We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at first sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added International House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
International House Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love at first sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

With so many options in New Orleans, I was looking for a hip and cool place to stay. The International House met my expectations and I loved the stylings of everything from the Lobby to the sleek rooms. Equipped with amenities like aveda bath products and apple tv, I couldn't heip but feel content as it felt just like I was in a boutique in Chicago or New York but with a more reasonable price. The location was wonderful and because I was traveling alone I felt extremely safe walking to and from the French Quarter at all times (took a cab if I was staying out really late). I'm already looking forward to visiting in May and while I was thinking of trying something new, but I may just have to stay here again.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    232
    73
    50
    30
See reviews for
69
354
51
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Nice rooms. The bar in the lobby was incredible! Short walk to the FQ. Coffee shop attached to hotel.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My first stay here was a delight. The clean design, light colors and great location was just what I needed. A break from the dark carpets and walls of many hotels was blissful for a business traveller.

Room Tip: Any place in New Orleans, try to get above the fourth floor if you want to get some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Not friendly.
No umbrellas (or appologies) on a week of torentially pouring rain.
They were not proficient or comfortable giving directions, shopping suggestions, or even having an all inclusive map of NO. Very strange.
The concierges were very sweet, one offered me her personal umbrella, but the manager was down right chilly, and again, had 1001 "good reasons" for not having any umbrellas for guests, not even for the doorman, who was only present on the day we left.
So, to be clear, in the pouring March rain, we had to run 3 blocks to the Marriott to buy 5 dollar ponchos! Thank god they were selling them. And they were so friendly! By the time we got the ponchos we were totally soaked, and my brewing head cold turned into the flu as I froze my butt off until I got back into bed, where I ended up spending the rest of my trip after making our soaking wet meetings.
The room was nicely decorated, but windows looked into an airshaft, the bathroom had a cracked toilet cover, horrible water pressure, broken hair dryer, teeny tiny sink, dings and dents in the doors and walls, and the lighting of the Bates Motel. Awful!
This and the $16.00 they charged me for a large pot of hot water for tea closed the deal--never again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments. You are 100% right! We did not have our normal stock of umbrellas as they seemed to disappear during the week of rain that we had. We will be ready for the next storm and offer our most sincere apology to you for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the night before our cruise was to depart. I was immediately impressed by the style of the hotel's entrance - very classy! The room was very clean and comfortable, bathroom seemed recently updated Location is great - in a safe district, but within walking distance to the French Quarter and the River Walk. There are plenty of restaurants nearby as well. Just drop your bags off in your room and take off for food and shopping!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The IHH is located right in the heart of the CBD. It's got the sort of character-plus-comfort I want when visiting NOLA, and the combination of quiet, comfortable rooms with good wifi, a cool lobby bar, helpful staff, and walking distance to more or less everything downtown, makes it a lock for my next trip. They let us check in a couple hours early, too, and were good about getting us taxis. Only gripe is that the standard king rooms are a bit small for when my colleagues and I wanted to meet up.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I love staying here. It's so convenient to the qtr and allows you to get away from it. I will be staying again, and probably again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Address: 221 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.