We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International House Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added International House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International House Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Cleveland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here in mid April 2013, the weekend before Jazz Fest. The location, near to the French Quarter & streetcar lines, was great. The room was nice, with high ceilings, but the bathroom was very cookie cutter; not really you'd expect in a boutique hotel. The noise from the street was noticeable, they would benefit from some double glazed, noise reducing glass.
The desk staff were very helpful & friendly. Beautiful lobby too.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    222
    71
    48
    29
See reviews for
68
341
49
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with friends for the weekend. Our friends opted for valet parking but were told their car could not be found Sunday morning, when they were ready to leave. The Valet service eventually located their car, but never found the key fob. After hours of waiting, they were told they would have to stay another night until a replacement fob could be located. They were promised a free meal, change of clothes, free bar and of course no room charge for the 3rd night. However, the only reimbursement they received was for parking. Not only will I think twice about valet parking the next time, I will stay somewhere else on my next visit to New Orleans.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

1 block from the French quarter, so ideally located for visiting New Orleans, yet quiet enough to not be disturbed by late night revelry. Liked the boutique style, but still quite a small hotel, with a bar but no food. Not really a problem as there are many restaurants within striking distance. Good compromise choice if visiting for a weekend break and reasonable rates.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is very elegant and chic and the staff is extremely helpful. The lounge/bar was fantastic (really cool drinks and location right in the corner of the building, good street views, impressive bar set up). The rooms were very clean!!

However, the rooms, and the hotel in fact, felt very small. And it had a strange soapy smell throughout the halls (not a bad thing I guess!) The window in our room has NO view (only the neighboring building and a small sliver of the sky).

Over night parking is $38, but if you northeast down Gravier (the building around the corner from IH), they have overnight parking is $28.

No pool or spa :(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byram, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hubby and I were sitting around and decided to go on a date 7:00pm on a Wednesday. We ended up in New Orleans. While looking for a place to stay online, we happened upon the International House. IT WAS AN AWESOME CHOICE!! The hotel is walking distance to the french quarter, casino, and canal street. THE SERVICE was awesome, valet always had our car promptly after we called for it. The bar is ecletic and eccentric; the cocktails are something to try! It seems this is the place that people come to wind down. The rooms were nice and clean, however I couldn't find a ice machine on my floor. If anything this place needs a restaurant.

Room Tip: Be prepared for the $32.00 a day valet parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Decent place at a decent price. It is an older building with some neat architecture. It is less than a 5 min walk to the quarter, and a block away from trolley stops, so location was good. The room we stayed in was a queen size, paid 159/night. The only option thru the hotel for parking was $32/day for them to valet your car. They did get the car whenever I wanted it. The room was clean, had a bed, chair, armoire with a tv, and very small table, the room was kind of small. No couch, coffee machine. The bathroom was large and nice. The associates there were very friendly and helpful! There is a small bar on ground floor, I believe there was a restaurant but I never saw that it was open.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent location, walking to Jackson Square, Bourbon St, etc. Very clean with such pleasant personnel. The lobby provides a laid back comfortable atmosphere and an elegant good size bar to meet friends and other guests. The owner has a great sense of the arts with the decor, you can tell he's a local.

Room Tip: Rooms are good size, baths are clean with a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Address: 221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.