We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt French Quarter to your Saves list
Hyatt French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #22 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
nicoletravels
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's clean, close to the action but is also a nice grown-up retreat from the crazy world outside the hotel. There was some confusion checking in and the manager sent us wine and cheese in our room: greatly appreciated and enough to make us forget :)
The restaurant in the lobby has delicious coffee. The fitness center was immaculate and empty: just the way I like it. My bed was cozy and luxurious. All that and an ideal location: I'd stay here again in a New York minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    261
    54
    22
    13
See reviews for
91
334
21
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were only in town for 2 days so this will be short. Location is fabulous and everyone that works in the hotel from the front desk to the maids to the bartenders are the nicest and friendliest people ever. I feel like the hospitality was really outstanding. Our room was spacious and comfortable, couldn't be better. We ate at Red Fish, located in the bottom floor, the first night and it was packed, lively and excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Perfect location and close to everything in the French Quarter. Hotel is recently renovated but still has that boutique charm while still being a Hyatt. Red Fish Grill connected to the hotel is a GREAT restaurant as well. I was staying here as part of a conference. The conference staff is very attentive and does a great job. The food from banquet services however was only ok. Nothing to write about. Batch, the in hotel bar, was charming and had decent food for what it is. Better than the banquet food. All things considered, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A friend and I stayed here the weekend before Halloween, and the location was perfect for us: at the foot of Bourbon Street in the French Quarter. Check-in was very fast -- almost too fast, as the receptionist didn't bother asking if we had any questions about the hotel or location. The hotel was completely renovated only about six months prior, and everything had a new and modern feel. But form overruled functionality in a couple cases: a lack of hooks and surface area in the bathroom, and one large lamp between the two beds. (Difficult if one of us wanted to sleep and the other wanted to read. Each bed should have its own smaller light.) Our room was a "courtyard queen" which had a window facing the inside of a small atrium -- while there was no view, we also did not get any street noise. Beds were very comfortable! TV received HD signals, too.

Room Tip: If you're worried about street noise, ask for a room that faces an interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

All services were excellent, with the exception of housekeeping. I can't say they didn't always do a good job because one day they never even came to do anything. We had been out at an event and returned around 10PM to discover the room had been untouched, even though we had been gone since early that morning. I called the front desk and was told housekeeping was gone for the day but they could send up some clean towels. The front desk clerk did apologize for the inconvenience. The following morning, housekeeping staff was knocking on the door at 8AM wanting in to clean the room which I found odd since it was our check out date.
Our room faced Canal Street and there was constant noise from people, traffic, and sirens. Not an issue if you are used to living in a large city. The view was very nice.
After reading several other reviews, it seems this must be the norm for this particular hotel. Valet parking and bell service staff were great - very prompt and polite. It may sound petty, but returning to a room in need of attention at the end of a very long day leaves a bad impression.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for an interior room. Otherwise you will face out to Canal Street or Bourbon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We checked in this past weekend and had a most enjoyable stay.The room was beautiful the bed very comfortable and the staff helpful,professional and very friendly. The location is perfect for a stay in New Orleans.
The only drawback was the water pressure in the bathroom. The fixtures and fittings in the bathroom was up to the par of the hotel but the size of the bathroom was minuscule and water pressure was woefully lacking.
I say this with regret because the staff and hotel met our every expectation with the exception of the water pressure

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I arrived in N.O. after 18 hrs. of airplanes, layovers and delays to the Hyatt French Quarter; tired to the bone and hungry. Went out to eat and came back, washed my face, brushed my teeth and went to bed. The next AM, getting ready to attend my conference, I showered and was about to brush my teeth and looked down to see little black specks in my sink....upon closer inspection saw they were whiskers, and I called the front desk and they asked me if I thought someone had been in my room, "no, not even housekeeping, for quite a while", was my thought. The next day I left at 8 AM for my conference and housekeeping was outside my door, I greeted them and said I was gone for the rest of the day, at 5:45PM my room was still not clean. A MardiGras party was part of my conference and I had a feather boa which lost a couple feathers on the floor, and I had dropped an almond on the floor near my bed and 3 days later they were still there...apparently vacuuming is not part of their routine either. Have never stayed in such a pricey hotel with such lax housekeeping services, hope to never again!! Then with the tail end effects of Sandy rousing up winds in N.O., the plexiglass installed storm windows rattled all the time and sounded like a continual hailstorm on the windows. Sleeping was difficult even with ear plugs. The staff was pleasant and otherwise the accommodation was okay.

Room Tip: Not on the side where the winds blow, and where the housekeeping staff actually cleans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt French Quarter

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District , French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt French Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans’ famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hyatt French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.