We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary on Thanksgiving 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of International House Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added International House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International House Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary on Thanksgiving 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Overall, the hotel was nice. Helpful staff, good looking guys with trendy headsets, fast valet, cosy ambiance, pleasant smell (they burn real candles in the evening) and very comfortable chairs in lobby. Didn't try the bar though.

We have upgraded to an "apple king" suite upon arrival - more roomy but no view, only smarter neighbors from La Quinta. Apple TV (main thing in Apple King) didn't work. Walls in the room have scratches and marks. Old phone :) Funny, this is a boutique hotel, you pay boutique price and get an old, beige, very used phone with yellow paper tags for numbers. Also found hair from previous guests on hairdryer (not properly attached to the wall also, scratches all around). Hook on the bathroom door was broken. Too rustic for the modern hotel. Non boutique mattress at all. It has a really hard edge so if you sit on it, and your feet are on the floor - it will hurt you legs.

I booked this hotel for our anniversary trip, that's why i wanted something special and its photos on web site were amazing... And they are actually true I must say...with small exceptions that can ruin the whole picture if you have high expectations. So be prepared - boutique hotel but only in the evening when your vision is limited and you had a drink or two.

Our friends stayed nearby for 100$ cheaper per night - limited window view (almost the same), location on canal street (the same), same valet park price and an "old style" rooms which I was concerned about, but it turns out they are very cute. And bathroom - bathroom was all granite - floor and walls. And we, in boutique hotel, had white tile with cracked grout. :))

Regardless, We had a great time in NOLA , spent only 6 hours per day at the hotel and had no need for Apple TV.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    221
    70
    47
    28
See reviews for
67
334
49
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the IH in New Orleans over Thanksgiving 2012 for 4 nights. The place is really nice - the lobby is very chic, the bar at the lobby is cozy and prepares great drinks.
Our room in the 3rd floor was what we expected of a boutique hotel - not a large room, but very conmfortable with a great bed and nice furnishings.
The only issue was the noise - the third floor is too close to ground level, and it was hard to sleep without earplugs. Our friends stayed at the Penthouse level (technically 12 floor) and they did not hear any noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, it gets noisy in the lower ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed 6 nights in October during a convention and I chose it on one hand based on the vast number of good reviews and on the other hand because it was somewhat cheaper (220 usd plus tax) than the headquarter hotels of the convention. It was the worst experience I could ever have.
Ok, the reception and the adjacent bar have a certain atmosphere but this is it. The hotel has a heavy smell of mould, which was immediately noticed also by a few friends who visited me. It is embodied in everything. Even my clothes which were in my suitcase and in individual clothes-bags didn't escape the same fate. The furniture and the bathroom are outdated and worn out. The mini fridge could not keep even a small bottle of water cool.

NO ROOM SERVICE AVAILABLE and a broken phone too! I had to dress myself up at 1am to inform the reception that loud noise was coming from next door. By the way terrible building construction. I could hear and feel (by means of my bed shaking as it was adjacent to the wall) the intimate moments of next-door occupants. The shower was faulty and didn’t disperse the water. Therefore you had a high pressured column of water literally hitting you. Do I need to add more?! Is this considered a boutique hotel? By no means.

To be fair, I have to mention 2-3 positive things. It is very close to the French Quarter, (however many other hotels are too). Nice flat TV with a variety of channels, Aveedo amenities (yet no shower gel, just soap, highly inconvenient), iHome player, comfortable bed (though with mouldy smell) and spacious bathroom.

During the convention the prices of the New Orleans hotels’ in general were really high, but this hotel is not worth more than 80-90 usd per night. Avoid it.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a high floor to avoid noise coming from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed our location, comfy bed and Aveda ammenities. We took great time and energy in researching and purchasing the best products that we could. Our phone system is in the middle of an upgrade and will be done by the end of the year. It has taken us a bit longer than expected. We do hope that you will visit us again so that you can easily stroll to the French Quarter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stay here every time we come to town. It is a great boutique hotel located in a perfect part of town for those not needing to sleep in the French Quarter. An easy walk gets you there as well as to the Superdome. The hotel itself is nicely decorated and has a great candlelit bar in the lobby with lovely bartenders that know how to do it right. The staff is always awesome and attentive. Highly recommended place to stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The International House Hotel, in New Orleans, Louisiana. Is one of the most enjoyable hotels I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. The ambiance is incredible, comfortable and perfect for a New Orleans stay. The employees are all so fantastic to work with. Loa, the hotel bar, is one of my favorite in the whole city.

Most importantly, the rooms are beautiful! This is our second stay at the International House and we've stayed in the luxurious "corner king" rooms both times. The bed is so comfortable I didn't want to leave and with the corner kings, you're bathed in beautiful light when the curtains are open.

I would recomend this hotel to anyone, whether you're coming in from out of town, or local and just want to experience a perfect weekend escape!

Room Tip: The corner kings are amazing! Spacious and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The International House is well-located for a visit to New Orleans. Plenty of everything within two blocks of the place, but it's easy to walk to the Quarter or hop on the streetcar from there, too.

The rooms are tiny. Tiny. We upgraded from a room without windows to one that had a window, and it was basically a bed, two side tables and a recessed cupboard for our things. When going to New Orleans, being in the room isn't the point, but if you care about having space, this won't be the place for you.

Still, the bed slept well, and the room was relatively quiet in a city of perpetual partying.

The bathroom was great. Aveda products and a soaking tub with soft towels and a night light that kept me from running into things in the middle of the night.

Other reviewers have noted some of these things, but I will as well. No room service, which was fine with us. No room to store your own water in the mini bar if you care about drinking it cold. Great wifi. The lobby is a scene, and the bar was decent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The location is excellent and staff friendly and helpful. I love the beautiful building and the beds are very comfortable. Wish there were coffee in the rooms. I stayed two nights and the maid service didn't appear once. However, this is one of my favorite hotels in New Orleans and I choose to stay there often.

Room Tip: I love the windowless rock star rooms! It is dark and eliminates some of the infamous New Orleans st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Address: 221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.