We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Welcome Refuge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International House Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added International House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International House Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a Welcome Refuge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a conference in New Orleans this weekend and stayed at the International House just two blocks outside of the Quarter. It continues to be one of our favorite small hotels with reasonable rates, an excellent staff who are careful to keep things "understated" yet charming and attentive, Aveeda products to allow one to indulge at bathtime, a lobby bar that remains enticing, friendly and great for "people watching" after a busy day about town, and that same welcoming feel and attention to cleanliness that we have come to expect and much appreciate. If you are looking for a well-located small hotel with charm and unobtrustive service you will find the International House to be the right choice in New Orleans - a welcome refuge from the surrounding hussle and bussle...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    223
    71
    48
    31
See reviews for
68
343
50
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great Hotel to stay at! Friendly and a very helpful staff. Nice rooms with comfortable beds. Location also a plus and walking distance to many attractions. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I just returned from my first trip to NOLA. My friend and I try to stay in two different locations/hotels when we travel to get a feel for different areas. The lobby is beautiful, and the front desk very helpful and friendly. When we settled in our room, i noticed that the hallway carpet was soaked. Called the front desk and they were very accommodating to move us to a new room. They said that maybe it was just steam cleaned? We decided to stay. Then we noticed that there was a leak in the wall in the bathroom that maybe was causing the water. They didn't send anyone to investigate until the next morning. Felt that I had to mention it a few times to the staff and not sure if it was ever investigated while we were there? Other than that, the room was clean but looked tired. Not a lot of furniture. Housekeeping did not clean or even enter the room in on the second day so we had to reuse all of the towels. The Aveda products are nice but extremely tiny. I have never seen such a small bar of soap. Not sure if I would stay again? Wasn't awful but a I have been in better places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our service and Aveda products. We are sorry that we had to move you to another room during your stay. We did have an issue with the room above yours and their overflowing tub and just hate that it affected your visit. We do hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This is now our second stay at this hotel and I believe each year that we visit this will be our hotel of choice. Everyone from the doorman to the receptionist at the desk was friendly and helpful. It says alot about the hotel that you still see the same faces from the previous year that still work there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great hotel, we were accommodated throughout our stay. The staff was the best and very friendly, there is no better place to stay in New Orleans this place is within walking distance of everything.Our room was very stylish and housekeeping seemed fine. The bed was very comfortable and there are nice Aveda toiletries. The staff would deliver ice to room any time of the day or night. They turned us on to the best places to eat. Assist us with directions and transportation.This is my new home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

In terms of style, location and service I found this hotel great. I stayed at this hotel for 1 night and booked last minute. For the price I was very happy. We arrived early and were offered a free upgrade as our original room booked was not ready. The bar downstairs opens at 4.00pm and is fantastic for drinks after 11pm. The bar tender is Amazing, some of the nicest cocktails I have had plus he recommends a twist to the standard cocktails.

The hotel is within walking distance to the french quarter and frenchman street as well as bourbon. We will be returning as a fresh style, cleanliness and location are the 3 major qualities I look for in any hotel.

Negative:

There was a problem with the hot water during our stay and there was no mini bar. However the mini bar was not a concern as we preferred to have a drink at the bar on the ground level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the International House back in May for three nights on our first trip to NOLA. We were in NOLA for a wedding and while we spent a lot of time at the Grand Sonesta where the festivities were held, we were so pleased that we stayed at the International House and had such a lovely stay for a fraction of the price (we booked at a good rate about 10 weeks before our stay). We were pleased to have received a complimentary upgrade and our suite was a corner unit with a great view. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and well appointed. The bed was also very comfortable. The location was great for us, a very close walk just over Canal Street to the French Quarter but also less noisy than staying on Bourbon St. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed having a drink in the beautiful bar off the lobby. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Address: 221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;