance problems ac, shower did work properly but we were able to count on the maids for a clean room. Over all it was good for the price, We would stay again.

Room Tip: Balcony over the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel Stephanie G. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I am sorry that you had some maintenance issues during the stay. We are very pleased that the hotel will conduct a total renovation within this year.
Our balconies are a spectacular addition to what makes our hotel so special.
Steve Ferran General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Location, location, location.

Just two blocks from Bourbon Street, the Maison Dupuy Hotel is a quiet oasis that feels a world away from the nightlife chaos of New Orleans but is still conveniently located to all the central French Quarter attractions. It is the perfect site for an authentic New Orleans stay that is close to the action, yet a respite for rest and relaxation too.

With so many options for places to stay in New Orleans, it can be overwhelming to decide where to stay. For a first-time visitor there is no better option than to plant yourself in the middle of the action near the French Quarter and Maison Dupuy Hotel is genuinely a solid choice. I always find it more enjoyable to avoid the big box hotels that you can find in any city and embrace the smaller, historical hotels that represent the style and charm of the city you are visiting. While you might sacrifice some bells and whistles of a five-star chain option, you get so much more character in return.

Maison Dupuy Hotel was created by joining five neighboring townhouses with the interior of these adjoined brick buildings making a scenic courtyard for this boutique hotel. French doors and wrought iron balconies create a classic French Quarter style. Located on Toulouse Street in the heart of the city, the hotel is within easy walking distance of most of New Orleans tourist attractions, including the French Market, Frenchman Street, Jackson Square, Royal Street, and the notorious Bourbon Street.

The staff could not have been more friendly to us during our stay, and we were impressed with how quiet our nights were as well. There are some modest nicks/dings in the room, but nothing out of the ordinary for such a historical location. I would love to see them upgrade the hairdryer, but please don't change any staff.

All in all, the Maison Dupuy is a lovely boutique hotel that includes an old style courtyard and welcoming ambiance that makes for an authentic New Orleans stay.

Room Tip: I say do Courtyard King for view and extra space
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking to time to review us PostcardPlans. I also love the feeling and service of a smaller / boutique hotel opposed to the larger “boxes”. With our location, staff and now the upcoming renovation, I know we have a winning combination for our guests.
Steve Ferran General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison DuPuy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison DuPuy

Address: 1001 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison DuPuy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maison DuPuy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Dupuy New Orleans
Maison Dupuy Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison DuPuy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.