We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok I guess” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
French Quarter Theater
Ranked #20 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok I guess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable clean room but something fairly average about the hotel. Most staff were friendly and helpful but you get the feeling they are all in training. Location is excellent. We had prepaid for room and breakfast package. The surly girl behind the counter in the breakfast coffee shop should not be allowed near the public. Two mornings she was a shocker, food & whole breakfast scenario was very ordinary, so third morning we went out of the hotel and had a great breakfast

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    156
    33
    16
    10
See reviews for
49
183
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. We booked a room with a balcony and at first I was disappointed to be facing Dauphine street vs Bourbon street. However, due to a large college game happening that weekend I was glad to be on the "quieter" side of the hotel. I was still awoken each night by the outside noise, but I tend to be a semi-light sleeper. The noise did not waken my "heavier sleeper" husband at all!

Room Tip: We parked across the street (caddy-corner) for $30/night vs at the hotel which was charging $36 plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. The staff are truly warm and friendly and the room product is very nice and comfortable. It's very loud on the Canal side. We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite and the room(s) were very nice. We weren't in the room alot so the noise wasn't really a factor and we had enough alcohol in us in the evenings to make sleeping not a problem :) But if you are wanting quiet - I would avoid these rooms. Great location and easy to get around to anything. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is in a great location to visit anywhere in the French Quarter. It's located at the corner of Bourbon and Iberville Streets. So it's an easy walk to Jackson Square and super easy for Bourbbon Street.

I visited here for a conference. The hotel staff were super friendly. The room I stayed in on the 4th floor was very spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The only down side is although the room had a couch and a coffee table, there was not a business table to use for your computer. So not business friendly from that sense. There's also a charge for the wi-fi.

My room faced the inner courtyard, so there was no outside noise. Others at the conference who had rooms facing the street commented they were woken up a couple of times by the noise.

There's a lot of construction going on in New Orleans. And the hotel property is no exception. A Hard Rock Cafe and Howlin at the Moon are being built on the same property and there was a lot of construction noise during the day. But that will go away in time.

The bar in the hotel was good for a night cap, or as a starting point for the evening. Service was very friendly and good.

Over all, this was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, be sure to ask for a room that faces the inner courtyard. If you want to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel was very contemporary and clean. The location was fantastic as we could walk anywhere in the French Quarter. We enjoyed a complimentary breakfast which was tasty. Staff was overall good, but some did not go out of the way to be helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Pre-paid for a room at this hotel through American Express. Arrived at 1am and was told that "they found themselves in an oversold situation." In other words, they had given away the room we had already paid for. They then asked us to walk 12 blocks to another hotel (now 2am in the morning through downtown New Orleans) where they expected us to still pay for a room. Only after calling Amex did they agree to pay a cab to take us to the other hotel. We spent the next morning of our vacation checking out of the temporary hotel and paying for a cab back to the Hyatt French Quarter. When we got there our room still wasn't ready, and there were no apologies. They hotel itself is decent, not great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicoletravels
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's clean, close to the action but is also a nice grown-up retreat from the crazy world outside the hotel. There was some confusion checking in and the manager sent us wine and cheese in our room: greatly appreciated and enough to make us forget :)
The restaurant in the lobby has delicious coffee. The fitness center was immaculate and empty: just the way I like it. My bed was cozy and luxurious. All that and an ideal location: I'd stay here again in a New York minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt French Quarter

Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Chateau Sonesta
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt French Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans’ famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, getaroom.com, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Hyatt French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hyatt French Quarter to your Saves list