We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks New Orleans charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hyatt French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
French Quarter Theater
Ranked #23 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
fort worth texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Lacks New Orleans charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Hyatt French Quarter is a very nice hotel. Large rooms with very comfortable beds. I was just a tad sad that it didn't have the old time feel-ie. luxurious old South charm. This is a contemporary hotel, with bland furnishings. Everything was grey and white. Great location, and the staff was helpful. Checkin and out a breeze.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    184
    42
    20
    12
See reviews for
64
230
15
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Hyatt is located in the middle of the French Quarter. One side of the hotel faces Bourbon Street and most of those rooms have balconies. We stayed in one of those rooms. It was quite noisy, however...it brought the true essence of what New Orleans is all about. The central gathering area was great along with the in house cafe. We had breakfast there every morning. The rooms were beautiful however, the windows did not shut at all.

Room Tip: If you want your sleep, don't pick a room that boarders Bourbon St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The location of this hotel is in walking distance to everything in the French quarter. Very convenient, especially after a late night on Bourbon st.
The staff was very gracious.
The rooms were huge & clean. I would stay here again & recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel in just over 2 months. It is centrally located, an easy walk to most areas of the French Quarter & restaurants I enjoy. The beds are very comfortable & the decor is pleasant, a bit modern. The staff was pleasant & helpful. I have already recommended this hotel to some friends who are visiting NOLA in late February.
You do have do pay extra for Wi-fi.

Room Tip: On my visit in October our room was near the courtyard which was great at night so we could hang out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a very classy hotel. Situated at the beginning of the French Quarter just off Canal St, this is a very nicely renovated hotel. Close to shops, restaurants and bars, yet just far enough away from the noise of Bourbon Street. The room we had (549) was very large, high ceilings with a small lounge. The bathroom is nice although the bath could be bigger. There is a nice bar and restaurant in the hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is okay in some ways but I would not return nor recommend it to others for a few reasons. The first is that the walls are too thin to sleep in if anyone in the halls or neighboring bedrooms are moving about. If you've had a big night partying, forget about sleeping in past 7am. Could hear people in the other rooms using the toilet and it sounded like people in the hallways were yelling.
The second reason is the terrible service at the cafe. I would not recommend it if you stay here. There is so much good food in New Orleans, but on our last morning we were in a hurry so opted for breakfast here. We waited about 40 mins for a ham/cheese croissant, and, after asking about it several times they finally delivered the wrong order, which I suspect was made for someone else. My husband also experienced rude service there.
One more thing about the hotel, there are a lot of extra charges, wifi is something like $15 a day and the parking amounts to approx $40 a day. They also do not have any mini bar or complimentary water, a bottle of 'Aquafina' worth $1.50 will cost you $4, most hotels I've been to at least offer a complimentary water. In itself these things aren't a big deal but when they all mount up it does make you feel a bit ripped off, as though you are paying a lot more than what the hotel is worth. Last time I was in the area I stayed near Frenchmen street in a studio holiday rental that was less than 1/2 the price and double the satisfaction (and a crate of free water).
I will say that the hotel had very comfortable beds and bedding, and the room was nice and big (2 double beds, 3 adults). The room opened onto an interior courtyard which was very nice.
The staff are also a bit nonchalant, not very welcoming when we arrived or at any stage. When we checked out the lady asked us how we liked our stay and our husband said okay, but a bit noisy, and she brushed it off saying it was the location, even though our room was no where near bourbon street and that wasn't the issue.
Summing up, some of the facilities were nice but a disappointing experience, expected more from the Hyatt. Would not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Not at all what I was expecting from a Hyatt brand hotel. Not luxurious as described on the website. Staff was great, hotel was not. I guess I was expecting more elegance and luxury from a recently renovated Hyatt Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt French Quarter

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt French Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans’ famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.