We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ol' New Orleans Class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Pavillon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Ol' New Orleans Class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a good ol' New Orleans classy hotel. Get a drink at the bar and do take a picture or two in the dining room. It is so beautiful and old school. The Le Pavillon is also a great location. You are just three blocks from the Quarter and only five or six blocks if you want to want go down towards the river.
My room was big and spacious and very comfortable. The front desk staff were very nice as was everyone at the hotel.
Another great stay in the Big Easy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    376
    111
    63
    35
See reviews for
214
621
73
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

From the spacious corridor to the chandeliers, well upholstered seating areas, to your room, you will feel like you are brought back to another era. This is what 5-star should look and feel like. There are no hidden daily or user fees. The fitness and pool areas are clean and maintained, the guest services are wonderful. They will find the answer to all your questions, take care of your needs, and and make you feel welcomed.

The rooms are well maintained, the beds are comfortable with night service of water, cookies and fresh towels.

And if you need that nighttime snack, the corridor area between 10-11pm is the place to be.

And off to a restful night out away from the noise and hustle of the Quarter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We enjoyed our 3 night stay in Le Pavillon Hotel! Although the bath area was showing the age of an older hotel, the overall accommodations were really wonderful. We were within walking distance of everything, which made the visit exciting. The service and staff were outstanding. One thing to be aware of -- the valet service is higher than most -- $35 a day. If we are in NOLA again, Le Pavillon is on our list -- we can't miss the nightly PB&J sandwiches and hot chocolate!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apleton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked a night at this hotel based on Hotels.com app Deal of The Day. The night was right around $140 + $35 for vallet parking (no self-parking available), but most hotels in the area charge that or quite a bit more. The reason we chose this place is because the pictures looked so different from any other "standrard" hotel we could find there.

This place absolutely did not dissapoint. The atmosphere along will take you back. There are huge chandaliers in reception area and marble everywhere. They also have a very beautiful Crystal room where they serve food.

We haven't eaten there, but I hear the food is amazing.

Our room was beautiful, but pretty small....which is to be expected when staying at the hotel in downtown. The TV wasn't working very well, so we called front desk to send someone over. The rapair guy was there literally in under 5 minutes and fixed the problem immediately.

My favorite part of the hotel was the bath/shower-room. You will absolutely love it:)

If you feel like taking a dip in the pool, they have an amazing pool area right on the roof of the hotel. There's also a hot-tub, but the night we were there it didn't look the cleanest, so we passed on that.

The staff was very attentive and friendly.

The hotel is walking distance from French Quarters and if you know the parking situation in Downtown, you will appreciate the fact that you can just leave your car with valet and explore French Quarter without worrying about finding a spot every 2 hrs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A beautiful, grand New Orleans hotel with an exemplary staff. Everyone from the valet, Quin at the front desk, Louis the bellhop and our bartender were all top-notch. We booked a great online rate and then upgraded to a Junior Suite at check-in -- well worth it. Missed out on the PB&J Reception as we were out-and-about in the Quarter, but took full advantage of the breakfast buffet the following morning. Excellent omelettes and French Toast. Would (will) stay here again the next time we're in NOLA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Le Pavillon Hotel has to be the most lovely hotel we've ever visited. The staff was extremely friendly, and you can't beat the beauty of the public areas. Our room was nice, too. The issue came with the beds. We had a room with two queen beds. Our bed was rock hard. Neither my husband nor I got ANY sleep and got up exhausted the next day. Maybe this has not been a problem for others, as New Orleans is a party city. People either stay up all night or go to bed too drunk to notice? lol At any rate, as a family we had to get some sleep. Didn't happen. All the beauty in the world doesn't make up for an incredibly uncomfortable place to rest our heads. As much as I would like to go back for the ambiance, can't do it because they need to update the bedding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is amazing! It is gorgeous inside and out. The huge chandeliers are amazing. The service is impeccible. Everyone who works there are so friendly and helpful. The rooftop pool and hot tub area is great and provides amazing views of the city. The location is good too. A short walk to The French Quarter so you are close to the action but not too close. And to top it off they have a free peanut butter and jam sandwich and hot chocolate bar every night from 10-11pm that was very yummy. The hot chocolate was some of the best I've ever tasted. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter, Le Pavillon is your go-to hotel for the Spring Festival Season. Secure gated parking is available with unlimited in and out privileges. Le Pavillon has been the recipient of TripAdvisor's "Best Hotels on the Web" Award and is consistently rated by TripAdvisor travelers as one of the Top 10 Hotels in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pavillon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.