We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Courtyard Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Orleans Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 North Rampart, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Delden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Location is convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It’s hard to find a room on a friday afternoon near the French Quarter... So we took the one room that was available. Good location, friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere. Street side, small and basic room was a bit noisy and breakfast needs an egg. But then, you can have breakfast in the quarter and spend your time there in stead of the hotel. Car park is expensive.

Room Tip: Street side rooms are quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
15
42
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night. People right above us would not stop making noise. It was terrible. Complained to front desk and basically nothing was done. that same night about eight gathered in the pool area (very small) and were talking really loud. Found out a lots of people are displaced from Katrina. We paid a total of $243.65. Believe me and take my word.....STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I am very sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel. I happen to remember you being here. Yes you are correct that we offered temporary housing to families who lost everything they owned in Hurricane Isaac (not Katrina). I remember you were upset that there was a noise problem during the day. I believe we allowed you to check in at 8:00am with no early check in fee. Once you complained we contacted guest and asked them to be quiet so you could sleep during the day. Then when you complained about noise at night, we asked guests enjoying our poolside courtyard, to go to their rooms and by 11:00 the courtyard was emptied. In addition to our daily efforts, we have signs posted asking people to be quiet during the hours of 11pm to 7am throughtout our property. Nevertheless,it is a very hard task to keep people quiet in our fun city. I regret you had a bad experience, but we tried our best to accomodate you. Patrick Berthelot, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'm originally from michigan but have lived in Lafayette La for about five years. Lafayette is about two hours from new orleans.. great city by the way..Look it up if you are traveling.
We regularly take trips into new orleans for concerts and my boyfriend for batcherlor parties..this year anyway.. we have been looking for that go to motel..

First I would like to respond to the reviews complaining about how expensive parking is.... HELLO!! its new orleans.. If you are ever planing a trip to the french quarter wether you stay in a hotel there or not you will be paying 25.00 or more even for 4 hours... A hotel that is willing to let you keep your car there and walk is accually saving you money..there is no free parking in the french quarter.. best thing to do is ride bikes..

Second.. if you want the latest in all hotel amenities.. curved shower bars.. 500 count sheets.. stick with a brand name hotel.. but if you want to stay in a historical building expect historical qualities such as spueeky pluming.. its part of the charm..

Third.. I havn't stayed at this hotel yet. But I called and made reservations tonight.. I had called several different hotels and this was impressed by the front desk girl..She was friendly and prfessional and sold me the room.. the rest just andswered my questions and didn't even try to keep my reservation. Now I am excited to try this hotel.

Room Tip: don't get mad if you have to pay for parking.. you will all over the french wuarter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

4 of us ladies went to New Orleans for the weekend, we booked this hotel on-line through the French Quarter Motel Suites. I will start with good points. The Hotel is easy to find, great location to quarter, taxis readily available down N. Rampart, quick walk to Louis Armstrong Park and the St. Louis Cemetary #1. The hotel itself is very nostalgic and vintage. It has two pools, and secure parking. The rooms make you feel like you've stepped back in town living in a southern style mansion for a night or two. The staff was VERY friendly and informative. Now, the negative, the room is overpriced for the quality and not mention the parking is SEVERLY overpriced. I think for the price we paid for the room, parking should have been included for at least one vehicle, we had two and paid $55.00 for each car for two nights, adding another $110 to our lodging. The continental breafast was very poor and sad, the coffee was horrible ! Our room was on the ground level and street side, it was very noisey all night both nights with traffic. If i were to stay there I would request a room away from the street side. Our linens had mildew on them. (where they had stayed in washer too long). We didnt have enough towels, there isn't much bathroom (counter) space. We never even turned on the TV. The shower water, would go from hot to cold the entire time you were showering. Great Water Pressure though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We are literally driving as i type this to head home to Alabama. We usually stay at the Chateau Bourbon (gorgeous!) But planned a New Orleans trip on a whim and decided to be a bit more budget concious this time. Read some reviews and was little nervous about what we would get. We absolutely loved this sweet little hotel! We were in rooms 207 and 208 that overlooked the pool. We opened our doors and were a little surprised at how small the rools were but quickly realized that they would end up being exactly and all we needed. Definitely ask for extra pillows, though. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Part of the charm came from sitting on the terrace and meeting your neighbors. The shower water will literally scald and give you burn blisters if you dont adjust the temp before you hop in. The pool was a nice view but it is my only complaint is the nasty film on the top of the water. There was no way we were getting in that! You really need to visit the neighborhood bar called Cosimos. The had amazing salsa with fabulous phylo like chips! There was a dog in there that would jump up on a barstool and sit at the bar like she was going to order a beer. Loved it! Our walk to the french quarter area tooks us about 5 minutes to walk. We felt completely safe walking at night.

I have never written a review before but i felt like i owed it this little gem.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Located outside of French Quarter which is rather good because less noisy than some other hotels. Rooms are fine with small so-calles kitchen. Unless there is no view from the window but it's not neccessary, you don't come to New Orleans to stay at the hotel room ;) The staff depending on a person, some of them are kind and friendly but there was one guy who wasn't interested in helping us with the right route to the restaurant we chose because he was doing something else and we felt like we're interrupting him.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I really enjoyed the customer service given to me at this establishment. The hotel is older with a lovely courtyard and swimming pool. I had a queen room which is small with adequate amenities. My biggest complaint is the walls are very thin so you can hear conversations from the adjacent room or from pool side. I stayed on the list floor across from the pool. My second gripe is location..THIS IS MY FAULT for booking my room so late during the time of the Essence Festival. I don't think the location is ideal for a solo woman since it is at least 6 to 7 blocks from the French Quarter (particularly walking at night).

A continental breakfast is offered from 6:30am to 10:30am. You have a selection of pastries, waffles, fruit, cheese, coffee, and OJ. The breakfast is nothing fancy but adequate to start your morning if you choose.

My room was attended to daily. This is not a fancy hotel so just keep that in mind, but it is not a dump or bad place to stay. At best it is an economy hotel that will offer you a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Courtyard Hotel

Address: 1101 North Rampart, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — New Orleans Courtyard Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners 2009. The New Orleans Courtyard Hotel is one of several historic New Orleans homes and cottages that have been lovingly restored and converted into beautifully appointed Rooms, spacious Multi-bedroom Suites, luxury Townhouses and charming Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your New Orleans Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard
Courtyard New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.