We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it wasn't for mardi gras!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knight Inn New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knight Inn New Orleans to your Saves list
Knight Inn New Orleans
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5801 Read Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70127 (Formerly Budget Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #139 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
“If it wasn't for mardi gras!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in around 5 pm. Headed right out for a scheduled tour only to return to small Insects on toilet. No staff to deal problem. Front desk had a friend come and spray bug killer on and around commode. They gave us bleach in a spray bottle if we wanted the toilet cleaner. There was a lot of Paint on carpet. The room appeared to be in the middle of renovations. Drywall damage. Went through expedia. No comp for for bad experience nor an apooogy.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    4
    8
See reviews for
3
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here only because we arrived in the New Orleans area late at night and didn't want to spend a lot of time looking for a place to stay...(boy were we sorry we didn't keep looking!!) Buyer beware - This place DOES NOT look like the pictures posted online! In actuality this OVER PRICED flea-bag of a motel or hotel or what ever it's called should be closed down!! OMG, don't these places have a corporate office or something that sends people out to do some sort of a periodic "quality" check?? Everything about this place was filthy, the floors weren't swept (anywhere that we could see), there were wads of kleenex on the elevator floor, the hallways smelled bad, there were dried dirty washcloths still hanging over our shower curtain obviously from the previous "tenants", the furniture in our room was broken down, shabby and I don't even want to know what those "stains" were all bout. The towels and bed linens were thin and worn, the bed mattress was very uncomfortable and the flimsy bed pillows were even worse (how can something so flat be so lumpy?). Their idea of a "breakfast area" was pitiful as were the food choices (oh, and did I mention the breakfast area was also filthy?), so instead of enjoying our free (LOL) complimentary breakfast we vacated the premises and couldn't get out of there fast enough.

Room Tip: Stay away - Do not choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branosn, MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We stayed here with a group, didn't feel like we could complain to the entire group. Room was crappy, roaches in bathroom, faucet dropped ALL night, toilet leaked causing toilet water to be ALL OVER THE FLOOR, beds are NOT queen beds as advertised, filthy!!!! This hotel should be condemed!!!!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We stayed during the Sugar Bowl. I made my reservations online. By looking at the photos, the hotel looked clean and well kept. The photos were deceiving and we paid too much money to stay in a rundown dirty hotel (the price was elevated due to the Sugar Bowl event). The breakfast consisted of bread, cereal, and juice that you had to squeeze out from a plastic bottle (too dirty to eat or drink). I was very disappointed. I will NEVER stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We stayed at this hotel for three nights because we had no choice. It was during New Years Eve & the Sugar Bowl. It was very run down & not clean. The last two days we were there they had NO HOT WATER. They put a note under our door saying we would get a $25 credit. When we returned to our rooms on the last evening we were supposed to stay there was STILL NO HOT WATER. By this time there were other rooms available in the area so we decided to leave. We had to argue with the manager to not charge us for that night since it was after checkout time ( it was about 6 PM). So we were supposed to have two rooms for four nights & ended up staying three nights, with no hot water for two out of three nights. Terrible!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Stayed 10/3-10/5/14 & 10/31-11/2/14 beds are comfy, friendly staff, safe environment, cold ac, nice view of city lights from balcony, popeyes , waffle house in walking distance , stores and gas nearby .They are in the process of renovating and some of the rooms have been renovated . The room we had was not, but for the price it was really nice no complaints. we loved our first stay here and the second stay was even better. Definitely our next stay . You will get a good nights rest with no problems.

Room Tip: stayed on 5th floor front room good view no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Also my husband LOVES the donuts for breakfast. Cheap and close enough to NOLA too. We didn't expect much but you get a decent value for the money. And so close to New Orleans too. 2nd floor had great wifi

Room Tip: Facing Lowes side has lovely sunsets. Wifi best on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knight Inn New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight Inn New Orleans

Address: 5801 Read Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70127 (Formerly Budget Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knight Inn New Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is conveniently located 7 miles from the Superdome, and 8 miles from the French Quarter and Mardi Gras (Downtown). Our seven-story hotel, offering an outdoor pool, and daily complimentary continental breakfast. Our clean and comfortable guest rooms feature high-speed Internet access, Our front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to better serve your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knight Inn New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knight Inn New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.