We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Hyatt = Hurricane (Isaac) Oasis.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hyatt French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
French Quarter Theater
Ranked #20 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Home Sweet Hyatt = Hurricane (Isaac) Oasis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Initially intended on staying for 2 nights for a birthday/work-getaway. Nearly booked our trip at Omni because we were looking for a great pool and didn't see photos of Hyatt's on their site. Awesome sales manager, Molly Hannen convinced us to switch from Omni to Hyatt, enticed us with a lovely poolside room. So glad we made the switch! Super spacious, clean and calming room poolside with hip decor was a pleasure to retreat to after a long day. Valet service was top-notch. We expected to fly out Tuesday but Over-cautious-MSY closed 1 day before Tropical storm/Category 1 Isaac schlepped through. Our trip was extended by 3 nights due to 2 flight cancellations. Thankfully, the Sliver By the River did not lose power. Fortunately, the Hyatt kept their cafe (Powdered Sugar) and bar (Batch) up and running as few FQ places remained open. Vast majority of staff remained sincerely upbeat and always available. General Manager - Mr. Larry Daniels, was very friendly, helpful and hands-on.

Room Tip: Love the poolside rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    158
    34
    17
    10
See reviews for
51
184
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clive, Iowa, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in an excellent location. Just one block from Canal Street or Burbon Street. Everything is within walking distance. The rooms are kind of small, but try finding a large room in the French Quarter. The staff is friendly and helpful. There was no problem when we had to evacuate for Hurricane Issac. The trip was non-refundable through Travelocity, but we did no have to pay for the unused nights. The staff helped as much as they could and were understandable for our situation. When we come back the Hyatt will be in our consideration.

Room Tip: Second floor is the pool level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great location to stay at, I must say not all these reviews did this place justice and some of the complaints are really silly. I'm a picky person and have gotten into the habit of doing my research and reading reviews but at the end I pick this hotel it is located right in the heart of french quarters, we stay there from Aug 24-27 and our service was great from the front desk to the housekeeping everyone was very friendly, gave us great suggestions on where to go and even where to eat. My friends and I had an amazing time, and would definitely go back. From the outside this place look small until you walk in, we had a 3rd floor room which overlook the courtyard by the way it is simple yet beautiful. So thank you Hyatt staff we will truly visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A superb location,near nightlife,shopping and walking distance of everything you would wish to see on a quick visit to the city. The rooms and facilities are excellent,the staff could not have been more helpful and I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a more upmarket place to sta..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

First, I have stayed in this location through many incarnations. My favorite was when it was the Sonesta. But times change.

For a start, we were there at the beginning of Mardi Gras. In other words, parades, but not yet at the level of insanity which prevails later on as Fat Tuesday approaches.

The rooms are great. You really feel you the lovely age of the hotel with the high ceilings and the decor is nice.

The hotel itself was under renovation during the time we stayed. No problem other than some notice of this would have been beneficial. However, other than a bit of day time noise and a reduced lobby area, it was no problem.

My tepid review is entirely a reflection of the staff. Or more specifically, the lack thereof. Once you actually got in front of someone they were good. But I felt I was frequently playing hide and seek, and or, waiting through someone booking a tour etc. I recognize that there are other guests etc. However, the crowds would hardly have been shocking given the season. And it wasn't especially busy in the lobby when we were there. While I am sure management is trying to keep up earnings through reduced payroll, this is hardly the way to be a superstar.

We were required frequent enough interaction with the staff for my sample to be a reflection of the quantity of service available. They were understaffed. Good people. Poor scheduling.

Room Tip: Balconies are great. But there is street noise if you have one. It ends up being a choice between pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in pool side view room...room opens to the pool...cosy and good service...good latte in cafe..Hotel is just next to French Quarter...near Walgreen Marts and shops...restaurant opposite has good food but pricey...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed just about everywhere in the French Quarter over the years and was pleasantly surprise to see that Hyatt had acquired and renovated a property on Bourbon St. Rooms are spacious with 12' ceilings, nice modern appointments and a high level of comfort. Service was consistantly solid from the front desk to the valet. The new Hyatt French Quarter will be on our short list for all future visits!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt French Quarter

Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Chateau Sonesta
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt French Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans’ famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Hyatt French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.