We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great at a bargain price but wouldn't pay full retail value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt French Quarter to your Saves list
Hyatt French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
French Quarter Theater
Ranked #21 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great at a bargain price but wouldn't pay full retail value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Positives:
1. great location, within walking distance of everything, including public transit
2. recently remodeled, rooms are beautiful, high ceilings and lots of space
3. staff was both friendly and helpful, Charles the concierge is a huge asset to utilize
4. exits onto several major streets allows for safe and easy access in/out of hotel

Negatives:
1. you pay for everything, even the internet and at $10/day it is worth the walk to a cafe for free access, plus we purchased breakfast items from the local Fresh Market to save on meals, breakfast at the hotel is pricey and not anything special
2. tv goes in and out, so if you like to watch tv when relaxing in the room, good luck getting decent reception
3. water pressure was lacking, not bad but not great
4. noisy at night but it is NOLA, if you want quiet, I recommend you stay somewhere outside the quarter

Overall, we would stay again but only at a discounted rate, I would not pay full price to stay here.

Room Tip: choose a room in the inner courtyard to reduce noise, there is some construction on the Iberville St
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    235
    49
    21
    12
See reviews for
81
305
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the at the Hyatt French Quarter and found it a comfortable place to return to at the end of the day after working on Hurricane Isaac relief. Rooms were clean and well designed, beds were comfortable and the in room amenities were perfect. Ice machines did not seem to be at the places indicated by the signs on the walls and in the guest room guide, I had walk all the way down to the bar on the first floor to get ice. The attached dining facilities served a variety of good food but were priced just a little higher than I expected. Bourbon Street is an exciting and noisy street but the Hyatt French Quarter is adequately insulated and the sounds do not come through to the room-- peaceful and restful sleep is the norm. Bourbon Street is right out the front door and every type of dining or entertainment you can imagine is just a few steps away from your "home".

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor and take advantage of the courtyard and pool or stay higher up to take adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Chateau Bourbon despite reading reviews about the renovation. We are very happy we took the chance for the Jazz Fest. The location was ideal, we were able to venture on our own. The staff could not be more accommodating and friendly- southern hospitality at its best. Our modern room was more to the interior so we did not hear Bourbon St or outside noise. We ended up having the best time at the pool which has a bar. ****We were able to comfortably walk to the main attractions including a dinner cruise on the Natchez. That was the only information I could not tell on the boards. We walked to dinner at both Brennans and Galatoire but rode the trolley to the Fest. We plan to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt French Quarter Sept. 7-9th. The hotel is sleek and modern on the inside. It is a very large building so you you have exits on Canal and Burbon St. We had a balcony King on Iberville facing the Ritz. The room did not have a bathtub but did offer a double shower. The beds were very comfortable. The TV was small for the larger room size but we did not come to NOLA to watch tv in our bedroom. Yes, the parking is overpriced. There is a garage around the block that is more reasonable. Overall it was a great stay and the hotel made me feel fancy.

Room Tip: The pool closes at 10pm so there isn't much noise coming from the courtyard too late. I would g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt French Quarter for a long weekend and we couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. The entire hotel is beautiful and all of the staff were incredibly helpful and gracious. It is a great location and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

we stayed from august 23rd till the 26th....from the moment we got there the staff was very friendly!!! they were very helpful if we needed anything.....they were there from the moment we pulled up to the front door....valet parked our car for us....it was a little pricey to park but it was worth it....left car in parking the whole trip...the hotel was close to everything we wanted to do....the room was very nice,we had a balcony. the water pressure left a little to be desired in the shower.... overall our trip was fantastic!!!

Room Tip: if you want the burbon street experience get a room with a balcony on burbon st. nice to people wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very nice renovation of former Wyndam includes great public spaces. Beds are great, water pressure good, expected room amenities. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Flat screen television was a bit small but no one should be watching TV in the French Quarter. Excellent exercise room.

Room Tip: Many rooms have courtyard or pool access. Others have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt French Quarter

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District , French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt French Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans’ famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.