We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect meeting place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Pavillon Hotel to your Saves list
Le Pavillon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“the perfect meeting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Organized a last minute conference for 40 advisors at the Le Pavilion. The staff at the hotel was perfect. Gwenn in Catering, Paul our Banquet Manager and Lisa in reservations help put this together in a matter of days. We were booked to use the Bienville Complex however Paul moved our meeting to the a much larger conference room.
Reservations were easily made with the help of Lisa. In addition to facilitating reservations from attendees in 6 countries, she made certain that they got the best available rooms at check in. Many were upgraded to deluxe rooms with no extra charge.
The hotel is spectacular. The staff is outstanding and most gracious. With its location in the CBD, it is close enough to the French Quarter to walk but far enough to avoid the riff- raff. The hotel is truly a gem

Room Tip: Ask at check-in, the front desk is very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    449
    130
    67
    36
See reviews for
253
755
84
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Le Pavillion was a big factor in making our stay in New Orleans special. In a city where things can be pretty, shall we say, smelly and dirty (French Quarter and Bourbon Street), Le Pavillion is a refined luxury. It is part of the Leading Hotels of the World group and on the National Historic Register. The staff is delightful, helpful and well trained. The rooms are gorgeous. The Crystal Room Sunday Brunch is wonderful, and the rooftop pool and spa are quiet and offer a nice view of the city. Enjoy your stay while in New Orleans. It's a wonderful city, like no other.

Room Tip: Try not to be near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Always have to take a property that is over 100 years old with a grain of salt (small rooms,bathrooms) this property was nice overall. Moderately friendly staff, good fitness center with fresh fruit, cold water and rooftop pool area. Had breakfast one morning - nice but not the best (table area was dirty as was the utensils). The location is good for biz and French Quarter (close and quiet) Again NOLA is about the charm and culture of this city so if the hotel is the focus of your experience you missed out on a great town to explore. Plenty of huge box properties nearby. PB&J at 10pm in the lobby is priceless! Thanks for a nice stay I will return.

Room Tip: Highfloor - 9th floor also has walking access to pool and fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, AZ
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here last week for five nights when we visited NOLA for the Jazz Festival. My husband and I always look for small, boutique-type hotels and this seemed to fit the bill. The hotel is a historical property, the common rooms, bar and especially the dining room are really beautiful. The front desk staff was very friendly and the concierge was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.
Rooms and bathrooms are clean and well-appointed, but small. The bed was very comfortable, they must have upgraded their mattresses because we didn't experience anything like some of the previous reviewers.
The hotel is in a perfect location - walking distance to the French Quarter and two blocks from the St. Charles streetcar which leads to the Garden District.
My husband had informed the hotel that it was my birthday, and when we came home one night, there was a tray on the bed with a beautiful chocolate cake and champagne! It was a lovely touch.
My only complaint was with the "$20.00" breakfast buffet. We decided to have the buffet and were shown to a wonderful table near the window. When we were seated, the waiter asked if we would like coffee or juice, we ordered both. When we received the bill, it was almost $30.00 per person for the buffet. When we inspected the bill, we discovered that we were charged for the coffee and juice. We were surprised, having eaten at many, many breakfast buffets and brunches over the years, we have never once been charged for coffee or juice. At the very least, the waiters should tell people this up front.
I would probably stay at this hotel again, but there are certainly better places to have breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here for my Girlfriends birthday for 4 nights. This hotel is reasonably priced and decorated in old French antiques that really set the mood for my first visit to New Orleans! The staff was incredibly helpful as well courteous. As for location, the hotel couldnt be situated in a better location and still be quiet and peaceful. Being just inside the Business district meant that the hotel is close to all the action and the Canal Street Trolleys, yet still in an area that calms down and goes to sleep at night! My only complaint would be the restaurant. with so much fantastic food in NOLA dont bother to eat at the hotel, at least for dinner, it was underwhelming. Oh yeah, check out the rooftop pool too!! Its not made for doing laps, but has an amazing view of the city!

Room Tip: If youre into ghosts this hotel is supposedly haunted. Their "official" report says there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed here during Jazz Fest. It is a beautufully-appointed, small hotel with smart, attentive, and friendly staff. Our room was small but it was large enough for our purposes. We found that everything we wanted to do was within walking distance or only a short cab ride away. And, though we usually steer clear of hotel food, a sudden torrential downpour upon our arrival at the hotel prompted us to eat the lunch buffet which was very tasty (big thumbs up for the baked fish and bread pudding). Breakfast there was good too - outstanding buttermilk biscuits. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed here for 8 days woken up 3 of those days at 06.15 by staff setting up meeting rooms banging in the kitchen and trollies running back and forth outside the rooms and the management did next to nothing and did not keep refund promise.why they have rooms on this floor I just dont understand apart from it making them money there is no thought for the customer.rooms look good but very poor cleaning dirty laundry covered in dust had been there years behind draws under TV so if anything of yours drops behind like mine just throw it away.

most of staff are ok food ok rooms ok location ok but do not book a room on the 2nd floor walls are paper thin so expect to here all that goes on next to you and you would not have the noise to put up with at 06.15 in the morning if I returned to New Orleans I would stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: dont touch the 2nd floor if you want to sleep or just choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter, Le Pavillon is your go-to hotel for the Spring Festival Season. Secure gated parking is available with unlimited in and out privileges. Le Pavillon has been the recipient of TripAdvisor's "Best Hotels on the Web" Award and is consistently rated by TripAdvisor travelers as one of the Top 10 Hotels in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pavillon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.