We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hyatt French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
French Quarter Theater
Ranked #24 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here three times. We felt so comfortable here, that we have also stayed with our two children. The bed's are so comfortable. The rooms are spacious and modern. We loved that it was within walking distance to everything. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very accommodating. It is a bit pricey at times, but well worth it. Look forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebley456, Manager at Hyatt French Quarter, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Erica and Beverly,

Thank you very much for your great feedback! We're glad you and you family had a good stay with us. Hope we have the pleasure of accommodating you all in the near future!

Best regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    211
    45
    20
    12
See reviews for
74
269
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was the end of our Great Southern Road Trip having started in Charleston SC, two weeks and thank goodness for Sat Navs !! This is a modern hotel well located within the French Quarter, close to the action without any of the noise which is remarkable. The rooms very spacious and modern, with large clean bathrooms. We didn't have a view and looked out onto an antrium area which was set out for a business meeting. To be fair we were offered a re location through the room boy who so expertly settled us in and talked us through the local attractions map - Cafe Du Monde, River attractions and restaurants. And lets be frank - it was quiet.
Strange arrangement for breakfast - coffee bar set up with limited menu choice. No pancakes unless you wanted a single one the size of the pan. Also the seating in the bar area was very uncomfortable, and noisy with business types - understand that NOLA is one of the conference centres of the US.
Great service though from all of the staff that we dealt with - car valets, reception, porter abd Concierge. All that could be asked of a city center hotel. I had read that some thought it over priced, but guess what - it's a luxury in the center of a large city. Like all things in life "You get what you pay for !!"

Room Tip: Go for an internal room to avoid the street level nightlife !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We chose Hyatt French Quarter for our 2 night stay before our cruise. We had a standard room, 2 queen beds, no upgrade. I would highly recommend room # 424! Not only was it clean, quiet and contemporary, it has the 2 queen size beds, full sectional sofa, 2 flat screen TVs, mini fridge. Close enough to elevators and ice machine without the noise. Request room 424, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here from July 18 - 22. Our room 438 had a balcony, that was shared with three rooms, 436, and 440. Our room had king bed, comfortable bed, also there was a safe in the room that would fit my 10 inch tablet with plenty of room left. There was also a small fridge that we would stock with water we bought from Walgreens on Royal, 2 blocks away. The staff was very nice, always acknowledged us coming and going. Thanks to the concierge, very helpful and informative. HFQ partially sits above Hard Rock and Red Fish Grill, we were above RFG, and it was torture walking to and from our room during their business hours because the grill smell was in the hallway and sometimes in our room, yum! Our only complaint was, shower had no water pressure, and when we had leftovers from the night before, I would ask to get it microwaved, and they would not. We have been to other hotels and had no problems. Oh, and don't forget they have 2 20oz aquafina bottles for $4 ea. Overall we had a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Had an outstanding stay the week of June 30th. The hotel has been very nicely remodeled with a modern style. The high ceilings in the rooms make them feel so large. The pool is small but refreshing and never crowded. Upon the advice of previous reviewers we took an interior room and really enjoyed the quiet and a nice area to sit and drink coffee in the morning. Each room has it's own refrigerator so we were sure to stock up with plenty of drinks and libations. Canal Street is one block away so there are plenty of stores to stock your room if you want. We ate breakfast at the lobby café. It was very good. Also ate at Redfish in the hotel and it was a very good meal. There is a Krystal's across the street and I really enjoyed getting a nice country breakfast there each morning. Also, the trolley picks up right out on Canal Street so you are very close for sightseeing. As a matter of fact this hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy Bourbon Street, The French Quarter, the trolley and easy access to New Orleans. Finally, the staff are very accommodating at this hotel. Great service so don't hesitate to ask for their help.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet pick a room that overlooks the courtyard. If you want to hang by the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacliff, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I visited for a bachelorette party in March and I will not stay at this hotel again. Yes it was clean, yest it was quiet, it was a good location to Bourbon Street but it was also way overpriced. We split the cost between 5 girls and I just don't believe in spending that kind of money for a place to sleep and shower. NOLA is a place where limited time is spent in your hotel room and I'm a firm believer there are better values with the same service, cleanliness, etc. at a different hotel in the city. So if you are looking for a hotel with outrageous prices this is the place for you. I was not impressed and I will not be staying here for any future trips to NOLA.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nice hotel. Clean. Modern looking. Good service. The bar downstairs can make non alcoholic drinks. The small store downstairs has good food & drink items. The location is convenient. We had a problem one night with a loud car blasting music while driving around the neighborhood over & over again so could not sleep that one night.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main street & crazy drivers blasting music in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt French Quarter

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt French Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans’ famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;