We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added International House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
International House Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Though it was a short trip for me, it was so a pleasure to stay at this hotel! The staff was friendly and accommodating! I had a business meeting there and the staff recommended a local restaurant to do the catering who did a admirable job. The ease of working with both. Loa Bar is a must see! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    232
    73
    50
    30
See reviews for
69
354
51
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckhead, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012


This was the first time saying at IH but i have stayed at the sister property and have visited the bar  on a trip moths prior.  The staff is the same at both properties.  When we pulled up Everyone remembered us and made us feel very special.  We had 2 free drinks at the coolest bar I have ever been too Loa.  
The room was very clean, the bath room is spacious, and I love the location.  I'm already planing my next trip and it will be hard to decide which property to choose both are sooo very cool.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is a two-die far wow facto. The service at this hotel was great and the ambience was great. the hotel was clean and priced right. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends, family and visitors. I would definitely

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

First of all, the location is great. Pretty close to the French Quarter and all that this means (restaurants, bars, etc.).

The lobby is quite impressive, too. I loved the high ceilings and furniture. We did not get to try the bar (which seemed to have some interesting cocktails), which was a bit of a shame.

The issue for myself and my wife was the customer service. To be frank, it was rather disappointing to say the least. However, based upon how we witnessed other guests being treated, I suppose it had something to do with us.

Both of us are really well traveled (international and domestically) and like to try different hotels. We have stayed in a variety of hotels, but do like to support the smaller independents whenever possible. During our previous trip to N.O., we saw International House and thought that we would give that a try on our next trip.

I wish we had not bothered.

Our biggest problem was that the customer service (when applied to us) was close to a disgrace. We were basically treated like lepers which translated into being ignored, given a small room which felt somewhat separated from the rest of the hotel, and that was around the corner from open construction (which we were not told about). I was on the verge of canceling the reservation and looking for somewhere else. However, we decided that as we were only in town for two days, we would suck it up. The room, thankfully, was clean enough (the furniture was shabby, though), and we are not high-maintenance hotel guests. We were in town primarily to enjoy New Orleans and we made sure the hotel did not affect this.

Personally, I would not stay at International House again. There are too many other choices in New Orleans. However, we did see that other guests were treated quite nicely by the staff so I guess it would work for some. It is in a great location and the rates were reasonable. The rooms (and hotel in general) could do with a slight update, but I can see what other reviewers are talking about when they say that they have a certain charm. If we were treated with a bit more respect, I would have given a higher rating. However, when you are a paying guest, being treated professionally should not ever be an issue. It is particularly galling when it is obvious the lack of quality service was based on racial issues.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not around the corner from open construction. Ask about it at the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
The International House is proud of many firsts. In 1952, it was the first World Trade Center in the World. In 1998, we created the first boutique hotel in New Orleans. It remains the first hotel in New Orleans owned in part by African Americans. Five women are also owners. We hired the then only female General Manager in the entire 38,000 hotel room industry. Every department head is a woman, a few white, others black and some hispanic. We sponsored a local AIDS memorial. We offered to host and pay for an entire prom for Mississippi students who were discriminated against. We seek no credit. It is the simply the code we live by.

For a guest to suggest that they were discriminated against is simply not true. I would like to hear from you if you would like to contact me. areimer@ihhotel.com or 504-553-9550.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

When you walk into the lobby you get a very good impression. It has nice design and is great for lounging. The staff so helpful and friendly, from recommending off the beaten path restaurants to showing me were I should driving to get a little local swamp culture. SUPER SUPER staff Valets to Reception.
This is why they get 4 stars instead of 5 stars. The Rooms. They are too normal and plain. Until I got the room I thought I was in a really cool boutique hotel. When I entered the room it was like entering a comfort inn. The room was very clean and large, but so boring...
Having said that; I would still go back and stay for the great staff alone.
Oh... Keep the bar open later (if the law allows).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time back to International House and it was just as good as the first time. The location is great, staff is friendly, beds are comfy (very important after a day of lots of walking) and the lobby bar was a cool place to have a pre-dinner drink. Can't wait to come back next year!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Overal experience at the international house was spectacular!! The staff was great, making the stay that much better! Guys, if you are looking for a romantic place to take your lady, this place is second to none. The sexy atmosphere in the rooms, spa, lobby, and bar area will make any woman happy! If your looking to impress, this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Address: 221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.