We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added International House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
International House Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a good boutique hotel. Staff helpful without being fawning, which can sometimes happen in America. Great location for the French Quarter or anything else you want to do in NOLA. Rooms are funky without being overdone. Bathrooms clean. Rooms are quiet to a point but could benefit from double glazing. A room safe would be good. All in all, it helped to make my NOLA stay memorable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    232
    73
    50
    30
See reviews for
69
354
51
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

As a local and as someone who has stayed at the International House on several occasions. I feel it's one of the best hotels we have in the area. The Lobby and LOA bar are incredible. Rooms are clean, well sized and have a very appealing decor. Beds are huge and comfortable. I recommend it to anyone I know staying in the city. I also recommend it for people who don't want to deal with the mess and noise of the hotels in the Quarter. If you are in our city looking "for the New Orleans vibe" this is probably not the hotel for you, but if you are looking for a posh and comfortable stay this is the best.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I traveled to New Orleans late May 2012. This boutique hotel is perfectly located on the quiet side of Canal street just blocks from everything you want with very little of the noise. The hotel has a modern decor and an unique bar in the lobby where the bartenders pride themselves on mixing any number of drinks with ingredients you would never combine.

Upon our arrival we checked in with no issues and were taken quickly to our room. The room was clean, comfortable, and well appointed. For me the most important aspect of any hotel is the bed, and the International House did not disappoint. The King size bed was very comfortable, with high thread count sheets and nice full pillows. The bathroom was a large and covered in tile and granite. The shower was full size, but the shower head in our room was ready for replacement.

The location is fantastic. We were able to walk to many of the shops, restaurants, casino, and bars. We were on the third floor and experienced no noise issues during our entire stay.

The service was questionable. One more than one occasion we were unable to get the front desk to bring us ice, and when we came down to get it ourselves the attendant acted inconvenienced by our request. The majority of the staff appeared to be college age students who often seamed distracted or indifferent to customer service. While this wouldn't keep me from returning, it certainly was worth mentioning. Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

On a recent trip to New Orleans my husband and I stayed here for one night for our anniversary. The hotel decor is lovely, the lobby and bar being highlights, and all the fresh herbs and fruits on the bar smelt amazing! We were offered an upgrade from a panoramic corner king to a terrace room for an extra $10, which we took (though subsequently realised that we only saving $10 anyway!) and the room was really nice, the terrace was a bonus in the New Orleans heat. The staff however generally did not live up to the hotel's aspirations, the barman being possibly the rudest we have ever met. We were contemplating eating in the restaurant but it was completely empty and so we went elsewhere. Generally we got the perception that everyone is just taking the place a little too seriously and trying to be too cool, at the expense of warm, friendly service (except the bellman who was nice) and, given the price, we would not stay here again. Could be great if the staff were told to relax and learn some customer service!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We take great pride in our service and are so very sorry that we let you down. All of your comments are taken very seriously and we will learn from them. Thank you and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the International House at least 8 times, both before and after Katrina. Over the years we have tried the Windsor Court and the Loew's, but have concluded that the International House is the best hotel for us in New Orleans. The location is superb - an easy short walk to the French Quarter, but outside the craziness and noise.The lobby is fabulous. It's just the right mix of funky and luxurious without being fussy. It has character. We usually stay in a corner room on an upper floor. The rooms are lovely and understated, but do not feel sterile. The black and white photos of musicians on the walls and the decor say "New Orleans". The service can sometimes be a bit casual, but it is always friendly. There's even a more than adequate fitness room. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel is not in the French Quarter but it's 2 blocks away which is close enough for me. On Friday night from the sidewalk out front you can hear the pickup band playing on the corner of Bourbon & Canal. Pluses - Free wifi, mini-fridge in the room, comfy bed & pillows, friendly staff in hotel & attached restaurant Rambla. Minuses - no coffee maker in the room, no ice bucket or ice machines - you have to order both from room service. Our room needed wallpaper repair or replacement...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit!. Please come see us again...good news too....all of the wallpaper in the guest rooms is being removed to showcase our new look by the end of August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The International House is a boutique hotel in a great location in New Orleans, right between the city center and the French Quarter, almost all attractions are within walking distance. Walking into the hotel, you're greeted with Miami Beach-esque interior decor from beautiful chandeliers to plush white couches.

However, what the International House boasts in decor, it lacks in service. This is a hotel after all, and not an art gallery. We booked a windowless rock star room, which proved to be a good value for such a location in New Orleans. My in-laws, who booked a queen room with windows, had a drastically different experience. We arrive at International House at 5:00pm and were told that their room was not ready, which is shocking as it is long past the 3:00pm check-in time. The front desk did not even have an apologetic attitude about it. Upon my mother-in-law's request, the front desk clerk gave a couple of drink tickets for us to wait in the hotel bar for the room to be ready. It's now 6:00pm, the front desk still hasn't called to inform us about the room, and we're anxious to freshen up to go to dinner! My in-laws go inquire about the room, and all of a sudden, it's ready.

We get to their room, and the bed is clearly not a queen size bed, it's a full-size. The in-laws are disappointed because their hotel confirmation clearly stated that they booked a queen room. They go to check with the manager. "We overbooked our queen rooms," he explains. He offers them a discount since the room has a full sized bed. We are irritated that we had to go ask about the bed size difference, instead of the hotel volunteering this information right away.

The hotel did try to make up for the error by putting my in-laws in a king room with windows on the second night of our stay, but somehow it felt like too little too late. Upon check out, even though we had 1 vehicle between the family, they slapped the $38/night parking charge on both of our rooms, and we had to get that corrected.

Also, the wi-fi did not work in our windowless room.

All in all, for such a location and ambiance, the International House could be so much more. But it lacks in service and attention to detail (and honesty?). I am unlikely to return to this property until there is new management.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the feedback. First and foremost, we apologize for your rooms not being ready at check in time. We luckily do not have that happen often and are sorry that it did happen upon your arrival. Our queen size rooms are indeed queen size beds and I am glad that we were able to upgrade you to a king size bedded room based upon the lack of Rock Star rooms available. We strive for perfection and will take each of your comments and learn from them. We do hope that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Address: 221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.