We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quaint and Intimate Piece of New Orleans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International House Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added International House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International House Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Riverdale
1 review
“A Quaint and Intimate Piece of New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

From the moment you step into the lobby you are transported to a relaxed and romantic atmosphere. The fragrant oil lamps and smooth sounds of J Boogie Dubtronic Science infuses your senses. To the left, OMG... is an intimate candlelit hideaway with comfy couches and bar. The king size bed room is equipped with a great size bathroom with a comfortable bed. The location is great, in walking distance of all the action. But by far the best part of the hotel is Jonathan and staff. They were very accommodating and knowledgeable of the area. Even though this hotel may not have some of the amenities you will find in others, I left feeling like family and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    228
    71
    48
    30
See reviews for
69
345
50
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London/Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice hotel - very pungent lobby upon arrival (aromatherapy candles and such). The check-in staff were welcoming and helpful, they upgraded us upon arrival from a rockstar windowless to a rockstar windowful (or whatever it was called - it had a window). It seems that maybe they do this often if they have space, so if you think you're booking off-peak and don't mind the gamble, I would book a windowless and hope for an upgrade.

The room was very nice. Very clean. Big enough but not ridiculous. The bathroom was good. There was a photo of a jazz dude on the wall and a nice little view out to the river. Cool!

We only stayed two nights, but we very much enjoyed our stay. It's just a few blocks from the French Quarter, which I think is about as close as you'd really want to stay to avoid traffic and crowds.

Room Tip: If booking off-peak, maybe gamble for a windowless room because they seem to frequently upgrade peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights during the Essence Music Festival. Room was basic with a very large bathroom. Room was very clean and linens were very clean.

Room we booked with king size bed was given away. When we asked about it they said nothing could be done as they were fully booked. They also didn't attempt to credit us any difference in rates.

Staff were VERY VERY friendly - especially the dreadlock bell hop. He gave us great details about the city and overall great conversation..

Best highlight of our trip was a complimentary Hennessy brunch party. That was lovely!!! Food was great and so was the atmosphere. No restaurant is in this hotel which is also a little inconvenient.

Hotel is in great location though in terms of walking to Bourbon, Convention center, super dome, French Market etc...

Sour point was thy began renovating our floor the day before we left WITHOUT ANY NOTICE. All we knew we came back and met the walls being painted, plastic on the floor and ALL Door signage removed. The workers began drilling 8a the next morning!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in 412 which was nicely tucked away from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the main reasons why we chose International House was because it was not listed on the bed bug registry of hotels. It has a very friendly staff and has an attractive, clean lobby. The shower stalls are huge and the beds are comfy. While there is a bar, there are no breakfast services, so we walked to the nearby CVS and picked up waters and breakfast foods. They also let us check out one hour later (1:00PM instead of 12:00PM) for no extra fee. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights here recently and enjoyed it. The location is brilliant - not in the mania of French Quarter but only a 5 minute walk away which worked well. We had very hot weather and it was a shame that the hotel has no outdoor space - that would be my main criticism. the room was comfortable, nothing particularly exciting but fine and clean. The restaurant was closed for refurbishment whilst we were there but we would probably have chosen to eat breakfast out anyway - but i think it will be good to have that open again. The staff at reception were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

During my stay, all of the people working at IH were nice. The hotel itself was recently redone, so it is trendy. The King Room was pretty small, but nice -- particularly for an older hotel that was remodeled. The bed was comfy. And, the location was convenient.

The problem is that the walls are really thin! I woke up the first night/morning thinking someone was actually in my room with me (since I was in my own room, this was alarming/confusing). But, it was the people next door talking. So this drawback ties into the weird crowd comment.... because, I don't know if it was just the weekend I was there, but there was a "convention" of some kind. It involved men in bikinis and women wearing leather-next-to-nothing something or others. I am not easily shocked/offended but all weekend long these people were dressed in the most bizarre way and their behavior matched the attire. It made for a loud stay. That isn't really the fault of the hotel, but it seemed that the trendy/affordable hotel maybe catered to the party crowd. I know, it's Nola, but this was beyond expectations even for a party city during non-marti gras times. Anyhow, nobody working there seemed to flinch at the "convention" people even when two guys almost came to blows in the lobby one night over one of the women. It was very odd.

I might stay again and just bring ear plugs since it was affordable. But, I really wouldn't stay there with kids. It is a little too "trendy" for that. (Also, parking is a real pain.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a gem in the New Orleans Crown. Only a block from the French Quarters and in the middle of the CBD this small hotel is a great respite. With only a hundred or so rooms the staff is always available and helpful. The candle lit bar is quiet and romantic with outstanding cocktails and a bar staff well up to the challenge. The only drawback is that they don't currently have a restaurant but serve complimentary European coffee in the lobby.

Room Tip: "Apple" rooms are great for tec savvy travelers and business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Address: 221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.