We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy but delicious ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welty's Deli

Welty's Deli
336 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2827 (Central Business District)
504-592-0223
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #458 of 1,514 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pricy but delicious ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

These people sure know how to make a sandwich. I had the rueben and it set the standard, which is pretty high. The staff is friendly and the place is clean. It's expensive but so worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, N.Y.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot operated by charming owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Welty's was a great lunch spot during a recent business trip to New Orleans - so much so that I went back twice...and sent friends, who also returned! Special menu items are offered daily but everything is super fresh, prepared to order, and delicious! I particularly liked their Muffaletta, served on the perfect, warm crusty bread and stacked high with thinly sliced, delicious meats - their olive mix topping was superb! The gumbo was also delicious as were their salads - with a nice variety of lettuce, ripe tomatoes, sprouts, and a yummy house dressing. Don't miss their homemade lemonades - raspberry and mango! Take out is available and you can call ahead - the place gets busy (and understandably so!) Lovely space to eat inside with several tables and chairs. Owners work behind the counter and are so warm and welcoming you can't help but want to return again and again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Right in the heart of the central business district, this restaurant offers a fresh and eclectic menu with daily favorites. Sandwiches fill the heartiest of appetites and daily specials keep going back an exciting experience with surprises.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem! Friendly staff, great quality food for a good price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I spent the summer in America on the East Coast, and did a bit of traveling afterwards... I sound like I'm over exaggerating when I say this but this was probably the best food I had all summer! Great value, great service, great quality proper food and I definitely recommend the refill home made lemonade.

I'm craving your food now, all the way from Manchester, England... maybe we can set up a delivery? ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This place has the best vegetarian sandwich in New Orleans, hands down! The proportion was great. I had the best experience and the restaurant is quite cozy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welty's Deli also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Welty's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welty's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.