We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, simple hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added International House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
International House Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Love
Ranked #54 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cranston, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean, simple hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the main reasons why we chose International House was because it was not listed on the bed bug registry of hotels. It has a very friendly staff and has an attractive, clean lobby. The shower stalls are huge and the beds are comfy. While there is a bar, there are no breakfast services, so we walked to the nearby CVS and picked up waters and breakfast foods. They also let us check out one hour later (1:00PM instead of 12:00PM) for no extra fee. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    250
    77
    52
    30
See reviews for
70
372
53
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights here recently and enjoyed it. The location is brilliant - not in the mania of French Quarter but only a 5 minute walk away which worked well. We had very hot weather and it was a shame that the hotel has no outdoor space - that would be my main criticism. the room was comfortable, nothing particularly exciting but fine and clean. The restaurant was closed for refurbishment whilst we were there but we would probably have chosen to eat breakfast out anyway - but i think it will be good to have that open again. The staff at reception were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

During my stay, all of the people working at IH were nice. The hotel itself was recently redone, so it is trendy. The King Room was pretty small, but nice -- particularly for an older hotel that was remodeled. The bed was comfy. And, the location was convenient.

The problem is that the walls are really thin! I woke up the first night/morning thinking someone was actually in my room with me (since I was in my own room, this was alarming/confusing). But, it was the people next door talking. So this drawback ties into the weird crowd comment.... because, I don't know if it was just the weekend I was there, but there was a "convention" of some kind. It involved men in bikinis and women wearing leather-next-to-nothing something or others. I am not easily shocked/offended but all weekend long these people were dressed in the most bizarre way and their behavior matched the attire. It made for a loud stay. That isn't really the fault of the hotel, but it seemed that the trendy/affordable hotel maybe catered to the party crowd. I know, it's Nola, but this was beyond expectations even for a party city during non-marti gras times. Anyhow, nobody working there seemed to flinch at the "convention" people even when two guys almost came to blows in the lobby one night over one of the women. It was very odd.

I might stay again and just bring ear plugs since it was affordable. But, I really wouldn't stay there with kids. It is a little too "trendy" for that. (Also, parking is a real pain.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a gem in the New Orleans Crown. Only a block from the French Quarters and in the middle of the CBD this small hotel is a great respite. With only a hundred or so rooms the staff is always available and helpful. The candle lit bar is quiet and romantic with outstanding cocktails and a bar staff well up to the challenge. The only drawback is that they don't currently have a restaurant but serve complimentary European coffee in the lobby.

Room Tip: "Apple" rooms are great for tec savvy travelers and business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were in New Orleans for a conference which was taking place in the Hyatt. We booked the International Hotel and it turned out to be perfect - just on the edge of the French Quarter so fabulous location - quiet street so no noise at night.
The hotel is very stylish and although it doesn't have a restaurant that is absolutely no problem as there are heaps of great restaurants nearby. I did miss having a safe in the room but apart from that it seemed to have everything else.
When we saw the Hyatt we were delighted we weren't staying there as its out of the way and is so big it looks like an airport terminal building

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Overall I had a good experience at this hotel. The room was very clean and quiet, and the staff was helpful and accommodating. They let us check in earlier than the scheduled check-in time and check out later than the scheduled check-out time due to our flight times. The hotel is an easy walk to the French Quarter, and there are quite a few restaurants nearby. The area felt pretty safe overall. If I were to travel to New Orleans in the future I would stay at this hotel again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time I stayed at the International House because I wanted to try something outside of the French Quarter. The hotel is lovely, modern, & small with top rate service. There is no restaurant on site, just a small bar, the LOA that makes interesting drinks. The rooms are kept very clean. Another asset is that Streetcars and buses are conveniently located. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Address: 221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.