We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Bourbon Street fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hyatt French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
French Quarter Theater
Ranked #24 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Winnie, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Bourbon Street fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We pricelined our room for the New Orleans trip and were so excited to get a new hotel that we had not visited before. The hotel opens up to Canal Street as well as Bourbon street. It is in a great location - within walking distance to everything - Jackson Square, several restaurants and of course Bourbon Street. The staff was very friendly and were able to fill my request of two queen beds instead of a king (as our daughter was able to make the trip). The hotel has a modern decor and the rooms are huge! They are much larger than any other hotel room we have ever stayed in during our trips to New Orleans. Beds were very comfortable and our room had French doors opening to the courtyard on the 2nd floor. The rooms have balconies overlooking the courtyard, pool or French Quarter or Bourbon street. The hotel also includes Ralph Brennan's Redfish Grill - I recommend earing a meal here. The only negative is the $42 parking fee - which is a fee you must pay pretty much anywhere to be in the heart of New Orleans. We truly enjoyed our stay and this

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    211
    45
    20
    12
See reviews for
74
268
17
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I am in New Orleans weekly for business and have experienced more issues at this hotel than any other I have stayed at in the past 5 years. It clearly is not up to Hyatt standards yet. The update is nice, but the staff seems overwhelmed. I spent three nights and had major internet issues every day and evening. Today, both TV and internet have been out for over 6 hours. For the business traveler, this is something that I cannot tolerate. For a non-business traveler the hotel would be fine, but I cannot afford to give the hotel another chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFOMHyattFQ, Manager at Hyatt French Quarter, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
I would first off like to apologize for the difficulties that you experienced while staying with us. Unfortunately since we had a small storm that weekend it knocked out some of service providers in New Orleans. This did not only have an effect on our hotel but other local hotels. I can assure you that our engineering staff did everything in their power to get the internet and television services up and running. It is my hope that you will give us another chance to service you. If you would like to contact me directly I would be more then happy to make your reservation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently went to New Orleans for a meeting during French Quarter Festival and I was surprised at how nice this hotel was. Although it was still being renovated, my room was completed and it was gorgeous. The room was spacious and the staff was wonderful. I ate at the restaurant the first night and the food was delicious, the fresh bread was the best I have ever tasted. The location is near everything you want to see in the French Quarter. The only downside was there neither a pool nor a fitness center as they were under construction. My meetings were also held in the hotel and our lunches were delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Despite the priciness, I will stay here every single damn time I come back to Nola. Its at the edge of Bourbon St and the launch pad for every thing you'd want to do in the French Quarter. 4 Stars without question.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFOMHyattFQ, Manager at Hyatt French Quarter, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We can't wait to see you the next time you come to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Perfect stay! Really close to the quarter... Nice rooms.... Nice detail in all factors...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFOMHyattFQ, Manager at Hyatt French Quarter, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! We hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

No better spot if you want to party in the French Quarter, beautiful hotel with lovely atmosphere

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFOMHyattFQ, Manager at Hyatt French Quarter, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt French Quarter July 10-15 to attend a friends destination wedding that was held at the hotel. The hotel is beautiful! The rooms are huge. Largest in the French Quarter I have heard. The maids did forget our room one day and we had to call down for fresh towels but otherwise service and staff was good. They do need to add towel bars in the bathrooms too. It is a great location and the hotel is great. I highly recommend it and would stay here again. The hotel did a fantastic job with the wedding and reception too.

Room Tip: Some rooms actually open up to the pool so if you like that you could ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt French Quarter

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt French Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans’ famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.