We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New Orleans Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 North Rampart, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
austin, tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I found this hotel on a whim, looking for affordable rates for my stay in New Orleans. I took advantage of their Online Rate, and ended up staying for 3 days. The room was a tad on the small side, but sufficient for 2 people. The location was prime - approximately 2-3 blocks from Louis Armstrong Park, and about 3-4 blocks from Bourbon St. My friend & I were able to walk all over the French Quarter (including down to the Aquarium of the Americas & the WWII Museum), and back with no problems. It's just far enough away to get a quiet night sleep -- with one caveat.

That caveat would be one of the few reasons it's not getting a 5-rating from me: paper-thin walls; I really had no desire to hear our neighbours having ... fun ... at 2am. The shower is a little on the small side, as a previous reviewer commented, but still usable - except for the water pressure, which was nearly negligible. The only other issue I had with the room was the lack of a lid on the toilet.

Still, all that aside, I'd happily stay there again. It was affordable (until we hit up against a Jazz Fest, in which case, the rate tripled), quiet, clean, and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We really appreciate your staying with us and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    41
    22
    12
    9
See reviews for
17
53
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We made our reservations for this hotel a few months ago after reading good reviews. As we got closer - wifey started to get second thoughts. I read more reviews here in TA and I was convinced we made the right decision.

Be advised - this is not the high end, spacious, luxurious high rise of the big city and the cost reflects that. This is an older, architecturally perfect setting right on the fringes of the French Quarter. I saw craftsmen working every day trying to update different features - always painting - etc.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Rolita. This woman was absolutely wonderful. She guided us daily - helped us with different tours and there was absolutely no pressure for us to take a tour. (Remember, many hotels get a reward for booking specific tour companies - this was NOT the case for us.)

Our room was approximately 11' x 11' with a queen bed, ceiling fan, a flat screen TV, and our bathroom had a tub. Again - the room is older style - wide pine flooring - tile in the bathroom - but spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 209, after originally checking into room 203. We wanted to be further away from the noise of the main street and 209 was back in the courtyard area. (I think 203 would have been fine - but I love my wife.) We were there in early April, and had the A/C on while we were there.

I read in other reviews about room problems. We had none - plenty of hot water - everything worked - WiFi was great. No complaints whatsoever about our room.

The rooms do not have refrigerators - so we went to a local corner store - Matassa's at 1001 Dauphine St, and purchased a Styrofoam cooler, beer and wine. The hotel has a small and large ice machine and it worked perfect for us.

There are no elevators so pack lightly. Again - remember - this is an older New Orleans mansion. The woodwork is amazing - the building itself very rich in history. Although the weather was warm, we did not use the swimming pool.

There is a simple continental breakfast each day consisting of self made waffles, orange juice, plenty of muffins, bread for toast, and bagels. On Saturday, there was a tray with meat and different cheeses. Guests were cordial and comparing different tours they had taken, or were about to take. In this dining area, there is also a computer/printer to access reservations, etc.

We walked miles and miles each day - Rolita giving us some guidelines on where to be cautious if walking out late at night. We felt safe regardless of the time of day - and the heart of the French Quarter - Bourbon Street - was a 5 minute walk.

I believe you will enjoy staying at this hotel. The price is right. The staff even better. Feel free to send me a private note via TA.

Room Tip: When we first arrived, we were given a room towards the main street. It is a very busy thoroughfare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for staying with us. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was our first time in New Orleans. We stayed here several nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us many suggestions of things to do and places to see. The location was great. We were within walking distance of everything in the French Quarters. The hotel provided the best continental breakfast that we have ever experienced. They continuously worked hard to keep the food stocked. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to all our friends.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I am glad to hear you had a great time in New Orleans. We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I had a good stay, but there were some really touchy things that bothered me. We stayed four nights, our first night was in a room near the Main Street. It was noisy at night and noisy in morning, meaning very little sleep was to be had. Additionally the shower was so tiny it was like showering in a coffin. There was nowhere to hang towels to "save the planet". Bead was comfy after requesting extra pillows(they pillows are a bit flat). So, next day we asked to be transferred to a more peaceful room. They were gracious to accommodate us. The first day was a Thursday morning and we had the complimentary continental breakfast of mediocre coffee and sad excuse for pastries. There was only citrus fruits and when I asked for something else such as a banana since I am allergic to citrus I was given a very rude answer. Needless to say we had to grab a snack almost immediately upon venturing out for the day. They do have waffles if you like them but it should be said that not everyone wants a shot of sugar and carbs first thing in the morning. I just wanted some cheese, fruits...good coffee, but not to be that day. Our new room was much better even though it was next to the laundry facility. More peaceful to say the least. The tub was more roomy thankfully but the thing had some nasty mineral stain deposits and really was bordering on gross. The water adjuster did not work properly, it was near impossible to adjust from scalding hot to a temperature that could be tolerated. Still nowhere to hang towels and the shower caddy was nasty too with mineral deposits. It just needs spiffing up. Need was firm but very high to get in and out of...I am short and a stool would have been helpful.
Now the location is fantastic! It really cannot be beat and as for the breakfast we were surprised to find that each day something else was added to the breakfast. Some ham and cheese and bananas were added and we were uncertain as to why this progression occurred, by Sunday morning it was a perfectly acceptable continental breakfast. My husband speculated that maybe they only do it for the weekenders. Regardless, a decent repass was appreciated.
Parking is very expensive...$25 a day. Lot is very big, no reason it should be so high. It was a clean hotel with charm.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for staying with us. Your comments have helped us become better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed several nights and had an uneven experience. The location was wonderful: close to the French Quarter but away from the noise. The management was very nice and caring but their sincerity couldn't overcome problems with the hotel. There's a point when charm and eccentricity pass into the category of inconvenience. Our room definitely fit in the inconvenient category.

The door to our room was so warped that there was a 1/2 inch wide and 3 foot long gap which let daylight, noise, and cold air in. We were safe; the warp of the door overlapped the frame enough to install a secure lock. Unfortunately, we heard the traffic noise on Rampart Street until quite late at night and the room was very cold. (We clearly weren't the first people with this problem. The hotel keeps a huge supply of earplugs behind the front desk.) The hot water was unreliable. Plenty of hotels show some fluctuation in hot water depending on usage down the line, but one morning of our stay, we had no hot water.

Room Tip: If you stay there, make sure you have a room close to the main building so the hot water is more rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for staying with us. Your review has helped us become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankford, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had a small but comfortable and very clean room facing the courtyard for 4 nights in January. Enjoyed the beautiful well kept architecture and the courtyard. Everyone working there was extremely helpful and friendly. We were pleasantly surprised to see what a nice selection of offerings for breakfast ( waffles, muffins, assorted breads for toast, fresh fruit, and beverages).
Available early in the morning so you can get an early start on your day. The location was great.
They are in the French Quarter and walking distance (for walkers) to all of it. We parked our car with them and did not have the need for it until we left. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks we are so glad you loved staying with us. It was really our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you want a taste of old New Orleans stay here. The architecture is beautiful! We stayed facing the courtyard and pool on the second floor. We had a balcony entrance. The floors were original wood. The queen bed was so high we had to climb it! The room was small and the bathroom was even smaller. This is usually the case for 1800s homes and hotels. there was a 3" clearance beside my shoulders when I was at the sink. A hook on the door would have been nice to hang my towel on. The shower is a standing only shower- no tub. Some rooms have tubs. Since we were in New Orleans in the winter, we had a cold front come in and wind just blew in from the gaps in the door. Brrrr! The courtyard rooms would be best in warmer weather and then you could hang out by the lovely pool. Good security here as well. We felt very safe. No problem walking the 3 blocks to Bourbon Street. As in any larger city I don't recommend walking alone after dark anywhere. Great time, fun people no matter what time of the year you go.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor courtside have brick floors and bathtubs. They provide a nice continent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks again for staying with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Courtyard Hotel

Address: 1101 North Rampart, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — New Orleans Courtyard Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners 2009. The New Orleans Courtyard Hotel is one of several historic New Orleans homes and cottages that have been lovingly restored and converted into beautifully appointed Rooms, spacious Multi-bedroom Suites, luxury Townhouses and charming Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Orleans Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard
Courtyard New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.