We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison DuPuy

Save Saved
You added Maison DuPuy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison DuPuy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Lovely hotel, just few blocks from Bourbon Street, close to action but far enough for needed rest. You'll walk a lot in the French Quarter. The hotel has historic background, service very good, concierge helpful and meals (breakfast in courtyard, dining room and room service) were very good. Ask for room facing courtyard, if you'd rather not hear crowds from street, especially during Mardi Gras, then again, maybe a room facing street might be fun! You never know what you'll see during the festivities. The hotel will arrange tours, activities and you may get to look in on an authentic southern wedding ceremony.

Room Tip: Room facing courtyard, if you prefer quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We never get tired of reading such kind words as yours Rosebud50402! Thank you for taking time to write a review and acknowledge our staff!
Steve Ferran General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    205
    70
    19
    7
See reviews for
106
209
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Souther England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel and really loved it. The location is perfect, within 5 mins walk of Bourbon Street and the heart of the French Quarter, but in a very quiet road. The rooms are fairly small by US standards, and nice rather than luxurious, but this is a historic area - if you want large luxury rooms, there are plenty of identikit concrete hotels in the central business district. Many rooms have small balconies with table and chairs, some (like mine) overlooking the pretty interior courtyard and pool. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and despite the hotel being very full, the room was really quiet. Breakfast is amazing and can fill you up for the whole day if you want. The pool is as lovely as it looks on the website, and warm as a bath. I'd give this hotel 4.5 stars, taking off half a star for two reasons: the staff are lovely and friendly but the service can be disorganised at times, especially in the bar/restaurant and at reception. There was a long queue when I was checking in, past midnight so we were all very tired, but one poor guy was trying to look after us all so it took forever, even though someone else was with him behind the desk. They also play quite loud piped pop music in the courtyard from very early in the morning until late - personally, I didn't mind this at all, and the French windows to the balcony were very efficient at keeping out the sound so it never woke me up, but others in our party found it very annoying. But apart from those small points, this is a really great hotel and I recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard and with a balcony, on floors 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Maison Dupuy traveler_constant. Our location is nearby many sights in the city: Bourbon Street, Jackson Square and many historic sites. Our balcony’s and courtyard are a spectacular addition to what makes our hotel so special.
I do apologize for the delay during your late night arrival. Also, I will share your comments with our Food & Beverage team so we can improve in this area. Thank you for the detailed review.
Steve Ferran General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

From our balcony we had a lovely view, could enjoy drinks and breakfast and take great pictures. The bed was wonderful, bedding everything that I wished and the flowers and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting for us in the room prior to our arrival.

Location is fantastic. AC worked great, it is far enough off the very busy FQ crowds that is relatively quiet. Staff was wonderful! Details in room are very nice - but the balcony was the bomb!

Downsides: Pool is small, food a bit overpriced - but you are so close to meals in the quarter, and the happy drinks are not very good. Cocktails are such a hot thing right now, then why do hurricanes and margaritas still taste like they come out of a mix or a box - taste is not good. Go elsewhere for drinks, or even better, hit some of the great restaurants for cocktails worth having.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on Burgundy - rooms facing the courtyard and pool are likely to be far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I appreciate the detailed review you gave us marthadreams. I could not agree with you more about our balcony rooms. Our pool is actually one of the largest within the French Quarter. We will continue to work of those drinks! Thank you for staying with us.
Steve Ferran General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Absolutely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in...and I have stayed in some of the best hotels all over the United States. The Maison DuPuy has a nostalgic charm and is located directly within the French Quarter. Although I enjoyed the beauty of the hotel, I was mostly impressed with the staff. The entire staff was unbelievably accommodating, charming, and pleasant but the concierge Sarah was invaluable! Sarah knew us by name and was honest about what tours and restaurants she thought were best for us. Throughout our trip Sarah made several reservations for us and set-up several tours for us. She truly made our trip easy and a joy! Other wonderful pleasures about the Maison DuPuy was the excellent sound proofing in the rooms, very comfortable beds, and delightful restaurant located directly within the hotel. I truly will never be staying anywhere else in New Orleans! Thank you Maison DuPuy!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us DrDee003. We can’t tell you how much our staff will enjoy hearing your compliments! I will be sure to share your comments with Sarah. Our entire staff takes such pride in providing personalized service.

We look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Steve Ferran General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I love this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, two restaurants, pool, gracious and helpful staff and perfect location. I grew up coming to New Orleans to see family and fell in love with the French Quarter charm and this hotel has plenty of that. I highly recommend this hotel to friends and I stay here ever time I go to New Orleans. I will be back in December to watch my wonderful Saints play ball.

Room Tip: The courtyard view is very nice but so is the roof top view. I prefer the courtyard, its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Your kind praise for our staff is sincerely appreciated and will be passed along to the team Joanna T.
We look forward to welcoming you back in December to our hotel!
Steve Ferran General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was in New Orleans for a meeting and the meeting planner booked the hotel. I was driving and used the valet parking with no problem, but it's expensive at $36 a day. My room was on the 4th floor with a view of the courtyard, which was nice. The room itself was very basic. It was small, which was to be expected due to the age of the hotel. The bathroom is one of the smallest I've ever seen. The door barely cleared the front of the toilet. The room really shows its age, but it was clean. My biggest complaint is that the walls are very thin and I could hear the neighboring room partying at 3 am in the morning when they came back from Bourbon street. You are only 2 blocks away from all the action in the French Quarter. It wasn't a bad experience, but I would probably pick a different hotel if I was choosing the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We appreciate your detailed review of the hotel Maysen. We are excited about our upcoming renovation of the hotel that will give us a completely updated appearance.

I truly do hope that you will visit us once again to experience our new product by this time next year.
Steve Ferran General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Attended a business meeting at this hotel and stayed the night before and the night after. Sales staff was nice to work with in the pre-planning phase. Hotel is in a good location for getting around the French Quarter. Small lobby seems chaotic when very many people are there. Front desk staff helpful and friendly. We had a suite but it was very small, as you might expect in a historic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonDupuyMGT, General Manager at Maison DuPuy, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel Traveler from the Midwest. I will share your remarks with our Sales Team and our Front Office Manager.
Steve Ferran General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison DuPuy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison DuPuy

Address: 1001 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison DuPuy 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Maison DuPuy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Dupuy New Orleans
Maison Dupuy Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison DuPuy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.