We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hyatt French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
French Quarter Theater
Ranked #25 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Norwich
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Oh wow. We loved 'Narlins' and loved this hotel. Great location on Bourbon right in the French Quarter and convenient walk to most places including the river front area. The hotel has valet parking which we used, very convenient f not a little expensive $42 per day, but we knew this 'up front' so the choice was ours to use or not. We did! Check in was a breeze, great room with an 'internal' view into the atrium, very peaceful. We had the buffet breakfast one morning, this was pretty good (not wow) and the hotel is also connected to the Hard Rock Cafe (you use your room key to open the door). Staff and concierge we all friendly and helpful. Overall very pleased with the stay, with a couple of minor niggles; no free wi-fi in rooms (free in public areas), car parking a little steep (but it is very convenient). If you're arriving in the evening, be aware that a number of surrounding roads are closed off to traffic but you can still get to the front door and valet parking. It might be something of a challenge for your GPS though!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    202
    44
    20
    12
See reviews for
71
254
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Love this place! For location, you can't ask for a better spot, it's in the middle of French Quarter, close to everything. The hotel is very well maintained, everything looks and feels new, the room is great and spacious, and the bed is really really comfortable. And the staffs are really friendly and helpful. Love it! :)
If I ever come back to New Orleans will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our room was looking out on to a back street where I am sure was a brothel. Garbage truck came every day at 4am extremely noisy. For a Hyatt I thought the rooms were very ordinary. Staff were helpful especially the People in the bar and the restaurant. It was a good location right on Bourbon Street.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room away from the back street, perhaps around near the pool area and courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Could not get a better location - step right out into the French Quarter. Rooms are generous in size - very well decked out - good bed etc etc. If you are facing the pool - which is in the middle of the building - like an open courtyard - it can get a bit noisy - but hey, if you are in New Orleans you should not be spending all your time in your room (well I guess that depends on your circumstances).
Good bar as well - good for people watching. Food average - so many good restaurants in New Orleans I would not bother to eat here.
Staff very friendly. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I loved this hotel. It is very modern and clean and the rooms are spacious with a great layout. The closet is in other room where you can place your luggage and keep it out of your way. We had a balcony with a view of the Courtyard and it was very quiet. I always bring earplugs but in this hotel I never needed them. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bedding was soft and luxurious. I thought the curtains in the room were gorgeous.

The staff is fabulous! Each and very person we spoke to was very friendly and accommodating. On our last night there we walked in and the desk clerk said he remembered us from the night before but we sure didn't remember him. He told my husband how he was a completely different person. We were laughing so hard because we aren't young however we were on Bourbon Street after a wedding and I guess some of those drinks were made with Bacardi 151 and we didn't know it. I can't even imagine how we must have appeared to this young man.

I loved the fact that they had a create your own menu that you could get via room service or through the restaurant in the hotel. I am a vegetarian and they had a tofu option that was delicious. I also was able to order roasted sweet potatoes rather than deep fried hash browns, which I greatly appreciated because I don't eat fried food. I also liked being able to get eggs late in the evening.

We did get an opportunity to use the pool in the Courtyard, which we really liked. They have a bar out there and plenty of chairs and towels available. We really enjoyed this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here last week during a trip from Texas to Florida. The location is great walking distance to many things. Our room was very nice overlooking the quiet courtyard with a nice little balcony to sit on. The bed was very comfortable too. The concierge was helpful in restaurant recommendations as well.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, if you want a quiet room ask for a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the HFQ for our anniversary. We loved our stay at the Hyatt French Quarter. The rooms are spacious and newly renovated. The service was excellent and the entire hotel is beautiful. The pool area is relaxing and food is served outside occasionally. The drinks in the bar were a tad stout, but maybe that's the New Orleans way. We loved our stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt French Quarter

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt French Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans’ famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Hyatt French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.