We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The epitome of a NOLA hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Le Pavillon Hotel to your Saves list
Le Pavillon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Arlington, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The epitome of a NOLA hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the moment you get out of your auto, you realize that this hotel does it right!
After a warm welcome you walk into the most elegant, charming lobby you can imagine. The staff is attentive, informative and accommodating and from the very moment you arrive you know your short stay will be wonderful....
We ate, drank, relaxed in a roof top cabana next to the pool and ate peanut butter sandwiches (a 60 year tradition) at 10:00 p.m. in the lobby with other guests ....an unexpected treat! Plus took a short cab ride or trolly to all of our other NOLA favorite spots.
The hotel is a little out of the way if a French Quarter experience is why you came to NOLA....but definitely worth it because of the peace and quiet on the week-end. If you are there on business, it is perfectly located.
We will stay in this hotel again, and cannot wait to do so!! Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    399
    116
    63
    35
See reviews for
225
659
75
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beautiful lobby, Room had wonderful high ceiling nice décor touches. Staff was pleasant and helpful. My only reservations were that the parking was too expensive. I thought they had their own parking so I used valet and found out that they just park it 50 ft. away in a public parking lot.
Also not very convenient to anything. You pretty much have to use a cab to get to anything. But because of the local there wasn't as much noise as you would find elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is like a fairytale. The interior decor is amazing. The staff make any bad day melt away. The trip was well worth the drama to get here. Miss Patty Cakes is the best. Love coming to breakfast hearing her singing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

There's plenty of reasons for the excellent ratings and reviews for Le Pavillon. It's a magical place that transports you back in time. I did not see any ghosts and wonder whether the persons saw spirits before or after ingesting spirits.

One quick tip for those driving to the hotel is to make sure you go past the hotel to a light and turn around if you're coming in on I-10 and take the Poydras exit. If you try to cross Poydras at the crossover beside the hotel, before the next light, traffic can make this crossing long and dangerous (especially during rush hour).

Upon arrival, courteous, uniformed doormen, quickly greet you and welcome you to Hotel. This begins first class service that continues until check-out.

Not to miss are the roof top deck, pool, and exercise facility. The roof top views are breathtaking (a cropped version is in the picture I chose to accompany my reviews; including this one).

The hotel is filled with pictures and art worth walking up and down each floor to view. Late night PB & J sandwiches with hot chocolate is a cool tradition also worth checking out.

Great location with the Central Business District, French Quarter, and Warehouse District within walking distance. The Doormen quickly hail cabs for you if needed. Street car on St. Charles is only a city block away - you have to cross Poydras to catch it at the light.

I was also pleasantly surprised how reasonable the rates were during the week. We usually stay in the Quarter where the rates are usually 2-3 times the discounted rate we found online. For the price, quality, and service, Le Pavillon ensures accommodations will not be your problem and might be one of your best memories during your stay in the Big Easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. It's quieter and ours had great windows and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just returned from 4 days in New Orleans. The service at this hotel was amazing. From the moment we arrived the doormen, bellmen, concierges, front desk staff, and restaurant staff could not do enough for us. This a well trained, sophisticated, and sensitive staff. They always were available to answer any question or offer their service. We could not say enough about the people. We were saddened to leave after such a wonderful experience.
It located very close to the French Quarter easy walking distance to most attractions. At night a short cab ride home. City Tours stop close by, as well as Charles St. streetcar. Charming French feel, not like major chains. A real New Orleans experience.

Room Tip: We chose an 8th floor room newly renovated, close to the rooftop pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this Hotel. The rooftop pool is breathtaking!! Everyone is world class and the food is out of this world!! Everything you could ask for is at your fingertips. The peanut butter and jelly sandwich buffet is even over the top classy. Everyone is great!!! Make sure you see Miss Georgia in the dining room, she will make your entire trip! There are so many nice people I feel bad for not mentioning their names also. Please, please stay here. You are within walking distance to everything, or take a cab!!! The trolley also rolls by one block away. We were eight U.S dollars away from, casinos, the Steamboat Natchez, Commander's Palace, You name it!!!!!! Taxi's are so plentiful and cost-effective from this location. Loved everyone and everything about New Orleans and this wonderful Hotel!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you visit the rooftop hotel. Also do not hesitate to ask for a taxi to local attractions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is an absolute gem. From the statues of Peace and Prosperity that greet you at the hotel entrance, to the hand-painted ceilings, the tromp l'oeil poolside, the custom porcelain sinks and the ornate woodwork across from the elevators, you never lose a sense of grandeur while you are staying at Le Pavillon. Although we stayed here for a 3-star price, we received 5-star service at all times. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and a handwritten note to celebrate our wedding anniversary. (The concierge had emailed me after making our reservation to ask about any needs we had before coming to New Orleans and whether we were celebrating any special occasions. I responded and let them know about our anniversary.) The front desk attendant asked whether we would like the Wall Street Journal or USA Today, and when I replied that I'd prefer the New York Times, they accommodated us immediately. When I found myself downstairs without an umbrella, the concierge handed me one to use for the day. The late night snacks are not just a nice touch, but a way to meet others staying at the hotel and mingle with people from different walks of life. If I ever get the chance to stay at Le Pavillon again, I will grab the opportunity. Thank you for making our stay in New Orleans memorable, and thanks to all of the staff who spoiled us. This is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in, and definitely not the most expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter, Le Pavillon is your go-to hotel for the Spring Festival Season. Secure gated parking is available with unlimited in and out privileges. Le Pavillon has been the recipient of TripAdvisor's "Best Hotels on the Web" Award and is consistently rated by TripAdvisor travelers as one of the Top 10 Hotels in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pavillon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.