We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern hospitality in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hyatt French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
French Quarter Theater
Ranked #25 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Moncton, NB
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Southern hospitality in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this hotel from April 14 to 17, 2013 (last day of the French Quarter Music Festival).

Overall, we were very impressed by this, what felt like, newly renovated hotel. The Hyatt French Quarter is at the centre of it all (Canal and Iberville), but offers a quiet and comfortable retreat from the stir that is the French Quarter (notably Bourbon street). Our rooms felt brand new, very clean and well appointed. The hotel has a great bistro inside, offering local foods and a great variety of well made healthy choices. There are also many other restaurant choices attached to the hotel and thousands in the area. We used the gym on all days, in the morning, and we found it more than adequate for our needs. The large square pool is located in sizeable courtyard. There were more than enough lounge chairs and the bar was a great plus, but it was only staffed on Sunday (our first day there). The staff at the Hyatt was very welcoming and generally went above and beyond to make you feel at home. This must be the southern hospitality because this was reflected everywhere we went on our trip in NOLA.

As stated, the major positives were location, renovated building and friendly staff. We agreed that there were little to no negatives about this hotel. It certainly helps that we received an incredible price with the help of Priceline, but would have had no problem paying full asking price for what we received. This hotel easily receives a 4 star (out of 5) for what has already been mentioned. We definitely recommend this location.

Room Tip: To avoid the ruckus that is Bourbon street and have a good nights sleep, ask for a room facing eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    188
    42
    20
    12
See reviews for
66
235
15
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice in a few months. Very nice, clean, spacious rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Did have an issue with our room not being cleaned one day, but the hotel compensated us nicely for that. Café so-so. Super location. Easy walk to everything in the FQ. Love Nawlins.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with nice rooms in the heart of the French Quarter. However, its central location is a problem for those who are not into partying all night everyday of the week, especially Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Being almost at the intersection of Iberville and Bourbon St., there are numerous bars and lounges that have loud boisterous partying all night until 5am. Along with loud music and singing, you have drunks and near drunks singing, shouting and fighting, motorcyclists with deafening modified exhausts being revved again and again and doing wheelees, and finally there are multiple shrieks of sirens of police and ambulance vehicles. Then at 5am, when the party is over and it seems quiet, the city workers come to clean the party mess with hoses, power washers, and dump the trash.

So be forewarned. If you got this place through Hotwire and though you got a really good deal, chances are you will get a room with a window facing the noise. While the view is great and the windows are double paned, don't expect to sleep very much unless you also have propofol-like sleeping aids or are drunk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed in MANY of the hotels in the French Quarter and the Central Business District (CBD), and this one was the BEST! Extremely clean property, rooms were spotless, hotel was quiet and the staff was top notch. A cool feature was instantly hot water in the shower and sink. Tall ceilings in the room made the room seem huge (which ours was compared to other hotels in the quarter). The beds were comfortable with luxury linens and duvets. A nice cafe and bar were in the lobby. The cafe has reasonably priced with tasty breakfast and lunch items (we never made it to the bar). We go to NOLA about twice per year and this will be our #1 choice going forward!

Room Tip: We had a courtyard facing room which probably cut down on the noise. Also, we got a Petite Suite wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the employees were very happy to help. The room was great. The rooms have 12 ft ceilings which make the rooms look huge. Very convenient to Bourbon Street.
Only down side, they pick up the garbage on the street at 2:30 am and the garbage truck takes for ever. They pick up garbage from 4 areas and dont move the truck. But nothing that the hotel could do about that.

Room Tip: don't stay on the Iberville side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a great time in New Orleans! My husband and I got in at 9am. The staff was pleasant and we got a huge room with a beautiful view. The hotel is very close to everything. Cafe Dumonde is about 5 minutes away. Bourbon Street is the street over. Great hotel and great location. We had a good time in New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed there for a business conference and I love it. Room was clean and big, I really like it. Breakfast was great. Front people was very friendly as well. Had the best noights sleep in a hotel ever!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt French Quarter

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt French Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans’ famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Hyatt French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.